Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-07-25 || No Emo For Me!

And people wonder why I'm single.

Good thing I know why. Last night was a fine demonstration of the art of the RoboPam, wherein I actually find a guy that I would want to go out with and then proceed to freak out, clam up, and make a total ass of myself in front of him. I can go up and talk to almost any guy in the world, but those select few that I'd like to get to know better? Not so much.

Here's a quick backstory: a few weeks ago I went to a bar down by the beach and chatted briefly with a guy while we were both at the jukebox. I wasn't instantly attracted to him (although I did look for a ring), but I realized as I was heading back to my table after talking to him that there was definitely something about him and my interest was piqued. He was with 2 women, so I didn't do anything about it that night and ended up kicking myself for days after I got up to leave and he waved and gave me a sad "Aww, you're leaving?" look. DAMMIT! Fast forward to me telling the story to my friend Mike a few days later, who asks what the guy looked like. Mike lives and works down by the beach, so he knows a lot of the locals. After I described this guy, Mike said, "I know him! His name is Steve. He comes in and talks to me all the time. He's recently divorced, has a son, and is currently banging everything in sight." Great. Just great. Nevertheless, I was still intrigued and decided to head down to the beach again last night on the off chance that 'Steve' might be out again.

I think the events of the night are best told in various people's summations. Here's mine: Fiasco. Complete and total fiasco.

And now, from the peanut gallery:

LIZ: (upon leaving the bar) What just happened in there was like we were in eighth grade. We're in junior high again. Do you think people saw us when you were waving frantically and pushing me back into the bathroom when you were waiting for him to come out of the other one to talk to him? I've changed my mind. We're in seventh grade.

***************************************

Lucy's summary of things is slightly skewed because the guy is 39 and has graying hair and she's used to me liking 24 year olds -

PAM: There he is.

LUCY: (scrunching up face) HIM??! THAT'S HIM???

PAM: Yeah! What?

LUCY: He's OLD!

PAM: He's only 39, that's not bad.

LUCY: He looks a lot older than that.

PAM: No he doesn't - it's the graying hair. Hey, some of my hair is gray.

LUCY: Yes, but you have the good sense to dye it.

PAM: Should I give him my number?

LUCY: Pam, you would make his life. He would go back to the retirement home tonight all, "Hey Myrtle! You'll never guess what happened to me tonight!!

PAM: No!

LUCY: Oh, just do it.

***************************************

And here is Jerry's very fitting summation after I relayed all of the events of last night to him today:

JERRY: Okay, #1. You told him he looks like Emo Philips. (like he does now!)

STEERRRRIIIIKE ONE!

#2. Then you tell him that you can make yourself look like Emo Philips. (like he used to!)

STERRRRIIIIKKE TWO!

#3. Then when you find out that his name isn't Steve and that you had faulty information, instead of covering it up, you said, "Oh, I thought you were someone else. Okay, sorry, bye!"

I'm sorry, but YOU'RE OOOOUUUUUTTTT!!

Yes, I am SMMMOOOOOOTH. [sigh]

_______________________________________

Side note to Jeff who didn't think my hair looked long enough to put in pigtails. I stand by my motto - it's very true - EVERYTHING is more fun in pigtails! Even making an ass out of yourself!


Non-Diaryland Link of the Day: Fresh Hell

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown