Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-09-14 || An Entry About Hall & Oates? Really?

Oates is my new hero.

I went to a party last weekend and was chatting away with my friend Larry when we both looked up at one point and noticed that the muted TV was showing Hall & Oates videos. We then looked down on the coffee table and saw this, The Daryl Hall & John Oates Video Collection: 7 Big Ones. The DVD has the videos for Say It Isn't So, Family Man, One on One, Maneater, Private Eyes, Adult Education, and I Can't Go For That (No Can Do). In short, it is one of the greatest DVDs ever made (even if it doesn't have the video for Method of Modern Love with its big letters and all). When we realized what was playing on the TV, we un-muted it immediately, which led to a few more people coming in the room to watch. (Surprisingly, Hall & Oates seems to be what really brings people to the yard.)

And oh, did we watch.

I believe we watched the DVD 3 times in a row. Oates and his mustache are mesmerizing! The video for Private Eyes was our favorite, especially with the exaggerated blinking and eye-popping by Oates. He's all creepy and lurking around behind Daryl Hall for most of the video, but then he gets his big moments of really selling the "Private eyes..[clap]...are watching you...[clap clap]" line. Check it out:

It's pure genius. I love Oates looking for clues with his magnifying glass while he's supposed to be playing his guitar. In contrast, what isn't pure genius - but is still wildly entertaining in a different way - is the weird-ass video for Adult Education. I remember this song, but not the video. I'm SURE I would have remembered a shirtless-under-his-blazer Oates, the ritualistic virgin sacrifice and the naked guy with a serpent covering his privates. Seriously:

WTF?

That DVD could have entertained us for hours. Actually, it did. Someone said the owner of it got it for $4, and my friend had the perfect response for that: "I believe it's pretty much required that you buy it if you see that for $4." Word to that. Also? Word to Oates.

_______________________________________

In other news, I am gearing up to finally cross some more things off of The List. I've been a bit neglectful of it recently, but I've got to get moving! I'll be knocking off #53 this weekend when Frito and I go try out for Wheel of Fortune at a local mall. Then in a few weeks I'll be crossing off #38 when David Sedaris finally comes back to town. I'm looking forward to that one a lot as the last time I saw him I laughed harder than I had in quite some time. So good times are ahead, which I'm sure will lead to some good stories. Stay tuned....



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown