Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-03-14 || The Rule Of Kevins

The Rule of Kevins

I�ve had this theory about Kevins for years now and I was reminded of it last night. It�s no Theory of Relativity or anything, but throughout my years of research I�ve found that it�s a pretty sound theory. Basically, it is this: About 99% of girls (I have not tested it on gay men yet � that�s next) will, at some point in their lives, have a crush on or date someone named Kevin. Everyone seems to have a Kevin. Me? I had three. My first Kevin was my long-time junior high � high school crush. I met him when I was in 7th grade and had the hots for him all the way through 12th grade. Nothing ever came of it, but my crush became almost legendary. Countless yearbook signings mention it. It�s actually one of the things that people who didn�t know me that well in school remember me for. Sad and scary, isn�t it? (Speaking of sad and scary, I used to celebrate the anniversary of the day that I met him every year as �Kevin Day� and I remember my mom actually made me a cake one year. Yeah. My mom kinda rules. And I just realized that I have no idea when Kevin Day was now. That�s a good sign that I�m not as crazy as I used to be. Either that, or I�m just old. I know it was in October, that�s about it. Want some cake?)

ANYway � so yeah, that was my first Kevin. My second one was one of the only guys that I dated when I was in high school. We only went out for a couple of months, and the only reason I originally liked him was because he had the same speaking voice as my New Kids love, Joey McIntyre (Not that I brought a tape recorder in my pocket to class one day to prove it to my friends. Ahem. See above re: The Crazy.) This Kevin also was a little inexperienced and afraid of girls and would never fully kiss me. I would just get nice little pecks. He became known as �That Boy� around my house because my dad used to whine, �That boy called you.� Ah, good times. Speaking of good times, we come to my third Kevin, who ended up being my college boy toy. I first met him when I had a crush on his cousin, who looked just like Charlie Salinger (Matthew Fox, back in the first season of Party of Five). Ooh, he had the floppy hair and all. Anyway, we had a class next to each other and he mentioned that his cousin Kevin was in my class and that I should say hello to him. When I went the next day to see who he was talking about, I was horrified to find out that it was the long-haired guy who wore black jeans and heavy metal t-shirts every day and never spoke a word in class all semester. I was frightened of him, but because of the Salinger love, I said hello to him one day and said something about being friends with his cousin. He mumbled back and that was the end of that. A year later, we both started in the same major, so he showed up in a bunch of my classes. However, this time he had short hair and wore vintage duds. He was also a musician, which we all know is my weakness. We became buddies, and the rest is history - we�re still good friends to this day.

So there�s my proof of my theory - my Kevins. Lucy has only had one in her past, but that�s all it takes to validate the Rule of Kevins. So now I put it to y�all � hit up the comments and let me know if my theory flies with you. Tell me about your Kevins!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown