Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-08-07 || Pam In The Sand

Unnnnnhhhhh....

That's the sound my body is making right now. I had all planned to write an entry about my extremely fun night out with Sassy last night, but I'll save that for next time. Tonight, I'm just too damn tired. And why is that? Because I hauled my ass down to this today. Basically, it's a radio station contest on the beach where there are 95 cans of beer hidden in this 12 X 12 area of sand at the beach. Each can is numbered to correspond to a prize, with all prizes totaling $35,000. There are 95 people participating, but you can win more than one prize if you find more than one can, so some people are left with nothing. You had to won a shovel to be able to participate, and they were giving them away with various contests throughout the week. I hadn't won any, but I knew that they were also giving some away the day of the event. I was curious, so I made my way down to the beach this morning. [Note to the girls who enjoyed our Boys of RI photo spread - those guys had NOTHING on the ones who were down by the beach. Jiminy Cricket. I wish I had my camera with me. Next time.] When I got there, some people were engaging in a contest eating disgusting things such as a whole can of hummus and stuff like that, so I decided I'd just be a spectator for the dig. Ditto after they announced a limbo contest and a crab-walk race on the beach. Oh, hell no. Then someone announced that they had a last chance to win a shovel through a trivia contest. My ears perked up at that one. I headed on down to the beach, where I found none other than my Drive Home Fake College Boyfriend, Lex. (And yes, he was as adorable as I had thought) Also, seeing that I was engaging in a trivia contest, guess who won the last shovel? Let me point something out to people who don't know this about me - I may not be good at a lot of things, but when it comes to random trivia and being the first to answer, I am your woman. You may be able to beat me at curling, but not at You Don't Know Jack or anything like that. I'm a gamer. Anyhoo, so I won the shovel and then headed up to the big dig.

This is where the insanity ensued. Most people were there with friends, so when you got tired, you could just give someone your necklace and t-shirt and switch off digging. Most of my friends had other plans, so I was there by myself. In hindsight, I should have remembered that I am not in the best shape in the world before I went and competed for that shovel, because I am HURTING. As soon as the whistle went off, people just ran like mad and just started throwing dirt all over the place and angling for spots in this tiny area. We were given these small little kid's shovels which were deformed in no time as the sand about 4 inches down started to turn wet and hard. Oh, and the cans? They were buried about a foot and a half under the sand. It was strenous and feverish and frenzied, my jeans were filthy, people were throwing sand on me, and - AND - my sneakers got dirty! Not my precious sneakers!!! NOOOOO!!!! Of course, I really should have taken them off, but no worries as the sand came off when I got home. But it was a mess. Luckily, I found 3 cans myself, but it took me about fifteen minutes of constant digging. The dig went on for about twenty. By the end, I just kind of sat there, exhausted beyond belief and still trying to wrap my head around what I had just been a participant in.

Earlier, there had been a girl who was competing in the trivia contest with me. She was a worthy adversary, but kept yelling her answers out while she raised her hand, after mine had been up. She should have been able to get another shovel, but as it turned out, there was only one left, so I got it. I watched her pleading her case to all of the people from the station before the dig, so afterwards when I saw her still upset about it, I told her that I won 3 prizes and that if there was something that I didn't want, she could have it. There were actually quite a few prizes that I wouldn't really use, like a kayak, guitars, and moutain bikes. I wanted one of the iPods, the $1000 cash or any gift certificates. Anyway, I ended up winning $1200 worth of prizes. I got a mountain bike (of course), a pair of passes for free skydiving jumps, and 4 gift certificates good for 4 DVDs or 8 CDs. I know most people will think I'm crazy, but I REALLY had no need or use for the mountain bike, so I gave that to the girl.

One of the people who was trying to help her the most was DJ Lex, so she wanted to thank him for trying and offered to take my picture with him because I told her of his fake boyfriend status. I chatted with him a bit more, and we had our picture taken. He even gave me a t-shirt for my mom, which rocks in my book. All in all, he was totally great. And he is still my drive home boyfriend - maybe even more so now. I told him that he was my drive home fake boyfriend and he laughed and asked what that entailed. Here's a little look inside my head: (You also have to picture this with me in jeans covered in dirt from the knees down and my hair all askew. Sexy!)

LEX: So what does that entail on my part?

PAM'S HEAD: Me sitting in your lap while you talk about music and then, if you're in the mood, you doing me.

PAM: [laughing nervously] Oh, I don't know.

IDIOT.

So that was my crazy day. There will be pictures to come in the future. Right now I'm just going to go and crash because my arms and legs are ridiculously sore. I'm sure the leg thing had nothing to do with last night's failed attempt at a Dance-Off with Sassy. More on that later, too....


Recommended Junk Food of the Day: Nestle Toll House Cookie Candy Bars
I simply cannot get enough of them.



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown