Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-08-02 || Sassy, Shyamalan, & Snoop

Weekend Wrap-Up - shall we?

I met up with the lovely Sassy yesterday to do some swag shopping for JournalCon, and I am now more excited than ever to go, because Sassy? Is 8 kinds of awesome. I called my friend Jerry when I got home and just said, "She's one of us." His reply was, "Poor girl. Is there any hope for her?" The good news is that the answer to that is NO WAY. Woo! We're going to have an absolute blast. I can't believe it's only 3 weeks away, because I have not thought about what to wear yet. Now that I think about it, it brings me great concern. There are far too many factors to take into account: the heat, air conditioning, "What if Weetabix breaks out the maribou trim shirt? We need something to complement that," etc. It's a vicious thing, but I'm sure it will be worth it after Sassy and I hit the local hoochie mama store. D.C. has no idea what it's in for.

_______________________________________

On Saturday I went to the movies with my brother to see The Village. The funniest thing was my brother as we emerged from the theater after the show. He threw up his hands in rage and just shouted, "BURNED by Shyamalan AGAIN!!! Why do we keep going to see his movies? After every one, I say I'm not going to bother with the next one, but then there I am again, opening weekend. That guy is laughing all the way to the bank! AARRRGGHHH!" To my brother I say this: Word. The movie was just LAME. Stylistically very nice, and Bryce Howard is amazing, but the plot? So lame. The screenplay is laughable in parts. And the more I think about it afterwards, the worse the movie gets. I'm trying to not even think about it now because I'll become enraged again and shake my fist in Shyamalan's direction. He really should have stopped after The Sixth Sense. I'll allow that The Village is better than Unbreakable, but then again, what isn't? Well, just Jack Frost 2. Worst. Movie. Ever. Not even good in a bad way.

For all of the movie's suckiness the other night, at least I did have one disturbing experience at the theater. Before the show, the theaters play piped-in music. It's always been the same adult contemporary/lite rock station that we used to play in the store I worked at in college. However, the other night it was different. I first noticed the change when I heard the travesty that is the cover of Our Lips Are Sealed by those Duff Girls. Hillary and Hailey? Oh no you di'in't. Then something even weirder happened when the next song started up. I heard the intro and just looked at my brother quizzically. "They're not playing what I think they are, are they?" He cocked his head to listen to what song it was just as the lyrics started: "One, two, three and to the four, Snoop Doggy Dogg and Dr. Dre is at the door...." My brother just asked, "What is this?" I shouted, "Nothing But a G Thang! Snoop and Dre! But why are they playing this? This isn't lite rock! Carly Simon doesn't do guest vocals on this! What's going on???" As I sat there and sang along, I became concerned about what might possibly come on next. I don't think I could have been prepared for what did. As I waited with giddy, yet yielded, anticipation, my face soon turned to horror as I heard smooth harmonies chime in, "Step by step, ooh baby, gonna get to you giiiirrrl...." My brother just turned to me and sputtered, "Is this the New Kids???!" I tried to force myself out of my state of shock. Finally, I was able to whimper, "Yes." Then I snapped out of it and yelled, "What is going ON? Why are they playing this? Who plays this? And WHY do I still know all of the words??? 'Step one: we can have lots of fun. Step two: there's so much we can do. Step three: it's just you and meeeee. Step four: I can give you more...." Thankfully, it was at that moment that the hour of commercials before the movie started up. But still - who plays Snoop, Dre, AND The New Kids in a movie theater? What about the CHILDREN????? Whither the children? Poor things - stuck with that Duff shit. Ech.


Non-Diaryland Link of the Day: hashai.com
I wanna got to Chao camp!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown