Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-12-27 || When Grandparents Go Shopping....

My poor grandparents. We keep telling them not to get us gifts for Christmas or our birthdays, but they insist. They really don't have to. But they do. And most of the time, they really shouldn't. Really. These are my father's parents, and his bad taste seems to have been passed down. I know my grandmother means well, and wants to get us kids something we'd like, but sometimes it's best to just ask if you want to do that. They were sending money for a while when they lived in Florida, but now that they're living here again, we're not so lucky. A few years ago I got a silver necklace with little balls on it that wasn't half bad at all. I was pleasantly surprised until I wore it twice and then it turned green. I found out later that all of my female cousins also got the same necklace. The next year on my birthday I received another one. The same one. Again. I think the worst present I ever got was back in seventh or eighth grade. My grandmother was taking some kind of sewing class and made us all of our gifts. I got a kerchief with hanging beaded fringe. That wasn't even the worst part - it was made out of California Raisins fabric. I must also mention that I got this gift about 3 years after they stopped airing those commercials. My brother and I had fun chasing each other around the house with that thing. It was hideous.

The boys in the family usually have better luck with the gifts. My brother ends up getting a check or movie passes most of the time. He then enjoys throwing this in my face. But at least I'm not the only victim in all of this. My mother probably gets the worst of it because she gets it from both my grandparents AND my dad. About 15 years ago I remember my grandparents giving my mother this plastic guitar that spun around and played 'Love Me Tender.' First of all, let me mention that my mother is Queen Practicality. She doesn't have a lot of knick-knacks around the house or anything. She also hates Elvis with every fiber of her being. Clearly, you can see how this was the perfect gift for her. When I was 18, my grandmother sent her this blouse made out of the most garish fabric I had ever seen, complete with a brooch for a top button. It was also 3 sizes too big. My mother opened the package two days after I had come home from having some surgery and it hurt my stomach to laugh. But for three days my mother would come dancing into the room with the shirt and I would be clutching my stomach, begging for her to stop because I was laughing so hard. Just thinking about that shirt elicited fits of tear-inducing laughter. My mother ended up giving the shirt to her friend's 93 year-old aunt, who thought it was the prettiest blouse in the world. My poor mom. Before anyone knew what they were, my father gifted my mom with a Billy Bass for their anniversary. She just looked at him in disbelief. After her initial disgust, she remembered exactly who se had married and later joked, "It's our anniversary honey and I love you SO much - here's a singing fish." The sad part is that my dad actually thought she'd like it. That's one of the reasons why I take him to buy her Christmas gifts.

But back to my grandparents, this year proved to be no different with their gifts. We stopped by today and my brother scored 4 movie passes. I lucked out with two, but then also had a mystery box to unwrap. My grandmother had picked out a pinky-mauve turtleneck for me. Oh. Good. Thanks. Now, I will give her the benefit of the doubt and let it slide that I don't see her enough for her to know that I haven't worn a turtleneck since the sixth grade. I may also allow that she wouldn't know that I've only bought 2 pink shirts since 1985, and they were both hot pink to match my hot pink sneakers. I wear a lot of different colors, but if you want to be on the safe side, you buy me something red or black. People know not to buy me pink if only for the fact that it doesn't complement my complexion. Dark hair and pale skin is not the best combo for the summer colors. And just as a side question, who buys someone a plain turtleneck without something to wear with it anyway? I have such issues with turtlenecks, especially if people wear them by themselves. I have no problem with the turtleneck sweater, and I'll even give you the patterned turtleneck, but I really think the plain cotton turtleneck is more of an accessory. It's meant to be worn under something, to complement it or just basically keep you warm. That's my belief, at least. But even outside of all of that stuff, the big problem I have with my new pink turtleneck is the size my grandmother picked out for me. It's a ladies petite size small. Petite?? Small?? I'm deceptively skinny in some places, so I can see where she might buy a small even though I'm working the long torso and wear at least a medium if not a large in some tops. However, the petite thing I can't deal with. That's just weird. And wrong. And my grandmother should know better. I may be skinny, but I'm 5'7", for God's sake. I tower over my grandmother, and she knows it. Why would she buy me a shirt that is going to fit me like a bib?? Petite? Ack! Why couldn't I have just gotten two more movie passes like my brother? Oh well, she tries. I guess I'm just doomed to live with the bad gifts. Hey, I wonder if that turtleneck will go with my California Raisins scarf?


CD Pick of the Day: Sister Seven, Wrestling Over Tiny Matters
Before they split, this band made a couple of great albums. Like a lot of my music collection, I discovered them from Felicity. I love their pseudo-California laid-back sound. They're from Texas, but sound like they're hanging out on Venice Beach. And Patrice can SANG! This is my favorite out of all of their CDS.
Highlight: Under The Radar

Comments? Sign My Guestbook!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown