Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-06-22 || Pam Mars!

I want to be Veronica Mars.

Surprisingly, it�s not because I�d get to make out with Logan Echolls. That�s just a bonus. I just mean that I�ve always had an affinity for detective work, and today only re-ignited it. Basically, I thought one of my clients at work was lying to me, so I did some investigating to try to prove my hunch. Over the years, I�ve done some investigating on and off for myself and for friends about guys we liked. (And yes, there�s a difference between �stalking� and �investigating.� Finding out where a guy lives and driving by once for a thrill and some giggles [all girls do it at some point in their lives] is a lot different than staking it out, driving by every day, or even ringing the doorbell. There are rules!) I don�t know why, but I�ve always just enjoyed the whole chase aspect of it. The Internet has made it a lot easier for people, which is good in some ways and not so good in others. I used to like doing the gruntwork with street maps and such back in the days before MapQuest, but I do love the ease of stumbling across some other tidbits online. Take, for instance, my meeting of a cute actor at a restaurant in NYC one time. I did a little digging and within 3 days he had e-mailed me and given me his phone number. It wasn�t anything I wanted to pursue, but just the success of finding him was enough for me. At work today it was even more fun because we have access to some other resources through my job that I normally wouldn�t have (complete with code words and all! Code words are fun!). Even public record and assessor�s offices are fun! They shouldn�t be, but they totally are. I need to be Veronica Mars. It�s too bad that it�s hard to break into the business without being a former cop or struggling for a while (with no health care), because I�d be on that in a second. Side job, anyone? And someone get me a Logan!

________________________________________

In other news, I'm going to be attending the premiere of the new Showtime series Brotherhood on Monday night, which also includes an after-party which all of the stars are supposed to be attending. My dad got the passes from a friend of his, and I originally turned him down because I thought none of the stars would be there, but then when I found out they all would, I changed my mind. And why? Because Ethan Embry is in it. Aww, Ethan Embry! My dad didn't know who he was until I told him that he was "Preston in that movie that you've seen a hundred times with the party and Jennifer Love Hewitt. He was the one who liked her." You see, I have to break things down into Dad language and then he knws exactly what I'm talking about. You can't just say, "Can't Hardly Wait!" He'd have no idea. But seriously, Can't Hardly Wait is one of my all-time favorite movies and Ethan Embry has been a celebrity boyfriend ever since I saw him in that with his little white and yellow baseball shirt. I loved him even more when he popped up in another one of my favorite movies, Harold & Kumar Go To White Castle. Lucy and I were discussing this yesterday:

PAM: He was in Harold & Kumar, too.

LUCY: That's right!! That movie is one of my top 5 funniest movies of all time.

PAM: Didn't we see that opening weekend in the theater and we were the only girls in the audience?

LUCY: Yep.

PAM: And we were laughing hysterically the whole time?

LUCY: Yep. And then I took Joe back to see it and he was dying. Neil Patrick Harris is the best part. "NPH wouldn't do that."

PAM: I also love Jamie Kennedy's cameo.

LUCY: YES. "Circle circle, dot dot...."

(I've gotten Lucy hooked on the Jamie Kennedy tunes. The ablum comes out July 11th!!)

PAM: "Come on, Dad." "Daddy is not coming on anything."

LUCY: Ask Ethan Embry if he met the giant bag of pot. That was my second-favorite part of the movie.

PAM: Oh my God, yes.

LUCY: When she's crying after he slaps her? Genius.

PAM: Now I want to watch that again. Maybe I'll pop the DVD in tonight. I can always watch some Harold & Kumar. Frito has my Requiem For a Dream DVD, so I can't watch that. I've been in the mood for it lately, though.

LUCY: What??!! How can you be "in the mood" to watch that? What kind of mood is that, suicidal?

PAM: I watch that all the time! I'll be bored and just think, "Hey, I haven't seen Requiem For a Dream in a while," so I'll pop it in and watch it.

LUCY: You're sick.


Quote of the Week, Courtesy of My Doctor: (In response to my complaint that I had to buy all new clothes this summer because I grew out of all of them due to my 'expansion.') "No, you're nice and thin, but I wouldn't gain any more weight. Wow, I don't think I've ever said that to you before." HA! I responded to that by picking up some donuts on my way back to work.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown