Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-01-31 || Oscar Noms, Movie Nos, & Hungry Crotches

�You know it�s hard out here for a pimp....�

That song has been stuck in my head ever since I read the list of Oscar nominees this morning. Speaking of which, I�m quite pleased with most of the nominees this year. There are many categories where I�m rooting for several of the noms, so this should make for quite the enjoyable show. I caught a little bit of the live announcement and found myself shouting out, �Yes!� and �Niiice!� and pumping my fists at a few of the choices (Giamatti, Terrence Howard, Keira Knightley). And I�m very happy to see that It�s Hard Out Here for a Pimp is up for best song, because not only is it a good song, but after watching Hustle & Flow, that is the one lesson that I came away with. I don�t know much a whole lot about that world, but after watching that movie, I knew that it really was hard out there for a pimp. Poor pimps. And go Terrence � well, go for second place, because � hello � Joaquin. Anyway, I�m hoping that they don�t fool with the Oscars like they did last year and have other people singing the nominated songs. NO MORE BEYONCE. I want Terrence Howard up there, rapping his ass off. Plus, it would mean we�d also get Dolly Parton for another song, and what is better than The Oscars and Dolly? Not much, I�ll tell you. I was also happy to see that Match Point at least got a screenplay nod out of it, because I saw it over the weekend and thought it was excellent. I was never a fan of Woody Allen movies, but this is so unlike any of his others and just so, so good. By the way, why have none of my girls out there told me about Matthew Goode before now? I missed Chasing Liberty, so I wasn�t in the know! Holy shit, is he sex-on-a-stick. Mama like!!! So to recap: Oscar nominations: very pleased � Matthew Goode: very pleased, indeed.

**************************

Speaking of movies, I know I have complained about the upcoming Curious George (look at him � that is NOT Curious George. Someone in animation needs to look at those books a little closer. And Jack Johnson ruins everything), but I also must go on record and voice my disdain about 2 more upcoming flicks. First, The Pink Panther. No. Just no. You don�t�NO. There are certain movies that you don�t remake and certain characters that shouldn�t be played by anyone other than Peter Sellers. This movie violates both of these principles. I love Steve Martin and all, but NO. (Note to casting directors: you didn�t consider Kevin Kline for the lead? Would have been a much better choice.) Second: Dear When a Stranger Calls, let�s talk. I saw your original version of this movie when I was in junior high and the first 20 minutes scared the beejeesus out of me. (I remember the rest of it being a letdown.) However, the thing that made it scary was not knowing that the calls were coming FROM INSIDE THE HOUSE, dun dun dun!!! Your commercials for the movie have just ruined a perfectly good viewing experience for scads of teens today. Going in knowing that the guy is in the house? Ruined! Nice work, jackasses � Love, Pam

**************************

We went out last night to a gay bar downtown for karaoke and had SO much fun. Frito and I had planned to break out With You I�m Born Again for our third song choice, but there were too many singers for us to get a chance at it. At least he and Lucy got to masterfully make their way through Suddenly Seymour. (I pulled out some Barbra, because � come on.) Frito and I were even all ready to go up as �Donnie and Darla� in our matching shirts:

Remember how I said he was male me? That is the infamous skull shirt that I�ve had for years � it�s one of my all-time favorite shirts. I was showing Frito a video a few weeks ago and I�m wearing the shirt in it. He just stopped and said, �I have that shirt.� I don�t know anyone else on the planet that has this shirt. Scary! Also? Male me!

Anyway, there was a girl at karaoke last night that looked like the love child of Mama Cass and Janis Joplin and she had on these jeans with pieces of a blanket-type thing sewn onto the sides. It was really weird and wrong. Canada asked, �Is she going to sing a song by the Afghan Wigs?� The worst part about the whole ensemble led to the funniest part of the whole night. I noticed (horrifically) and then felt the need to point out that this girl had the most insane camel toe that I have ever seen.

PAM: Look at that camel toe! I�ve never seen anything like it.

KEVIN: Oh! Oh my God! I could mail a letter in that thing.

PAM: (knees buckle from laughing)

KEVIN: Is your crotch hungry? Because it�s eating your jeans.

PAM & LUCY: AAAGGGGHHH!!!!

Crazy camel toe girl aside, it was a blast and I can�t wait to go again � I have to learn an Aida song for Frito first. We�re also trying to find an instrumental version of Trapped in the Closet. What would people do if we brought that out? I must find this! Maybe along the way I�ll stumble across It�s Hard Out Here For a Pimp. ...And now it�s stuck in my head again. Dammit!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown