Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-08-15 || Heavens To Boomerang!

Heavens to Hilarity, I am LOVING Boomerang this weekend.

Years ago when the Cartoon Network first premiered, I used to tune in many days at noon to watch the joy and genius that was Laff-a-Lympics. A few months later, the Cartoon Network started getting into original programming and my precious Laff-a-Lympics were no more. Every so often I'd check and see if the channel had realized its insanity and put the show back on, but it was not to be. Then a few years later, Boomerang came to be. This was all fine and dandy until I realized that my cable provider (and the only one in the state) only offered Boomerang in Spanish. I'd be scrolling through the program guide on screen and see the Laff-a-Lympics listed and get excited for a brief moment until I realized 2 things: 1)I didn't have that channel and 2)It's en Espanol.

Fast-forward to December of 2003, when my cable company finally acquires a new block of programming from Viacom and delivers my sweet Boomerang (and Noggin) to my door. The first day I had the channel, I flipped on the TV with gleeful anticipation, only to scroll through the guide for Boomerang to find that they were no longer showing Laff-a-Lympics regularly. As you can imagine, I was NOT pleased and profanities and fist shaking ensued. (ditto on Noggin with not showing The Electric Company now that I FINALLY had the channel.) Every few days I'd check the guide, but it never changed. There was no Laff-a-Lympics for me. Mudville had nothing on Pamville.

Until today.

I never thought I'd say these words, but God Bless the Olympics, or as I like to call them: "Who cares?" Those blessed sporting events have brought forth one of the greatest things I have ever seen on a TV guide: a listing showing nothing but Laff-a-Lympics as far as the eye could see. I gasped when I saw it, and then I heard an angelic sound as a beam of light shone down upon my TV set. Hallelujah! Hallelujah!

I know what I'll be doing until 7 AM tomorrow now. Screw writing the play! I've already watched 4 episodes, and I'll be TiVoing some to save for later as I'm sure it will be another two years before Boomerang shows another episode. Until then, I'll be enjoying the beauty of the games and my favorite sports announcer ever - Snagglepuss. (Sorry Marv Alpert.) "Suffering Scaredy-Fraidies!" LOVE.

_______________________________________

As if discovering the Laff-a-Lympics marathon wasn't enough sheer bliss for the weekend, I had a party in my mouth on Friday, and not the dirty kind. After having some surgery in September 2000, I've had some dietary restrictions, one of them being nuts. I wasn't a nut freak to begin with, so I don't really miss them much, except for a few things: Cracker Jacks, Snickers, and my 2nd favorite candy bar - the Hershey's with Almonds. (For those playing the home game, the #1 food I miss most is raw carrots. If you eat baby carrots in front of me, I may weep.) Anyway, I was craving chocolate at work the other day and my candy drawer was empty, so I headed out to the vending machine. There sat a Hershey's with almonds, taunting me. Since my dietary restrictions are based on digestion issues, I started debating ways around this in my head. My willpower was low and my desire was sky-high, so I gave in and bought the candy bar, vowing that I would chew up the nuts into teeny tiny pieces as to avoid any problems. I think that was the best decision I have made in the last 2 years. When I popped that first piece in my mouth and started chewing, it was pure nirvana. Having not had such a wonderful and delicious thing in 4 years leads to a serious mouth orgasm. My co-workers were probably wondering what in the hell was going on at my desk, but I didn't care. The pleasure was too much. And you know what? I just might do it again tomorrow. I'm already salivating.

God, a Hershey bar with almonds AND a Laff-a-Lympics marathon in one weekend after going years without either one? I think I need to sit down. Bless you, Boomerang and Mr. Hershey. Next time I see you both, you will get Boobs-in-the-Face. Thank you.

_______________________________________

And now, as a tribute to The Daily Show, here is your Moment of Zen:

Heh.


Non-Diaryland Link of the Day: TV Tome's Laff-a-Lympics Page
Heavens to Murgatroid!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown