Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-08-13 || Upcoming Excitement & Gypsies

Just a quick update tonight, as I've been reminded that I've been a bit neglectful in my updating lately. Sorry! Honestly, there hasn't been that much going on this past week - well, or there's just stuff that I don't talk about on here, but we'll go with the first one. However, there are many exciting Things To Come Very Soon, so let's take a look at those, shall we?

But first - I must mention one thing from last week that led to one of the funniest things that my mother has ever said. Last Tuesday night, I went to karaoke night at a local gay bar with Frito and David. The place was fantastic and the karaoke song selection was the biggest I've ever seen. And the boys? They loved me. The karaoke is hosted by Miss Sabrina Blaze, one of the most fabulous drag queens I have ever seen, and it was a complete blast. I can't wait to go back. (Frito believes that there may have been an unspoken big-band karaoke showdown between myself and one Miss Blaze and that the one with the real boobs won, but I don't see it that way. It was more of a mutual "You go girl!" thing.) ANYway - my point was about my mother. The name of the bar is The Dark Lady, which led to the following exchange with my mother:

MOM: Where are you guys going tonight?

PAM: To The Dark Lady.

MOM: Where is that?

PAM: It's in Providence.

MOM: I've never heard of it.

PAM: Well, what kind of bar do you think it is?

MOM: What do you mean?

PAM: Think of the name - what is that?

MOM: Cher?

PAM: Yes. What kind of people would name a bar after a Cher song?

MOM: ...gypsies?

My mother, ladies and gentlemen. GYPSIES. Were they perhaps business partners with those rascally tramps and thieves? After she said it, she finally picked up on it, but that gypsies thing had me laughing for a while. Do gypsies even exist anymore? And if so, would they open a bar? Isn't that too stable and...not...uh, nomadic? I don't know. All I know is that my mom thought gypsies ran a bar downtown and I will love her for that forever.


NOW - on to the Upcoming Fun Things!

1. Taping of The Ellen Degeneres Show August 28th in NYC - FINALLY! After having tickets and then missing out when my trip to L.A. got cancelled last year, I can cross this off of The List. That was one I was thinking I wouldn't complete, but thanks to Frito, I can now. Somehow he ended up with an offer for 4 tickets to the taping of one of the first shows for her new season, so we will be there dancing our asses off. I can't wait.

2. Jamie F'ing Kennedy - Or, as I like to call him, J Keezy. Anyone who has read my site at all knows of my love for the Jamie Kennedy ever since I saw him in the first Scream. I'm shamelessly addicted to his CD right now and torment my mother by getting his songs stuck in her head. (There's really nothing like hearing your mother sing, "Circle circle, dot dot - I got my cootie shot.") Anyway, he's coming to Boston on his stand-up tour, so we'll be there (hopefully near the front) September 9th. I am beyond excited.

3. Teddy Geiger Concert - This one was a little more exciting way back when I heard that Teddy stays after some shows to sign autographs and meet the fans. Then I found out that he's only 17 (Sing it, Kip Winger) and now I feel kind of dirty and old. I thought he was around 23. But I don't care, because the music will be enough. His CD rocks, so you should check it out. (For those of you who saw the 4 episodes of Love Monkey, he was Wayne.)

4. Wiffleball - We have an annual summer party at my house and the main event is a wiffleball game played by me, my brother, my 3 cousins, and any friends who want to join in. It is truly one of the highlights of my summer as I grew up with those 3 boy cousins and I hardly ever get to see them anymore as they're all married with kids. This is our one day to play, and the one day I get to be called Pam Griffey, Jr. I've got 2 words for you boys this year: Bring It.

5. The Fall TV Season - C'mon, it's still me here. I didn't go out and get a full life. I'm counting down the 3 weeks until the House premiere kicks off my season of staying in during the week. In the meantime, I'm enjoying the rest of my summer nights. I'm actually leaving the house most nights! How novel! Although I am still watching 3 shows - The Janice Dickinson Modeling Agency (Which sadly ends this week. I'll miss my weekly dose of Chris Jones), It's Always Sunny In Philadelphia (It took me about 3 shows to get into, but it's really funny. Charlie is a riot and Dennis is just plain hot.), and finally, the return of Flavor Of Love. I didn't think it could ever be as good as Season 1, but that first episode last week proved me completely wrong. It's delicious. Speaking of which, I'm off to watch it now. Buckwild is female Brad Gluckman. And Like Dat is this year's Goldie. Flavor FLAV!!!


Comment Debate Defeat Of The Day: Y'all - I am not too proud to admit when I am wrong, and I was wrong in the last entry when I said that 911 is a Joke is the greatest music video of all time (with Thriller & Trapped in the Closet not counting). Frito corrected me, and he was completely right - it's Lionel Richie's Hello. There's a link to it in the last entry, and you really should watch it again as it is brilliant. I didn't realize that Lionel was such a creepy stalker in it, but I was happy to see that my favorite scene of him calling the woman, singing into the phone and then promptly hanging up on her held up so well over these years. Lionel, I tip my hat to you. Genius.

Today's comment debate? Offer up the next topic....

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown