Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-04-08 || Atta Boy, Josh!

Sometimes I think you can't take me and Lucy anywhere. It's always an adventure. Last night was no exception. We went to see Josh Groban in concert, and we had a blast. We were surrounded by mostly middle-aged and older people and gay men. I've actually never been at a concert where a guy yells out in a big booming voice (several times over the night), "I LOVE YOU, JOSH!!!" Crazy. Anyway, here are some random highlights from our night:

*Pre-Show*

The Ticket Taker- Creeeeepy. I think it was a guy who is in the midst of a sex change operation. He had long fingernails, which just gives me the total willies with any guy. I was never bothered by any of the blood and gore while watching Interview With a Vampire, but I did shudder every time they showed the long nails on the guys. I'm creeping out right now just thinking about it. Anyway, the ticket taker had a five o'clock shadow, a man's face, voice, and haircut, but the makings of boobs. And not man-boobs.

The Theater & Getting Rowdy- The show was in this restored glamorous theater that's all bedecked in gold and such with a dome, tapestries, etc.

Lucy: I feel like I'm inside a Faberge egg.

Pam: I feel like I'm in Donald Trump's apartment. Hey, do you think we should get rowdy?

Lucy: We should have worn t-shirts, 'I mosh for Josh.'

Pam: I should have brought granny panties to throw on stage.

Lucy: Or a girdle.

Pam: Orthopedic shoes!

Lucy: Ooh, a housecoat.

Pam: Or some Dr. Scholl's corn pads.

Lucy: Knee highs!

Pam: Damn, we should have had this conversation before we left the house.

Corey Haim! - Before the show we noticed a guy sitting a few rows up who looked exactly like Corey Haim, circa License to Drive. It was uncanny. We just sat and stared. And stared. And stared.

Pam: That's kinda scary.

Lucy: It's uncanny!

Pam: He hasn't aged a day! Do you think he was cloned years ago? But why would the clone be here?

Lucy: Maybe his clone is on an eternal search for Mercedes Lane and he thinks she might be here.

Pam: "The DMV giveth, and the DMV taketh away!!!" Go up there and tell him that I had pictures of him on my wall for years.

Lucy: You go!

Pam: And ask him what the hell Dream a Little Dream was about. Years later I'm still confused.

Lucy: Oh no, someone is sitting down now and blocking our view of Corey Haim!

Pam: Now what are we going to do?

*During the Show*

Hey batter, batter- There was a guy sitting in front of us who, at the end of songs he particularly liked, yelled out, "ATTA BOY!" What?? WTF? Atta boy? Was there a baseball game going on and we didn't know it? Who yells that at a concert? Lucy and I then spent the rest of the night trying to predict which songs would get an "ATTA BOY!" Then we'd collapse in a fit of giggles when they did. Yes, we're 12.

The Outfit (mmmm) - After intermission, Josh came back out wearing jeans and a fitted button down shirt. (He had on a suit for the first half)

Pam: Can you wear jeans and then sing opera?

Lucy: Apparently you can.

(A few minutes later)

Pam: I kinda want to have sex with him right now.

Lucy: Me, too! I just want to grab onto that hair and go.

It was at this point that I made the universal hand sign for "Back that ass up, Groban" followed by a spank/lasso sign which caused Lucy to lose her shit. Unfortunately, I chose to do this right before Josh left the stage for a costume change and we were treated to this big dramatic violin solo by a woman in the orchestra. Lucy's attempt to stifle her laughter set me off, and we spent almost the entire violin solo hunched over, shaking with laughter, Lucy snorting and me with tears streaming down my face. I also had to repeat the "Back that ass up" hand gestures a few times just for good measure.

The Set List- I had printed out a copy of the set list and had it with me because Lucy and I planned to leave a couple of songs early.

Pam: Okay, so the encore is Gira Con Me Questa Notte and Never Let Go. We can probably leave right before that.

Lucy: (pointing to Gira Con Me Questa Notte) That's 'Cum On Feel the Noise' in Italian.

This, of course, led to a rousing rendition of the Gira... title sung to the tune of the Quiet Riot classic. I think we should record it and release it as a single. It was quite glorious.

(Later)

Lucy: What song is next?

Pam: Caruso.

Lucy: Is that about David Caruso?

Pam: How can it not be?

Before Josh started the song, he gave a little speech about how much he loved the lyrics, so they decided to put the translation on a screen behind him as he sang.

Pam: This has nothing to do with CSI: Miami.

Lucy: A propeller on a boat? Drowning in tears? Those aren't the right words.

Pam: (singing) David Caruso...

Lucy: (singing along) And your red hair...

Pam: We saw your naked ass on NYPD Blue....

Lucy: And then you left and made that baaaaaad movie....

Pam & Lucy: CARUUUSOOOO....

It was all very operatic and beautiful. It's going to be the B-Side on our single.

The Bad Costume Change- When Josh re-emerged after the violin solo, he had changed from his nice tight maroon button-down into a bigger white button-down shirt that just wasn't happening for us.

Pam: Why the hell did he change? Oh, hey, they're putting his face on the screen.

Lucy: I don't like this shirt. And man, he needs to cut that hair.

Pam: He looks like a Sweathog.

Lucy: OH MY GOD HE LOOKS JUST LIKE BARBARINO!

Pam: Is that a good thing? At least he's still wearing those nice jeans. They fit quite nicely. Mmmm.

Lucy: I miss the other shirt. This one is too boxy.

Pam: Yeah, it's not working for me as much.

Lucy: I don't think I want to tap that anymore.

Pam: My sex offer? Off the table!

Lucy: Yeah!

Pam: But God, that voice. What about if he leaves the jeans on?

Lucy: And takes off the shirt?

Pam: Yeah! YEAH.

Lucy: Now that's what I'm talking about.

Pam: You better back that thang up, Groban.

Lucy: Word. That thaaaang.

Pam: When did we become guys?


Those are just some random snippets of our night. Like I said, it was a blast, and Josh is a doll. His voice is ridiculous. So good. He sounds AMAZING live. Swoon, swoon, swoon. And the final decision of the night? Yeah, I'd tap that. Back that ass up, Groban and bring it....


Co-Worker Fashion Faux Pas of the Day: One of those 80's wide elastic belts with the big silver buckle. I had flashbacks of the I'm So Excited video for some reason.

Comments? Sign the book!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown