Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-07-26 || Two Delights In One Day!

Oh, the joys of the simple things in life.

Tonight I came home from work to the delight of not one, but two spectacular packages being delivered to my home. The first one was from Amazon.com and contained Pamie's new book. Y'all - buy this book. I devoured it in one sitting. I could not put it down. Okay, fine - I put it down for 5 minutes to shove pizza in my mouth and pee. But that's all. Other than that, like Forrest Gump and his running, "I was reeeaaadding!" And, apparently, taking drugs. What am I even talking about anymore with the Gump reference? The point is - the book was fantastic. I've been a fan of Pamie's writing for years, and loved her first book and her short stories that have been in various anthologies, but this one is my favorite so far. I'm kind of upset with myself for not prolonging my enjoyment and savoring the book, but I couldn't help it. It was one of those books that you're so sad to see end, because it's all, "Well, what now? I've been entranced for the last 3 1/2 hours and have completely forgotten how to live. WANT MORE BOOK NOW!! And then you turn into a caveperson and end up writing insane ramblings on your website. Hi. What I'm trying to say is this: buy the book - you won't regret it.

The second package that arrived made me a little too gleeful for my liking. Remember my great love of the Hershey's Mini-Reese's Pieces Twosomes? Those delectable LIMITED EDITION (I HATE you, Hershey! I want them full time. No, come back here, baby - I didn't mean it. I love you, you know that. But stop taking away my lifeblood!!! Bastards.) candy bars? The ones that are so delicious that you want to melt them all over a hot guy's body and slowly lick it all off but then you decide against it because you're afraid you'd miss a spot and (gasp!) WASTE even one single drop of goodness? Yeah, those. And seriously, these are thoughts that go on in my head. Hi. Nice to meet you. I'm batshit crazy.

ANYway - about a month ago, I sadly ate the last bar from the 3 cases that I had bought of them. Yes, three cases of them (before the site ran out and I wept). Oh, and then I bought some individually on another site. What? THEY ARE THAT GOOD, PEOPLE. So yeah - back to The Sad. That was about a month ago. Two weeks ago, I was just watching TV, all tra-la-la when I felt this pang of loneliness. This ache in my belly. Was I finally succumbing to the agony of singledom, all ready to throw myself on the ground in a heap of blubbering sobs? Ah, that would be a no. I actually sat up and said out loud (to no one), "God, I really miss those candy bars." This is my life. Think about that for a moment. Just sit and ponder. Reflect. I actually missed a CANDY BAR so much that it caused me to sit up straight in my seat, look wistful for a moment and audibly express my sadness and despair over not having it in my life anymore. THIS is my life.

Oh, and it gets even more pathetic, I mean "better." Last week I decided to try my luck to find any remaining bars that I could online to hoard and savor for as long as I could, when I happened upon the original site where I bought the other three cases and saw the two magic words that were not there the last few times that I checked: In stock. I don't think I've ever hit an "order now" button so fast in my life. Then what did I do? I actually CALLED SOMEONE TO TELL THEM THE GOOD NEWS. What is wrong with me? I was so excited, it was like I was telling Lucy that I was engaged or something. But no, I was talking about my unhealthy love of a chocolate bar. And bless Lucy's heart, because she actually understood and was excited for me. You can't wish for friends who understand you more than that.

So today was the big day. UPS arrived and I shot out the door to accept my package, skipping the whole way. When I brought it into the house, I tore into that mofo like nobody's business. It was like I had the strength of an ape, and not in the Strangers With Candy way. But now my belly is full of chocolately goodness and I am complete again.

Although I still can't believe that my life was actually empty in a small way without my Twosomes.

[sigh]

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown