Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-07-14 || Hanson + Frankie Muniz's Doppelganger = Madness

Friggin' Frankie Muniz.

At some point in the last seven years, I should have realized that it would have come down to this at one time or another: I got shoved by security at a Hanson concert. I'm almost 30 years old, and I'm getting pushed by security in an area where there were no more than 20 people standing there. And to top it all off, the security guard inadvertently trips up Zac, who almost knocks me over and just misses grabbing one of my boobs. C'mon now. Why Zac? WHY? I know he's 18 and all now, but he'll always be 11 to me. Why can't Taylor or Isaac be the one copping a feel? I'll gladly offer up Thelma & Louise for them. (Don't even ask about the names - it's from my college days. Ah, college. And what? Men have the monopoly on naming things?)

Anyway, let me start at the beginning, because it's really not as big of a melee as it sounds. And really, I seriously HATE Frankie Muniz-looking boys right now. Frankie, he's okay. Anyone who looks like him? SUCKS.

Okay, so as I mentioned in my last entry, Hanson came to town for a free outdoor concert as part of the 3 day minor league All-Star game celebration. It rained almost all day yesterday, so I noticed on the news that there weren't too many people downtown enjoying the festivities. I was wavering about going just because I've seen them 3 times before and really, it's possible that I'm too old to be standing in the pouring rain to see Hanson. See? I do think clearly at some points in time. However, the dearth of people down there and the waning rain gave me a jump start, so I hopped in my car and headed downtown. When I got to the show, Evan and Jaron were just finishing up. The crowd wasn't big at all, and there were a lot of people sitting on the sides and standing up on the street level to watch. (The concert was held in an outdoor skating rink) Lucky for me, I was able to just mosey on over to the right-hand side of the stage and get within 15-20 feet of the boys. Thankfully, most of the people there weren't really diehard Hanson fans, so I didn't have to deal with the insanity that takes place at their concerts. Not being squished like a sausage is a very nice thing. Most people were just there for the free concerts, which made it much more enjoyable in the no-one-is-screeching-in-my-ear sense. And really, what is the deal with that? I never understood the screaming and crying. Even back in the day, when I was shamefully a New Kids fan, I didn't get all of the girls screeching at them. Do girls think they like that? You see a guy and scream in his face? That's a good thing? I don't know. I'm from the school of giving a "Woo!" if you like a song. You applaud. It's a form of props. Screaming bloody murder and yelling, "OH MY GOD, I LOVE YOU!!!" is just...not.

ANYway, I was thrilled to see that I could get a nice and closer spot on the right side of the stage as most of the fools in the crowd were going for the center. Fools! If there's one thing I've learned about being stuck with tickets on the lefthand side of the stage for two Hanson shows, it's to stand at the right when it's general admission. That's where Taylor is. Even though Isaac is turning out to be the Hanson I'd most like to date, Taylor still remains the one I like to look at and drool over. He's just so damn pretty. Also, at one point he mentioned something being "really hot," which threw me into the Land of Bad Thoughts. I like it there.

Back to the concert - the guys came out about 10 minutes after I got there and sang 8 songs, putting on a nice little acoustic show. I'm serious about this, and Shelly will back me up on it: if you haven't heard their newer stuff, give it a try. They are SO much more than MMMBop. I actually pretty much never listen to that song. In any event, here they are doing their thing:

When the boys first came out, I noticed that security just walked them right through the crowd on the side, so I figured I'd go over that way when the show was done to get a closer look. And that's when it all turned into a typical day in my life.

Here comes Zac, heading out into the crowd before the "incident." It was at this point that he stopped to shake some hands, infuriating the security guards and giving Taylor a little bit of a lead. And to those security guards - for crying out loud, there were probably 15 people standing there. It's not a big deal if he wants to stop. This isn't Cannes.

And here is Taylor making his way over, but turning his head right when I put my camera up. Luckily, I had the nice view without my camera. But still, it would have been nice to have had that pretty face on film. [Note to Taylor - LOSE the ponytail] That guy under the blue arrow? That's the idiot security guard. Instead of continuing to walk the guys in a straight line to the side, he decides to walk them out further into the crowd and straight at the girl in the pigtails. Maybe he just has a need to push people. Seriously, there was a straight line that people were kind of respecting and keeping open, but this guy totally went into the crowd instead of the opening. I have no idea why he chose me as the target destination. I'm not complaining, mind you, but I would have liked it more had my camera's batteries decided NOT to start pooping out on me. It took forever for the flash to recharge, so I missed out on some prime photo ops. But hey, at least I got to see them up close myself.

And now, here is the reason why I HATE people who look like Frankie Muniz, and also my camera's dying batteries:

There's Taylor making his way towards me. And there is that frigging Frankie Muniz-looking bastard. I HATE him. He did get out of the way right after that, but that is, of course, when my camera wouldn't go off. And he got out of the way because that is where Taylor ended up. He was within kissing distance, people. I could have grabbed his shirt and laid a big, wet one on him. I also could have just said, "Hey, Taylor!" What did I do instead? Stared like a moron. Yes, Taylor Hanson, who was my #1 Celebrity boyfriend for 5 years, was within kissing distance of me and all I did was stare at him and curse my camera batteries. Idiot!!!! And why is that girl trying to touch his head? What's up with that?

This is the point where Zac comes back in, following Taylor, and the security guy is so busy with his griping and manhandling that he steps back and accidentally knocks into Zac, who shoulders me and lands a hand right under my boob. The thought going through my head at that moment? "Wrong Hanson!!!" Also? "Stupid camera batteries!" One more - "I HATE you Frankie Muniz's twin!"

Isaac finally made his way through at the end of the pack, and for once, my camera went off at the right time. Well, the right time to make someone look drunk. Anyway, this picture shows you how close they all came to me. Kissing distance!!! All I can think of when I see this picture is Wayne's World. "Extreme Close-up! WHOOOOAAAA!"

EXTREME HANSON!! Whoooaaa!

So that was my night last night. I must say, not a bad two nights in a row there. I had Uberhot Ethan, who Lucy dubbed "Curlylicious" on Monday and Extreme Hanson on Tuesday. The best part about Tuesday night was walking back to my car after the show and the "incident." What was that strange thing on my face? Oh yes, I think I remember those. It was a smile.


Non-Diaryland Link of the Day: Of Charm and Strange
My buddy Eric's page (Check out the journal, too) and the home of one of the greatest creations EVER - The Nun-Clown.

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown