Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-01-08 || Flavor Flav, Dancing, & Gay Cowboys

I have a confession to make.

It's...I don't know if I can even talk about it. I'm so ashamed. Please don't tell my mother. It's just that I...oh, I can't even get the words out. I...you see, I...okay, deep breath - IstartedwatchingFlavorofLovelastweekandnowImustwatchitall.

Phew.

Okay, that felt good, getting it out there like that. Am I alone in this? Did anyone watch the premiere of Flavor of Love last week, and now, like me, feel that you must watch it every week now? I...couldn't look away. I had only planned to watch a few minutes of it, but then I couldn't turn it off. For those of you who don't know, it's a new Bachelor-type show on Vh-1 with Flavor Flav as the bachelor in question. He's looking for love, and there were 20 women there vying for his affections. Some are out for money, which I really don't think he has too much of if he is going on all of these shows, and some are really there because they love the Flavor. Not many are wearing what you would call "clothes." It's more of "3 pieces of spandex held together with duct tape." Everyone has a nickname because Flav can't remember names (Pumkin, Hottie, New York, etc.) and instead of giving out roses at the elimination ceremony, Flav gives them clock necklaces with their pictures on them, because the girls who are staying "know what time it is." It's pure brilliance. Watch it, then curse me in the morning.

(Also this week, the return of Beauty and the Geek. Bring back Eric!)

_______________________________________

In other news, I knocked #80 off of The List the other night, which was to go dancing.

Due to the fact that I can't really dance well, I'm not a big club person, so I hadn't been out dancing in a couple of years. One of my co-workers was leaving on Friday, so she wanted to go out and party that night. I figured it sounded fun, so I grabbed Lucy and we met the group at a club downtown. I had never been to this particular bar before, and it's pretty likely we'll never go back there, but it was a fun night. Like I said, I hadn't gotten a chance to boogie down in a while, so it was something different to do. Most songs won't get me out on the floor, but as soon as I heard the beginning of Usher's Yeah, I got up and headed to the dance floor, where it took about 30 seconds for my thighs to start burning in pain. I REALLY need to get into shape. By the end of the song, my legs were killing me, but I was laughing the whole time. When I went back out a little while later (Pussycat Dolls! Montel Jordan!) my legs were fine. The dancing wasn't the best part of the night, though - it was the people watching. I don't even know how to describe the crowd that was at this club - it was sort of a mix of everything and everyone except for cute boys. No one under 25 is allowed in the club, so the crowd tended to skew a bit older, and it seemed to be filled with a majority of people who, based on their attire, didn't know what year it was. The Fug Girls probably would have had seizures had they been there. One not-so-thin girl was wearing black pants that were open up both legs, fastened together with little black ties all the way up, with black platform sandals and a giant ski parka. The whole place was just a fashion nightmare overload, which kept us all the more entertained. Also? Too much Stevie B. In my opinion, ANY Stevie B. is too much, but 2 songs within an hour is just not right, especially when the DJ is playing that instead of my request for Pump Up the Volume. I waited all night to put that damn needle on the record, but no - we had to hear Stevie B. Gah. Aside from that, it was a good time, and good practice for when I go to see Eric in March. I'm sure he'll try to make me dance at some point. (Oh, the horror! And will we be dressed as Nun-Clowns when we do? Please don't make me dance, Eric.)

_______________________________________

Brokeback Mountain FINALLY opened here this weekend after weeks and weeks of me waiting for it, and after seeing it, all I have to say is: really? That's what all the fuss is about? It was good, but I don't get all of the hoopla. First of all, there's no reason for people to be all agog about any of the love scenes. Please. There's one BRIEF one and they're dressed, for crying out loud. I've seen far worse. Second, sure Heath Ledger was great in it, but why did he think "shy and southern" meant changing from his native Australian accent to the little known "Marble-Mouthed Wyomian?" I don't know - good, but not what I expected at all.

Now that I've said my piece on all of that, you'll have to excuse me - I need to get ready for Flavor of Love (Don't tell my mom!)....


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown