Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-12-02 || I'll Have A Large Popcorn & A Small Package Of Awkward

I just remembered that I keep forgetting to write about my experience at a movie theater/caf� a few weeks ago. My brother and I go to the movies almost every weekend, so a few weeks ago when looking for one in the area that was showing Proof, we discovered that is was being shown in Providence over near Brown University. (My brother, after the movie: "You know, Jake Gyllenhaal was a little too buff for me to believe he was that big of a math nerd.") It was at this theater that I�ve always wanted to go to, but never got around to. The reason I've always wanted to go? This is �The theater with the couches!� Sweet. Anyway, the theater is inside this small little caf�, so we went and had sandwiches before the show, and spent most of the time trying to figure out how/where to pay. It wasn�t set up very well in terms of the information there. When we finally made our way into the theater, we found that it was on the small side, about the size of my garage, which was all fine and dandy, except for the sound coming from the theater. I turned to my brother, �Is that�a guitar?� My brother started laughing and said that he forgot that the website mentioned �in-theater entertainment before the show.� �Oh,� I said as we rounded the corner and headed into the theater, only to find a man perched on a stool in front of the screen, strumming away and singing his heart out. Now, when I think of pre-show movie theater entertainment, I�m thinking I want some Rockettes up in the hizzy. Alas, we were not so lucky. The thing about this whole situation is that you�re sitting in a row of 3 loveseats that are lined up together, and there are only a few rows of them, because did I mention the size of the theater? And Guitar Guy is RIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU. It�s all a bit�uncomfortable. I felt almost rude talking to my brother and not paying attention, but it was just so awkward. Especially because other people weren�t really looking at him either and the applause wasn�t exactly filling the room. He even gave small anecdotes and introductions to the songs, while the patrons looked around nervously. The lights are all on, and there is a large man sitting 3 feet away from you, playing his guitar and singing a Tim McGraw song. What do you do?

In our case, we spent the time trying not to laugh. Because, you see, this particular man is someone that I knew. I knew he wouldn�t remember me, but back a few years ago I participated in my first community theater show, which was a cabaret-type of thing. This guy and his beloved guitar were in the show as well. And during said show, my brother had one of those moments where inappropriate laughter takes over you and makes you laugh even more. Specifically, this occurred during the 4th time this guy got up to sing (he was hogging the show) and he started strumming The Wind Beneath My Wings. I don�t know who started it, but my brother and my mom�s best friend took one look at each other and then just lost it. This caused my brother to drop his program on the floor, so they both bent down to get it so they could laugh without making too big of a scene. My neighbor had tears streaming down her face at that point. The worst part of that cabaret was being forced to all go out and gather 'round the guitar at the end to sing that damn God Bless the USA. Oh, how I loathe that song. I was lip-synching the whole time in protest. So anyway, that is the backstory on this guy and then there he was right there in front of us in a movie theater, making the audience a wee bit uncomfortable to the point where no one was looking at him. Then, THEN - he passes around a hat. Actually, he passes around two - one that he just took off of his possibly cootie-filled head. "Give if you feel so inclined." You know what? I didn't feel inclined. I felt like having a nice evening at the movies at a nice new place where I sank right into the couches and NO ONE, I am telling you, NOT ONE person said a peep during the movie, and I got to see Jakey and it was all pure bliss except for that part with the guy playing a guitar right in my face and then passing around dirty hats for money. Thanks. Next time I'll remember to show up right before the movie so I miss out on the "entertainment" beforehand. Un! Comfortable!

**************************

What's up with this Arch Card promotion at McDonald's? Has anyone seen these ridiculous commercials? Your life will become a luxurious party-filled existence because of one stinking $1 arch card? Please. Less Arch Card nonsense and more Fry Guys in the commercials. Does McDonald's not realize that they're not using their best marketing tools with the demise of the Fry Guys, Birdie, Grimace and those McNuggets puppets? Ronald isn't even in the commercials that much anymore. And poor Hamburglar is probably offering sexual favors and selling his body for coke and burgers somewhere. Poor Hamburglar - all the guy wanted was a burger. Those McDonald's bastards crushed his dreams!! Bastards.

Man, I believe that whole rant just signaled the fact that it is bedtime for me. Someone watch over the Hamburglar while I sleep....


Quote of the Day: Courtesy of Lucy, "Why do only boobs and dumb-dumbs like me?" Ah, one of life's greatest mysteries.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown