Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-05-17 || Rescue Me From Hi, Lois, & Lite Rock

I started in my new office yesterday, and I�m happy to report that it�s a lot nicer than I thought it would be (and heard stories about). The outside of the building is quite scary, but it�s redone inside, so all is well. The only thing that kind of sucks right now is the fact that I don�t have a computer in my cubicle yet, so I have to sit at someone else�s desk until I get one. Hopefully it will be today, because I like to be in my own space, with everything set up where I want it. I will also get to look at my own pictures instead of a stranger�s child and husband. The other benefit to moving into my own cubicle is the placement. Right now I�m at the complete opposite end of the building from the most important things � the kitchen, vending machines, and bathroom. When I move, I�ll be much closer to the Dipsy Doodles. But the REAL reason I want to move to my desk YESTERDAY are two co-workers who sit near the desk I�m �borrowing� right now. One of them is just a little much to listen to all day. Five minutes ago she just had this exchange with another co-worker who walked by:

DESKMATE: When you get a chance, read Hi and Lois.

CONFUSED CO-WORKER JUST TRYING TO GET SOME WATER IN PEACE: Hi and Lois?

DESKMATE: Yeah, it�s funny today.

CCJTTGSWIP: Oh. I don�t usually fol-whfydbsdfj (mumbles and flees)

Now I feel tempted to look up today�s Hi and Lois to see if it�s funny, but I just can�t, because I already know the answer and it rhymes with �snow.� Hi and Lois Woman is not the worst of my troubles, though. That honor goes to a man a few cubicles down who has his radio playing at an obscenely loud volume. Now, I�m all for music in the workplace � I have my own radio/CD player at my desk, but I also keep mine at a respectable volume. It�s juuust loud enough so that I can hear it, which I think is the polite way to go. But not this guy. Oh, no. He�s got the local Lite Rock station blaring and it is starting to make me a little crazy. I�ll be trying to enter some figures into my calculator, but my concentration suddenly gets broken and the inside of my head becomes hijacked by Celine Dion. I�m all, �2025.38 divided by 13.5, minus [Near, far, whereeeeeeeever you are] DAMMIT!� �Okay, I�ve got to transfer this case to Prov...[Ricki, don�t lose that number....] AAAGGGHH!�

Yesterday wasn�t as bad as it is today, because now the co-worker has added whistling and desk-tapping to the mix. There�s nothing more fun than working near that, is there? He�s tapping furiously right now to...no, it can�t be�Oh God, it is...I called out to the captain, �Please, bring me my wife....� Oh man, he is doing a full whistle/tap solo to the Hotel California. Send help! Help! Help!!!

Is my desk ready yet?

Oh God, and now I�m thinking about my brother and his first �real� job � they didn�t have a desk for him for about 5 weeks. He spent half of his time working out of the kitchen. I actually wouldn�t mind that right about now. The kitchen is highly preferable to Every little thing that you do, baby I�m amazed by you.....

Help!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown