Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-01-22 || Random Weekend Lessons

3 Random Things That I Learned Over The Weekend:

- Lesson 1: Bjork has the ability to transcend non-Bjork listening crowds. I went to karaoke over the weekend at the awesome Chinese restaurant that we hardly ever get to go to, but LOVE, and I was feeling in a silly mood, so after I sang Kiss Me Deadly and Naughty Girls (Need Love Too), I decided to break out the Bjork and sing It's Oh So Quiet. Now first, let me describe the crowd that was in the bar at the Chinese restaurant. I'm going to first go with "rowdy." They seemed to like the rock and rap tunes, but also enjoyed the fun stuff, such as Frito and his friend Liz breaking out You Don't Bring Me Flowers and then Frito following it up with The Rainbow Connection. My brother's rendition of ...Baby, One More Time brought the house down, but I think it was more because of the fact that there was a six foot four guy with a deep voice singing Britney very angrily. A girl who looked like Rain from Flavor of Love (New York was there, too) did an amazing job with Drop It Like It's Hot, freestyling and everything. This all left me wondering how the crowd would react to me shushing and big-banding my way through my song. However, when I finally went up to sing, the crowd just kind of sat there and looked at me, probably in horror, but they loved the hell out of it. Bjork brings together all of the people of the world!! Well, either that or a goofball singing Bjork and screaming, "WOW! BAM!" and "THIS IS IT!" at the top of her lungs in the middle of a Chinese restaurant bar which may or may not be the melting pot of America. One of those. Someone should tell Bono.

- Lesson 2: Just because a drink comes inside a ceramic panda glass that you get to keep doesn't mean that it tastes good. Luckily for me, I wasn't the one to personally find this out. Frito and his crew ordered up 4 of the 'Panda Fizz' at the Chinese restaurant, and when I asked how it was, he made the universal 'Tastes Like Ass' face. The name alone would scare me away. Panda fizz? There are so many directions that my mind is going just from hearing that name, but I think you get the idea. I'm even grossing myself out now. But hey, at least Frito got what he calls a 'Panda army' out of the whole deal:

- Lesson 3: I should consult Jessica before making some of my clothing purchases. This week, I've been teased about two different things that I was wearing or planning to wear. The first is totally legit. I'd be the first one to tell you how anti-gauchos I am. I used to always throw the word 'asshole' around when describing people I saw wearing them, especially the wrong way. (With flats? Seriously?) Anyway, I bought some awesome knee high boots a couple of weeks ago, and set out on a mission to find some cute skirts to wear with them. The woman who sold me the boots told me that they'd look really nice with gauchos, and I may have well have punched her in the face with the way I reeled back in horror and spit out, "Oh NO! I'm anti-gaucho!" I think I may have frightened her a little as she sheepishly completed my order. Anyway, after that I set out to find my skirts, and store after store ran across either a) denim skirts that showed my ass or b) bohemian and hobo skirts. That was it. WHERE ARE ALL OF THE NORMAL SKIRTS? Can't I get a nice pencil or a-line skirt up in here? Anyway, I finally found a skirt to try on in one store (wrong color for the boots, of course), and I was also going to try on some pants, so I brought in a pair of gauchos with me just for shits and giggles. My mom is always extolling the virtues of the gauchos "on the right person," so I figured I'd try them on and tell her that I looked ridiculous so she would stop with it. However, a funny thing happened. I tried on the damn things and they looked seriously cute on me. They even gave me a cute butt! You can imagine my despair. After several minutes of teeth-gnashing and attempted rationalization, I finally broke down and bought them when I noticed that they were on sale. (Jessica's response? "I don't want to talk about why you even own gauchos." I love her so.) Anyway, so yeah - apparently, I am now a hypocrite and an asshole. [sigh]

The second thing I was teased about I still need some feedback on, because I don't see anything wrong with it. The gauchos I TOTALLY get, but this one confuses me a little. Last night I was wearing my fun new black and white striped rugby scarf (I'm such a stripes whore) and while I was wrapping it around my neck, my brother said, "Who are you, The Cat in the Hat?" This is what it looks like:

I even have cute little black and white striped gloves to go with it. Is my brother right? Should I start hanging out with Thing 1 and Thing 2? I see nothing wrong with the scarf - it's very me. But maybe 'me' is a moron. Hit up the comments and help me settle this!

Until next time,

The Cat in the Hat


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown