Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-11-20 || Burger King, Hershey's, & Finger Football

I think it's time I talked about The Burger King. My visit there today fueled this desire, prompting me to wonder why I've never written about The Burger King before. I know I've done it in passing, like talking about the day I inadvertently walked in there wearing a Burger King t-shirt, all "Hi, I'm a Superfan," [dork!] but I don't think I've fully explained and revealed my love for it. Oh, but I love it so.

Seriously.

I LOVE Burger King. I love their chicken, I love their burgers, I love the fact that they have Dr. Pepper - I even love that big-headed Peeping Tom from the commercials. That guy needs to come to my house. If he showed up at my house wielding a Whopper Jr. with no onions? I would be the happiest girl in the world. I'm also a Burger King connoisseur. Don't let people try to tell you that they're all the same - they are not. I have a ranking of some of the local ones in my state by quality. There's one near my new office that is the worst one I've ever been to. Burger King should be ashamed to have this place bearing its name. Ugh. My favorite one, however, is the place where dreams are made. Guys love to go there with me because they a) like to watch me scarf down food like I haven't eaten in weeks and b) I look like I'm having an orgasm while doing so. The food is THAT good. I've even taken non-Burger King fans there and converted them.

My relationship with Burger King is almost like a love affair - we have our bad times, such as when they changed their fries years ago or the recent emergence of those damn chicken fries, but we always make up and stay together. I'm still pissed off about those damn chicken fries taking the place of my beloved chicken tenders value meal, but there is always the bright side to things - I can still get the chicken tenders kids meal, PLUS I got a Transformer. A Transformer, people! Burger King clearly loves me back! Aww, I knew it wasn't unrequited. This fact was proven even further today when I opted for the dine-in option with my aunt (I had drive-thru on Friday and Saturday. What? I said I loved it!) and discovered the game that Burger King is teaching our youth. Finger football.

Awesome.

Some tables even had field mats on them and the paper tray liners come with a football-designed strip that you can tear off and fashion into your own triangular-football. Did I just lose anyone here? Please tell me you all remember finger football. My greatest memory of it is our rediscovery of it one day in college. We were hanging out in the dining hall, and I don't know what made us think of it, but I knew exactly how to fold up that piece of notebook paper into the little triangle and we played for HOURS. Nails were bitten, trash-talking was done, and there were more finger-formed goals made that day than you could even count. Ah, good times.

I'm just very glad that someone at Burger King decided that the kids these days need to learn finger football, because I was becoming concerned that it would become a thing of the past. Do kids still play this? Does anyone know? How else do they spend their lunch time or classes with substitute teachers at school? That is finger football time. So Burger King, I thank you for bringing an awesome old school tradition back to the kids, and also back to me, as I brought home my little folded up "ball" and can't wait to challenge one of my friends the next time I see them. I believe I was the Master of the extra point "kick." Bring it.

_______________________________________

While I'm talking about loves today, I should probably take this opportunity to introduce the new Love of My Life. Like my love of Burger King, I'm also a slave to the Hershey bar. I love most candy like a fiend, which is no secret, but the Hershey Bar is my all-time favorite. Well, until now. A couple of weeks ago I noticed a new candy bar at my drugstore, one of a set of Limited Edition Hershey's Twosomes bars. The one I opted for was a Hershey bar with Extra Creamy Milk Chocolate and mini-Reese's Pieces in it. I almost wept after eating it. Partly because it was so good, but mostly because I re-read the part on the wrapper about it being "Limited Edition." Over the next few weeks, I bought out the rest of them at my drugstore a few at a time, until I finally bought the last 6 and then they were No More. I couldn't find them at any other stores, so I wept again. Then I craved. Then I craved some more. Then came the unfortunate drooling. Then came my best friend, The Internet. I found a site that was selling cases of 36 bars, limit 2 per customer. I ordered the 2 cases, and in 2 days I had 72 bars of Pure Bliss on my doorstep.

That was Wednesday. I think there are already 8 gone. I must pace myself, but it's hard to resist The Greatest Candy Bar There Ever Was. Seriously, if you find these in your area, buy one. Then send me some. The extra creamy milk chocolate is DIVINE. And now I'm doing the unfortunate drooling again. Sigh. God bless you, Hershey's. Now let's talk about getting rid of this whole 'Limited Edition' thing....


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown