Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-06-26 || All I Need Is The Rhythm Divine

You can run, you can hide, but you can't escape my LOOOOOVE!!

God Bless Lucy and her friend Joe. Whenever the two of them go out together in Boston, they always seem to spot J-List celebrities. I never know what kind of stories I'll hear the next day: "We saw 'Average Joe' and he was tanked," "David from The Real World: Seattle was there, and I was drunk, so I just started pointing and shouting, "David!" "Mini-Me hit on me," etc. I usually never venture up that way with them, so I love hearing the stories. Well, last night I happened to be going up to somewhere right outside Boston and Lucy brought Joe along. Happily, their J-List luck struck again. But I'm getting ahead of myself here. Let me start from the beginning.

I went up there last night to meet up with Shmuel for the first time for some karaoke. We've just recently run across each other's sites due to us both attending JournalCon this summer. Happily, now I'll at least know and have met one person who is going, so I won't feel as much as an outsider. (Sassy, I'm coming for you next!) Anyhoo, we met up at a high-end dive bar in Cambridge and had a blast. They had the most extensive selection of songs I've ever seen for karaoke. It was insane. And Shmuel was very nice (Thanks for the CD!) and does a mean rendition of Istanbul (Not Constantinople). We also made him sing 99 Red Luftballoons because he does the one verse in German. It was awesome. Here he is rocking out:

We were all coveting his Slytherin t-shirt.

This image kept me, Lucy and Joe laughing for about ten minutes. (We tend to beat things into the ground mercilessly.) "Where's the exit? How do you get out of here?" "Is that the bathroom?" "WHERE IS THE EXIT?" "Hey, what's that door over there?" "Is that the exit?"

Anyway, at one point a guy named Edgar got up to sing, and once I saw the title 'Bailamos' flash on the screen, I thought that would be a good time for my bathroom break. I waited just long enough to see Edgar standing there with the microphone in one hand and his head tilted down with the other hand dramatically covering his face, "preparing" for the song before I made a break for it. As the song started, I was glad to be in the bathroom as I heard the blatant song butchering that was going on in the other room. It wasn't until later, when Edgar got up to do his next song, that we realized we were in the presence of greatness. This time around, the 'KJ' announced Edgar as "The Real American Idol," and mentioned him having been on the show a few times. The bulbs in our respective head must have all lit up at the same moment, because Joe, Lucy and I just turned to each other with this big, "NOOOO!" expression on each of our faces.

"That's not really...."

"I think it is."

"No way."

"The guy who shrieked, 'You can't escape my LOOOVE!!'"

We all turned to Shmuel (the regular) and asked, "Is that?" He then gave the greatest answer possible: "Regrettably, yes."

It was Edgar Nova, the Enrique Iglesias wannabe from the 2nd season auditions of American Idol. He even tried out again the 3rd season. It was painfully obvious why he didn't make it any of the 3 times he tried. If you don't know or remember him, here's a good synopsis by Shack on Television Without Pity:

"When we return, it's time to meet Edgar Nova, 24. I swear, Edgar reminds me of one of the guys who writes and occasionally performs in skits for Late Night with Conan O'Brien. You know that guy who does the sports fan with the really, really long cheers? Imagine a bad bowl-cut wig on him, and that's Edgar. His face is all shiny, and he's wearing a black tee and slacks. He tells the judges that he's been dreaming about this since before he was born. Even if they hadn't shown him at the beginning of the episode, there's no way that anybody could not know that he sucks. I think the judges already know. It's like they're girding themselves for his "singing." They've been informed that Edgar does impressions. He says he has an Al Pacino impression. They ask him to say something as Pacino. He obliges. He sounds almost, but not entirely, unlike Al Pacino. In fact, he sounds just like himself, except adding "okay" to the end of every sentence.

What on earth could I possibly say to do justice to Edgar's singing? He shrieks Enrique Iglesias's "Escape." There really isn't another verb to describe it. He's shrieking the song. And he rubs his hands and shuffles around awkwardly and acts like he's crying. He's very creepy. He ends the song on his knees. Some folks on the forums have worried that this guy is actually mentally ill and the show is taking advantage of him. I can see where somebody could get that idea. If I saw somebody behaving like this in public, I would back away slowly, and walk in the other direction.

And then there's Edgar again, to give us all nightmares! Edgar and his screeching and crying and freaky gesticulating. He was rejected and then lied that he was going to Hollywood. But then he ups the ante from the crazy cheese lady from last season. Unshown until now, Edgar flew himself out to the Pasadena auditions and changed his hairstyle, all in another doomed attempt to make it to the next round. He's interviewed by Kristin Holt and tells about fifteen lies about not being able to audition last time and where he lives and yadda yadda yadda. The show helpfully includes a lie-detector buzzer to indicate to us each time he lies. This whole segment is the saving grace of the entire special. Onstage, he sings another Enrique Iglesias song in Spanish. Some folks on the forums say the song is titled "Mentiroso," which is Spanish for "liar." That would have been the perfect joke with which to end this segment, but clearly nobody bothered to research anything about the song. Edgar isn't any better a performer in Spanish than he is in English. He sings like he's crying, but he's not. He flails his arms around. He shouts the words instead of singing. He's crazy and needs professional help. Simon tells Edgar that his music is painful. Edgar responds, "Isn't that what music's about?" Uh? Simon responds, "No! It's supposed to be about enjoyment, not misery." Unless, of course, misery is your source of enjoyment, which is the entire purpose of this special. He's rejected yet again."

I wish the picture had come out better, but there he is. It doesn't capture the 'magic' of his performance. He was singing The Rhythm Divine and was doing all of the hand gestures and the dramatic kneeling. At one point he was lifting up his t-shirt. It was unreal. Of course, we were hysterical the whole time. It rocked. Forget Hung, he's too famous for us. We had Edgar, and it was awesome.

Viva la musica....

_______________________________________

Wanna be one of the Cool Kids? Pamie is having another book drive this year to help out the libraries in San Diego. Click here to help!

______________________________________

Quote of the Day: "Why am I watching a show called I Married Darius Rucker? More importantly, why are they making that show? Did the world go crazy while I slept last night?" -- Lucy

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown