Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-04-04 || 200th Entry - My DVDs
*Settle in, this is a long one. Oh, and kind of boring. Feel free to skip to the next one.*

AAAAHHHH! Entry #200! Woo! In keeping with the tradition set by entry #100, I�m using these little milestone entries just as silly little filler to tell you a little more about me. This time around it�s all about my DVDs. You see, they say you can tell a lot about a person by their movie collection. I�m not quite sure who �they� are and if I totally agree with that statement, but let�s see how it goes, shall we? With that, I give you my (often made fun of) DVD collection, along with reasons for buying some of them. Let�s start with my movies:

Better Off Dead- My favorite movie of all time. This one does support the aforementioned theory, actually. In college I had 2 friends rent the movie on my recommendation and they both came back and reported that they looked at each other at the end of the movie and both proclaimed, �That is SUCH a Pam movie.� It�s quirky, it�s funny, it has a possibly homicidal paperboy, and it has Riiiiiccccckkkkkyyyy. Way too many other highlights to mention. If you haven�t seen it, then stop reading and go rent it. Now.

Funny Girl- I discovered this one during college, and during my own �funny girl� phase, no less. I was channel surfing one night and happened upon it on TV. I was surprised that I couldn�t turn it off. I can still perform the entire soundtrack. I�m waiting for an area theater group to put the show on � Fanny Brice is my dream role!

Dude, Where�s My Car? - Yeah, I know. So stupid yet so funny. The commentary track is one of the best I�ve heard.

Never Been Kissed- One of my all-time favorites. This is also the movie where I fell in love with Michael Vartan. My teachers never looked like that! Dayam!

Requiem For a Dream- I make my friends watch this to disturb them. Awesome movie, though. Bonus points for Leto!

Office Space- I don�t think I even need an explanation for this one. It�s good to be a gangsta.

Can�t Hardly Wait- See yesterday�s entry about this one.

Donnie Darko- LOVE. But can anyone tell me what the deal is with Cherita?

Bring It On- Woo! Jesse Bradford? Hot.

Fight Club- I liked this movie a lot more the second time I saw it. Love the Norton in this. Bonus points for Leto! (Although I still have trouble watching the scene when Jared fights)

Go- It�s too bad more people didn�t see this movie, because it kicks ass. Sarah Polley rules, Breckin Meyer is adorable, and Taye Diggs is just uber-hot.

Bridget Jones�s Diary- Great flick, plus I have a thing for Hugh Grant.

The Royal Tenenbaums- Wes Anderson + Owen Wilson = gold. Even better when Bill Murray is involved. (I can�t wait for A Life Aquatic!)

Big- I love this. It makes me cry every time I watch it. I also covet Tom Hanks� job in this.

The Good Girl- �Welcome to the retail rodeo�.� Also? Jakey! And one of the best lines ever, �Don�t steal and don�t be disturbed.�

About a Boy- Still have that thing for Hugh Grant. What is up with that hideous rainbow sweater that kid always has on?

Serial Mom- Ooh, I love this one. The obscene phone call scene � the best. One of the first DVDs that I bought. Great commentary track by John Waters, too.

Notting Hill- Hugh.

Cecil B. Demented- Stephen Dorff looks hot as a blonde. Seriously, that�s why I bought this. Also, another great commentary by John Waters.

The Cable Guy- I don�t know why people didn�t like this. I think it�s funny as all hell. �The pasthword isss�nipple.�

Rushmore- See The Royal Tenenbaums.

Boiler Room- I love me some Giovonni Ribisi. Cute boys, good movie, and Ben Affleck at his second finest (behind Shakespeare in Love), even if he is ripping off Alec Baldwin in Glengarry Glen Ross.

Clueless- This one also needs no explanation. A classic.

Pretty In Pink- Aww, Duckie.

Lost in Translation

Dumb and Dumber- So stupid, yet so funny. �Swimmy, swami�Samsonite!�

Reality Bites- I love Ben Stiller as a director. I think this one got better on repeated viewings. It�s a little dated now, but still good.

Coming to America- I LOVE this movie. Total classic. My friends and I spent half of college in the dining hall, reenacting the church benefit scene.

The Little Mermaid- When her father destroys her treasure trove? Tears.

Flirting With Disaster- Highly underrated comedy. Sadly, not too many people saw it. This is one of the first times Ben Stiller played the lovable schlump. My heart, however, belongs to Lonnie.

Sixteen Candles- Another classic from my youth. This one holds the test of time. I love the Donger, but my favorite person in this whole movie is Joan Cusack. She cracks my shit up. Also? Jake Ryan � HOT.

The Wedding Singer- I have a longstanding argument with a friend about this being the best Adam Sandler movie. I still say it is.

Singles- Oh my God, I love this movie. When I was in college, I used to compare so many events to scenes from this. I had bought this loud, bright orange short sleeve jacket/shirt thing that I totally adored and people thought was ridiculous. I had it on one day and the hottest boy I have ever met (still holds the title) said to me, �Hey, great shirt.� It�s just like Sheila Kelley and her earrings!

Hope Floats- Because sometimes I�m a sap. And I got it really cheap.

The Object of My Affection- Oh, I love this. Also a good crying movie. And I love Paul Rudd. I can�t even handle the scene at the wedding at the end.

Zoolander- Ah, the Zoolander. You�ve got your adorable Owen Wilson and the awesome �Listen to your friend Billy Zane� scene, but nothing tops Will Ferrell. He rocks this one.

Say Anything- I don�t think this one needs any explanation. Altogether now, �Awwww.�

Stella- Shut up. I happen to love this piece of sappy trash. It makes me weep.

Grease 2- I devoted an entry to my love of this film.

Drive Me Crazy- Word to Heather on this one. Sometimes you see a movie for $9.44 at Target and believe that you need to have it. Like I said before, I like this movie but don�t really know why. I was all excited that I got to sing Stranded in my old band.

Beauty and the Beast- I used to have a little crush on that Beast fellow. I also do a mean version of �Belle� complete with booming Gaston voice. It�s kinda scary.

Forrest Gump- One of my all-time faves. A total weeper for me.

Annie- Do I even need to explain why I had to have this? Didn�t think so.

The Toy Story Box Set- The sequel is just as good as the first one, and they both make me cry. Because I love my toys. Stop looking at me like that.

Se7en- I inherited this one from my brother when he upgraded to the special edition. I just love it when Brad Pitt starts whining. �What�s in the boooooox?� It�s like he wanted to go to Tosche Station to pick up some power converters or something. (Inner geek alert!)

Xanadu- I know I�ve mentioned this masterpiece before, but Heather says it best.

200 Cigarettes- Casey Affleck in eyeliner. That�s pretty much why I bought this one. Plus, I got it for $5.

James and the Giant Peach- Aww, I love little James and his cute little voice. �It�s a giant shark!� I like the human James better, especially when he does the �My name is James� number. Aww, you just want to squeeze him!

Santa Claus Conquers the Martians- I�ve also devoted an entire entry to this one way back when. Hilariously bad, but in the best way.

City of Angels- I forget how much I like this movie sometimes.

Wayne�s World- If you�re around my age, you should know all of the important scenes and quotes by heart. I think it�s a law.

Don�t Look Now- Oh, this movie. I had to watch this in college as part of my �Literature and Film� class. We were supposed to read the novella it is based on before we watched the movie, but I didn�t. And I�m so glad that I didn�t. You really have to go into this movie knowing nothing about it to have the best experience. It has the most ridiculous ending ever. I just sat in class and laighed my ass off while everyone looked at me funny. Aside from that, it�s disturbing in many ways, the biggest way possibly being the fact that you see Donald Sutherland au naturel. I�m still shuddering.

Glengarry GlenRoss- Two words: Alec Baldwin. I also love Jack Lemmon in whatever he is in.

Bottle Rocket- The first Wes Anderson/Owen Wilson collaboration, but no Bill Murray. Still good, though. Luke Wilson with longer hair = hot.

Honeymoon in Vegas- What can I say, I got it free with a large pizza at Pizza Hut.

Blade- Deacon Frost. Another one I bought for Stephen Dorff looking hot.

Willy Wonka and the Chocolate Factory- I just thought I should own this. I don�t know why.

Falling Down- Oh man, I LOVE this movie. It just kicks ass. �And now you�re going to die wearing that silly looking hat.�

How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Live Action Version) - I know, I know. But it�s funny when he checks his schedule!!

Four Weddings and a Funeral- Hugh.

The Nightmare Before Christmas- This came free with James and the Giant Peach. Still a good movie, though. Jack Skellington is my Sim Pam�s best friend.

Almost Famous- Another one I inherited from the brother when he upgraded.

Howards End- I never thought I would like a movie like this, but I�ve seen it quite a few times and still love it. Great book, too. Plus, it has Tibby. I love Tibby.

Mystic Pizza- I cry with this one, too. You know, I live less than an hour away from Mystic Pizza. It�s pretty good. But what the hell is in the sauce?

Switchback- I bought this one purely for Leto reasons. The hottest he�s ever looked outside of My So-Called Life. Lucy and I used to watch and rewind and rewatch Jared�s shirtless scene. �Prove it!� Damn, he�s fine.

Untamed Heart- Once again, I�m a sap and this makes me weep.

The Mask- I�m not sure why I have this, but I think it was cheap.

The Long Kiss Goodnight- Okay, you can laugh about this one. But when I first saw it, I thought Geena Davis was one bad mofo and wanted to dye my hair blonde.

Riding in Cars With Boys- It was on sale!

Bill & Ted�s Excellent Adventure- Hey, I got it for $9.44. This one was bought for nostalgic reasons.

Flatliners- I used to love this movie when I was in high school. Also, it was $7.

Money Talks- Lucy bought this one for me. She does a mean Chris Tucker impersonation.

Uncle Sam- One of the best bad horror movies ever made. Oh, it�s so bad. I bought it just to hear the director�s commentary, which is even worse.

*TV Related*

Felicity, Seasons 1 & 2 (3 is coming in July!)- One of my all-time favorite shows. I used to relate to this show a lot.

Strangers With Candy, Seasons 1 & 2 (3rd and Final Season this fall)- This show makes me laugh my little ass off. I can�t wait for season 3.

The Simpsons, Season One- I�m waiting for the season with the Sherry Bobbins episode. That�s my favorite.

The Ben Stiller Show- The Complete Series- I may be one of the only people who saw every one of these on its original airdate. I remember being in the hospital on a Sunday night and specifically asking the nurse not to disturb me during the half hour when this was on. I love you, Cape Munster!

Family Guy, The Complete Series- I�m a Stewie lover. The commentaries are pretty good on this, too. Lots of Rhode Island references that most people won�t get. One of the episodes that makes me laugh the most is one that only a Rhode Islander who remembers a really bad public access show all about KISS would appreciate. Lois and Peter watch it, and I lose it.

My So-Called Life, The Complete Series- Jordan Catalano. That is all. (Well, it�s also an awesome show. But really, the Catalano is so pretty I forget about the rest sometimes.)

Mr. Bill�s Classics! - Mr. Bill kills me. This DVD has every episode, and I know almost every one by heart. Love it.

Spongebob Squarepants: Halloween- It doesn�t have the profanity episode, but that�s okay.

On Pre-order: Freaks and Geeks & The Gilmore Girls: Season One - Both awesome shows with stellar first seasons. On Freaks - when the tall geek wants to watch Dallas during a Keg Party is classic. It�s almost topped by him dressing up as the Bionic Woman for Halloween. But is it just me who always thinks of the dad (Joe Flaherty) as �the dracula from the Ed Grimley cartoon series�?

*Music*

Josh Groban In Concert- Hey, I�m going to see him this week! His voice melts me.

Hanson: Live at the Fillmore- I�m not ashamed to love the Hanson. And the Taylor. They�re so much more than that damn MMMBop

Incubus: The Morning View Sessions- Brandon Boyd = totally hot in this. Oh yeah, the songs rock, too.

Madonna: The Immaculate Collection- All of the videos! I love to put this on, crank up the stereo and rock out like a dork.


So there you have it. Have you learned anything more about me? Probably not. Oh well, happy 200th entry to me anyway!

Comments? Sign it!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown