Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-06-28 || The Brotherhood Premiere & What's Really Important

Embry...denied!!!

So I went to the premiere of Showtime's Brotherhood the other night with the promise of all 6 main stars in attendance, including one Mr. Ethan Embry, aka Preston Myers, but it turns out it was all LIES. Well, not all lies. 3 of the 6 main cast members were there along with some of the supporting cast and the producers and director. But no Ethan Embry. Methinks he may be hiding in shame after his recent (and WELL-deserved) fugging by the lovely Jessica. But what's even funnier is that when my father got the invitation to the screening, it had pictures of the cast members, and I knew 3 out of 6 of them from their previous work. Guess which 3 didn't show? Yep. So no Annabeth Gish (I couldn't ask her, "Excuse me Agent Reyes, but what exactly did Leona put in that sauce??") and no Fionnula Flanagan. And now that I'm at IMDB looking up how to spell her name, I'm finding out that one of the guys who was there, Jason Isaacs, plays Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter flicks. Shit! I would have been all over the elder Malfoy had I known that. I did see him a few times at the afterparty, once when he passed in front of me, got bumped by someone and ended up rubbing his ass against my hand. Seriously, I was just standing there. I'll always admit to a stealth ass-grab, but I didn't do it this time. Still, I can say that I touched Lucius Malfoy's ass!! (And to be fair, it wasn't like he was wearing the long, white-blond wig so I would have picked up on it.)

ANYWAY - so we went to a screening of the pilot at a local movie theater and then headed to an invite-only after-party (chi-chi!) at a restaurant that employs a ridiculous amount of hot guys. I must go back there soon. Plus, open bar! But I was with my dad, so there couldn't be any major shenanigans. I did meet and chat with the other star of the show, Jason Clarke, who is a lot cuter in person than he is on the show. He was actually quite cute, and was super-nice. The show is set in and shot entirely in Rhode Island, so all of the actors did their best to mimic our lovely accents. I'm only mentioning this because when I went to have my picture taken with the lovely Mr. Clarke, he pulled me in close and put his arm around me while my father fiddled around with my camers, trying to figure out how such newfangled things worked. When I said to Jason that my father wasn't very technically inclined, he leaned in really close to me, smiled, and cooed, "My mum is the same way." IN A HOT AUSTRALIAN ACCENT. It was delicious. I was momentarily flummoxed (and a little melty on the inside), so thankfully my father got the camera to work so we could take a picture before I had to speak right away. When I composed myself, I asked where he was from and we got to chatting, and seriously, I need a guy with a British or Australian accent because...I can't even put it into words. Girls, you know what I'm talking about. I was so goggly that I just started talking about random things, asking him if he knew Jesse Spencer from House (another hot Australian!) since I know those Aussies stick together. We chatted for a few more minutes before my dad busted in and asked him if he was single. WHAT??!!! Now, I must first tell you that my father still thinks I am 12. He doesn't think I should go near boys, let alone kiss them. So he would NEVER try and land me one, so him asking if this guy was single blew my mind. It was both hilarious and embarrassing. After that, I thanked Jason and politely excused myself. So even though there was no Embry, there was a hot Australian who held me really tight, a Lucius Malfoy ass grab, and all kinds of hot waiters. Also? The awesome expression on the face of the woman standing behind Jason in the picture we took:

She looks like she's either really pissed or she smelled something grandly foul. I can't decide. Whatever it is, I just know it made me laugh for 5 minutes when I downloaded the picture.

_______________________________________

In other news, I had an eye-opening experience the other day when we were hit with a particularly nasty thunderstorm. Every summer, we get our share of thunderstorms, some worse than others. My neighborhood is in a higher area, and it's pretty open, so when there is a bad storm, shit goes down. Lightning hit my pool one year, knocking things off the walls in my house and setting off this musical bank that my father won in some promotion. It was of Lil' Sprout of Jolly Green Giant fame, and even though his switch was set to "off," when that lightning hit, he just started tootling away. "Good things in the garden, garden in the valley, valley of the Jolly Green Giant (Green Giant!) Big things, little things...." It was creepy. A few weeks after that all of the lightbulbs in my neighbor's cellar shattered during a hit, and another time a neighbor's TV exploded. It's madness. Back in the day, my brother and I each had a modem fry through the telephone line during separate storms, which resulted in me unplugging my TiVo last year every time I heard a faint rumble of thunder.

Anyway, so back to Friday, when we were having a really bad morning storm before I went to work. I realized that you can tell a lot about a person by the things they rush to save during times of distress. We never get tornadoes around here, but I remember some freak ones popping up in Connecticut when I was in 7th grade, and there was a warning issued here. I packed all of my stuffed animals in 2 garbage bags and dragged them down into the basement with me while I waited in fear. I used to do the same thing during hurricanes. Last Friday, when I heard a large crack of thunder, I went tearing up my stairs to my bedroom, yelling, "My TV!!!" Yeeeeaaah. In my weak defense, it is such a pretty pretty TV and it's so new and it makes me so happy and...okay, so maybe I lead a semi-sad life when I'm running to save my TV. But I like my semi-sad life, dammit! Still...a little concerning....

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown