Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-08-30 || Ocean State Idol & Closet Love

Y'all, I don't even know what to say about the play the other night. It was amazing - no one was stressed, we had a GREAT audience, everyone in the show did well, the whole thing went super-smooth, and we are getting rave reviews and demands for an encore performance from all kinds of people. It's pretty awesome to have something that you created get a reaction like that. I'm just happy to hear one person say that I made them laugh, so all of these comments make up one large myriad of cherries on top. Right now we're going to try to shop around the play with a recording of it that I've been burning to DVDs. (I'll burn yours this week, Shmuel. If anyone else wants to see it, e-mail me or hit up the comments!) Hopefully we can make some money off of this puppy! The show we did the other night was a fundraiser for charity and we made them $2090, so they were VERY pleased. Most of us in the show are kind of sad to see it over now, though. We only scheduled it for one night because we didn't know how well it would sell, but now we want to do it more because it was so much fun. And to hear that people want to see it more? Have I mentioned The Awesome? Anyway, here are some pictures from the show:

**I should probably make mention again of what the play is about. It's called Ocean State Idol, and it's a play/cabaret hybrid parody of American Idol. It's supposed to be Rhode Island's low-rent rip-off of the show, complete with my trademark misfit characters, in this case the contestants.

Here I am in my beloved fat suit. It was SO much fun to wear.

Here's a shot of the cast before the show. Check out Lucy in the blue sequins - her character is the drag queen contestant. One of her songs? Man, I Feel Like a Woman. I mean come on, the joke wrote itself!

The judges.

Elimination time....

Seriously, the crowd ROCKED. Clapping, hooting, booing, laughing - everything! We even had four claims of crying from laughing so hard.

Bertha singing her heart out!

All in all, it was an awesome experience (such a difference from the stress of the last one) and I can't wait to perform it again. Man, I need to win the lottery so I can afford health care and do this full-time. C'mon, Powerball!

_______________________________________

In other news, last night I indulged myself and watched the 5-part video brilliance that is R. Kelly's Trapped in the Closet. I'm so glad he's making more because I still don't know what to say about it. It's so ridiculous that it almost transcends awesomeness. Now Lucy and I communicate mostly in that single melody line: "I went to the superMARKET!" If you haven't seen it, you MUST. It's so horrifyingly bad, but in the best WTF? way EVER. My favorite part is the way Chapter 4 ends with the word "rubber." Brilliant, I tell you!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown