Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-03-30 || Welcome To Our World Of Toys....

I never thought I'd be so bothered by a commercial for a toy store, but the new ads for the big Toys 'R Us in Times Square are really sad to me. Not because of the content - Lord knows I love my toys, but because of what they symbolize, which is the death of my beloved FAO Schwarz. Geoffrey the Giraffe has taken his big legs and kicked one of my favorite places in NYC right out on the street. I know it's business and all and there are a million reasons why FAO Schwarz is no longer, but I really don't care about those. This is one of those times that I just want to pull a tantrum like a 2 year-old and lie down on the floor and cry and kick my feet until they bring back my store. Don't get me wrong, I like Toys R' Us, but for me, it just doesn't hold the same magic and wonder as FAO Schwarz did.

Maybe it was that damn song.

"Welcome to our world, welcome to our world, welcome to our world of toys...." Repetitive as it was, I never got tired of hearing it. I loved hearing it play as I gazed up at the huge Humpty Dumpty-like clocktower that greeted me at the door. I don't think I could have been able to fight the momentary loss of reality and return of the fantastical wonder from my youth as I stood under that clocktower, dwarfed and feeling ever so wee, my mouth and eyes open extra wide in awe. It was almost pure in its bliss.

My trips to FAO Schwarz always started out the same - I headed straight for the stuffed animal department. This took up just about the whole bottom floor, with a whole corner devoted to puppets. I'd weave through the displays, hugging a plush llama or monkey as I went, wanting to bring them all home with me. Then I'd move up to the second floor and shake my head at the weak walking piano replacement. It looked nothing like the one in Big, and everyone knew it. Yet people still gathered around it, pointing and whispering. After those two stops, I'd meander around the rest of the store, playing with random things along the way. I'd always have to make a stop at the candy section, too, but that's to be expected with me.

It's not just the NYC store that I adored, either. When I was in college, I took a summer class in Boston one year. I planned my walking route from the train station to my class so I would pass the Boston FAO Schwarz. Every time I passed by I would ogle this huge $3000 stuffed animal in the window. I think it was a rabbit, but I'm not sure. But any day that I got out of class early I would stop in to kill time with the toys. Likewise, every time I've been to Vegas I've spent some quality time in the FAO Schwarz there. I used to spend half of my time near the robotic muppets, wishing that I had gotten a second callback way back when I auditioned to be a muppeteer. [sigh] Anyway, even though the NYC store was my favorite, I just remember never wanting to leave any of them. The childlike whimsy that came over me when I was in there was unparalleled. I can't even explain it, and I know it sounds crazy, but it was just so awesome to me. And now it is no more.

Fare thee well, FAO Schwarz. Thanks for the smiles.


Celebrity Boyfriend of the Day: Tate Donovan
I don't know why, but he is really doing it for me lately when I watch him on The O.C. Yummy.

Comments? Sign the book.



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown