Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-08-27 || 2006 Emmy Awards + Pam's Personal Emmys

2006 Emmy Awards, what�s up?

I�ve got mixed emotions going into this year�s Emmy Awards, and they�re basically along the same lines of what everyone has been complaining about in terms of the nominating and voting procedures, so I�m not going to beat that dead horse. However, I will still kick the shins of the horse corpses known as �No Hugh Laurie?� and �Why Don�t Emmy Voters Watch UPN or The WB? There�s quality shows and acting there. Emmy snobs� throughout the night, so be prepared for that. Other than that, I�m just going to try to muddle through the hot mess that is the Emmy Awards and root for some of the surprisingly pleasing and deserving nominees, like Will Arnett. Go Gob! With all that being said, and without further ado, and since there are TWO awards shows this week, let�s get to the show.

Shall we?

- Opening � that was awesome. I laughed out loud in several spots and actually cheered aloud when I instantly recognized the House Clinic room. By the time Conan showed up in Stan�s closet on South Park and then ended up in the Dateline sexual predator house, I was rolling. Well played, Conan.

- How can a dress be tight on Ellen Pompeo? Seriously, how does that happen? Is it a child�s 6X?

- Okay, I know I wasn�t going to complain that much about the nomination hooha, but someone needs to say no when Alfre Woodard�s name is submitted in the �Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy� category. Better yet, the Emmys need to just get over it and create a Dramedy category so shows like Gilmore Girls, Desperate Housewives, Entourage, etc. and the late great Ed and Freaks and Geeks would have a proper place to go. I�m also just realizing that some of my favorite shows are dramedies. That�s it, I�m starting a petition.

- GO GOB!!! Ugh, �The Piv.� Gross. I would have preferred just about anyone over him. But really, Will Arnett should have had that just for his work with Franklin alone. [sigh] I�ll just have to wait impatiently for Blades of Glory then.

- I still love that Christopher Meloni was Freakshow in Harold & Kumar Go to White Castle.

- This Ellen Burstyn thing is kind of ridiculous, but she is still owed from her Oscar robbery for Requiem for a Dream.

- The mini-series and TV movie categories are where I mentally tune out, so I�ll take this time to talk about movies. I just realized that I don�t talk about current movies that often on this site, just the cheesy and fun ones that my friends and I watch at home. I guess it�s just a little strange to me, since I actually end up seeing a LOT more movies in the theater, as I go almost every weekend. This summer has been full of letdowns and movies that were fine, but I thought would be a whole lot better. There have been a few shining stars here and there, but all in all it�s been very meh. Then I went to the movies this weekend and saw the best movie I�ve seen all year, the brilliant Little Miss Sunshine. Do yourselves a favor � go see it. It will wash all of those residual feelings of guilt over not liking Superman Returns as much as you think you should have right away. This is how movies should be made. Now, back to the TV.

- Emmy gets it right, hi Daily Show!

- Jennifer Love Hewitt gets to present with Ron Livingston? Lucky bitch.

- Remember when Best Guest Star winner Leslie Jordan was Murphy Brown�s secretary? He was the best one.

- Conan should replace Jay Leno TOMORROW.

- Aww, Dick Clark. I got a little welled up there.

- Why is Tracy Morgan looking around all shifty? I think he�s either high or running from the cops. Wait, Manilow over Colbert and Jon Stewart? For shame!!!

- You know, for a show that honors excellence in TV, this makes for some boring-ass television. I never thought I�d say this, but bring on the MTV Awards.

- Man, Wentworth Miller is so hot. He�s got that whole mysterious thing going on, too. Watch his appearances on Popular to see a whole new side of him.

- The nominations for writing for a Variety, Music or Comedy Program may be my favorite part of every Emmys. The Daily Show had the best one with the David Blaine bit.

- Hugh Laurie! Yay! My e-mail buddy from England tells me he�s known in the UK as �a posh clown.� Love it.

- I love Andre Braugher. Have you seen Duets? It�s worth it just for him. Scott Speedman looks pretty good, too.

- I am so tired of Tony Shalhoub winning. I loved Antonio Scarpacci and all, but Carell should have had that.

- What the hell happened to Kate Jackson�s face? When you start looking rougher than Farrah Fawcett, there�s a problem.

- Does anyone else find all of that licking in the Double Stuf Oreo commercials disturbing?

- Jon Stewart and Stephen Colbert � perfection.

- I love The Amazing Race and all, but this really wasn�t its best year, what with the Family Edition and the lackluster last season. Idol or Project Runway should have had that.

- Omar Epps, look alive! Boy looks pissed off. You�re presenting at The Emmys! Smile!

- How does Tyra Banks get to present at the Emmy Awards?

- Where did it all go wrong, Ray Liotta? You were so cute in Unlawful Entry

- If Hugh Laurie couldn�t have it, I�m happy that Kiefer got it.

- The Office - I�ll take that if Arrested Development couldn�t have it. Actually, The Office deserves it for the scene of Dwight puking on his car when he had a concussion. I laughed for about ten minutes straight.

- 24 - it�s about time they got an award, but I still wanted House. Did I mention Hugh Laurie?

So that�s it? I had to DVR Flavor of Love for that? Should�ve DVR�d the Emmys. Next year. Oh, who am I kidding? I�ll be right here again next year. In the meantime, see you Thursday for the VMA�s, with special guest co-commentator, Lucy.

Before I go�Throughout the boring parts of tonight�s awards (best directing, stars, etc. in TV Movies/Mini-Series) I decided to play a fun game called �Pam�s Personal Emmy Awards.� Here are my nominees and winners in the main categories. They�re not necessarily the 5 best out of all the shows out there, but they�re my personal picks from the shows that I watch. I�m sure Allison Janney kicks ass on The West Wing, but I�ve never seen The West Wing, so sorry, Janney. Anyway, here goes:

Pam�s Personal Emmy Awards!

And the nominees are: (Since these are my awards, I can nominate as many or as few as I want)

Best Lead Actor in a Comedy Series:
Jason Bateman, Arrested Development
Jason Lee, My Name is Earl
Steve Carell, The Office

The winner? Bateman! All are deserving, so we�ll get you next year, Carell.

Best Supporting Actor in a Comedy Series:
Will Arnett, Arrested Development
John Krasinski, The Office
Rainn Wilson, The Office
Charlie Day, It�s Always Sunny In Philadelphia
Glenn Howerton, It�s Always Sunny In Philadelphia
Neil Patrick Harris, How I Met Your Mother

Winner: Can�t I have them all? No? Alright, Will Arnett. And Franklin.

Best Supporting Actress in a Comedy Series:
Jessica Walter, Arrested Development
Jenna Fischer, The Office
Jaime Pressly, My Name is Earl

Winner: Pressly. She rules in that show.

Best Actor in a Drama Series:
Hugh Laurie, House

Winner: Laurie, because I refuse to nominate anyone else. This is what you�ve done to me, Emmys. You�ve turned me into a petulant child. Happy now?

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series:
Jason Dohring, Veronica Mars
Omar Epps, House
Jesse Spencer, House - simply because he�s hot.
Michael Emerson, Lost - Frigging DESMOND is nominated and not Henry Gale? Not on my watch, Emmys.
Sean Gunn, Gilmore Girls

Winner: I�m inclined to give it to Dohring just so I can grab his ass when he comes on stage, but Emerson ruled a slightly uneven season of Lost.

Best Actress in a Drama Series:
Lauren Graham, Gilmore Girls
Kristen Bell, Veronica Mars
Marcia Cross, Desperate Housewives
Eva Longoria, Desperate Housewives

Winner: It�s a tie! Congrats Lauren Graham and Kristen Bell.

Best Reality Show Personality/Contestant:
Lenny, The Apprentice
George Ross and Bill Rancic, The Apprentice
Phil Keoghan, The Amazing Race (for his priceless faces at the pit stops)
Elliott Yamin, American Idol
Jamie Kennedy, Jamie Kennedy�s Blowin� Up - Okay, so maybe it�s not really a reality show, but I love me my Jamie Kennedy.
Chris Jones, The Janice Dickinson Modeling Agency
Janice Dickinson, The Janice Dickinson Modeling Agency
Bobby Jon Drinkard, Survivor

Winner: C�mon now � of course it�s Lenny.

Most Ridiculous, But Entertaining Reality Show Contestant:
Jade, America�s Next Top Model
New York, Flavor of Love
Hottie, Flavor of Love
Shane, Survivor

Winner: Wow, how to measure delusion? Since I can�t even fathom trying that, I�m picking Jade for her poetry and new vocabulary words.

Best Reality Show:
America�s Next Top Model
American Idol
The Amazing Race
The Apprentice
The Janice Dickinson Modeling Agency
Survivor

Winner: Top Model - Sorry, I can�t reward a show that gave me Taylor Effing Hicks. Sure, it gave me my Elliott, but still � TAYLOR.

Best Talk Show Guest:
Amy Sedaris
Lauren Graham
Will Ferrell
Josh Duhamel

Winner: Another tie! Congrats, Amy Sedaris and Will Ferrell.

Best Comedy Series:
Arrested Development
The Office
It�s Always Sunny in Philadelphia
Family Guy
Flavor of Love
The Daily Show With Jon Stewart

Winner: Ack! I can�t pick just one!

Best Drama Series:
House
Veronica Mars
Lost
Gilmore Girls

Winner: House. I love the others, but Veronica had me confused half the year, Lost was a bit disappointing, and let�s face it, Gilmore Girls sucked most of the last 2 seasons save for some brilliant moments that almost made up for it.

And thus concludes this year�s �Pam�s Emmy Awards.� Hopefully I can get some Lead Actress in a Comedy nominees next year.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown