Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-05-26 || My Vacation...To The Poorhouse

"And Leon's getting laaaarrgggeeerrr!"

I'm on a mini-vacation from work for half of this week, and during my two days off I have learned many things. I originally took yesterday and today off in the hopes of joining my family on their Vegas trip after my L.A. one got cancelled. However, when I went to buy tickets on the same flight as my folks, I learned that their price of $169 round-trip that they paid in January would be $653 for someone who was buying the same tickets in March, still two and a half months before the trip. I decided to stay home. I also decided to keep my days off and make a mini-vacation out of the whole thing. So here I am, two days in, and I've been awakened to many things.

First, many of you don't know this about me, but I still live at home with the folks. I was sick for a long time and had to be at home, and then when I was well enough to go, frankly I couldn't afford it. I could, but I'd be unhappy. Last year when I was thinking about getting a place, I was calculating my budget for the month and I'd have about $25 left over after expenses, and that's if I had ridiculously cheap rent. So yeah, I think I'll hang here for a while. I actually have a pretty sweet set-up - a lot of my friends want to move into my brother's old room. My parents are crazy cool and don't bother me, my mom still offers to do my laundry, and I don't have to worry much about my lack of cooking skills. Plus, I live in a much better place than I'd be able to afford. So hey, I'm enjoying it. But this wasn't even the point of this whole thing. Ramble much?

ANYhoo - the first thing I've learned is that I don't think I'd want to live alone even if I did move out. I'm kind of bored. Sure, it's fun for a little while, but I'm kinda lonely. I've made plans for most of my time off anyway, but when I don't have plans, it's just kind of boring. And I don't even really hang out with my family that much. I think it's just nice to have someone to call to when something funny is on TV and stuff like that. I don't know, it's hard to describe, but I think you get my gist. And there are very few people that I could move out and live with, so it's not like getting a roommate would solve all of my financial issues. I could live with my brother and a select few other people, but honestly - my TV viewing would hamper anyone. Sad, isn't it? I'm also always afraid the other person wouldn't pay their share of things, as I am adamant about paying all of my bills in full every month. I'd be a joy. But hey, it will happen someday. A few years ago I was planning on moving with the Ex-Great Love of My Life, which would have been wondrous, but unfortunately never took place. So here I am, rattling around the house and rebelling by not making my bed. That's my big excitement for having the house to myself - I don't have to make the bed. Woohoo!

I've also learned that living by myself would be more expensive than I thought, given my aforementioned lack of cooking skills. My parents left on Wednesday, and here has been my meal schedule since then:

Wednesday Dinner: KFC

Thursday Breakfast: Granola bar.

Thursday Lunch: Rotisserie chicken from food court at Prudential Center in Boston.

Thursday Dinner: Burger King

Friday Breakfast: Cap'n Crunch (my favorite)

Friday Lunch: Papa Gino's Pizza

Delicious AND nutritious! Tonight I'll probably have leftovers from KFC or lunch today. I am a domestic goddess. And poor.

Speaking of poor, I made a good decision with the not-going-to-Vegas thing as I would have had to have packed some summer clothes (it's 100 degrees there right now). I didn't realize this would be a problem until my mom pointed out a couple of weeks ago that I should really try on my capri pants to make sure they all fit. (It's warming up here and it looks like it will be capri weather tomorrow.) I scoffed and told her that I was basically this size last year and have only gained about 2 pounds since then. A few days after I proclaimed this, I tried on my capris to prove my point and only 3 pairs fit. 5 did not. I forgot that I expanded my waist this winter, causing many of my jeans to abandon me and laugh when I tried to zip them up. This expansion also led to the mad scramble 2 weeks ago to find a dress that fit on the day of the gala that I volunteered at. The worst part about it all is that the only capris that fit me are the ones that I hardly wore. My favorite denim pair didn't even come close to buttoning up. This led to my adventures this week in trying to replace them.

Did you know that trying to find denim capris these days is like looking for the Holy Grail? Because it is. I don't want these crop pant things. They're just basically high-waters. If I wanted ankle-length pants, I'd just buy petite. I want pants to come just below my knee, and I don't want them to have fugly sewn-in creases down the middle of the legs, I don't want them to have weird pockets everywhere, and I don't want any damn appliques all over them. Just some simple, jean capris. 5 pockets. Oh, yes, one more thing - I'd also not like them to be low enough to show off all of my lady-parts. I wear these things to work. Thanks.

After 3 days of shopping, I FINALLY found one pair today that were tolerable AND that fit. Thankfully, it was much easier to find khaki and black capris that fit. Damn denim ones and me liking to wear them all the time. Did I mention that my expanded ass is making me poor? Because it is. It's actually worse than that - I'm not just poor, I am po'. Po', people. And why is this? Well, when I was shopping for capris today, I picked up a pair of shorts in a color that I don't have. When I got home and was putting them away, I decided on a whim to try on all of my shorts and skorts just to make sure that they fit. I tried on the first pair: nope. I just laughed it off, saying that those were just fitting last year. I tried on another pair: WAY too small. Once again I brushed it off, claiming not to have worn those much anyway. Then the next pair: not even close. It was at this point that I started to sweat a little. Surely, this was a joke. However, I still had all of my favorite pairs still left to go. I tried them all on and not one single pair fit. I believe I woke up a few minutes later, curled in a ball and weeping. The only pair that fit me was the one that I bought today, and they were cocoa brown. This initiated a shouting match with no one about me not even having anything to wear with the damn cocoa brown that involved a lot of fist shaking and profanity. Then, I woke up again in a ball, sobbing and shaking the cocoa shorts in the air.

Then I went shopping.

Again.

Did I mention the po'?

THANKfully, I found some shorts that fit, and I am now ready to enjoy my summer of doing absolutely nothing because I am po' and can't afford to go anywhere exciting, but hey, look! My shorts fit! [sigh]

And now I can't believe I just rambled that long about shopping. Ah well. If you'll excuse me, I'm off to buy some Ramen Noodles.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown