Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-12-07 || In Defense Of Christopher Robin

Oh, hell no.

Have you guys heard about this? Disney is shaking up Winnie The Pooh�s world for a new computer-generated show that will be debuting in 2007. The big change? Christopher Robin is being replaced by a 6 year-old tomboyish girl. Like I said before: oh, hell no. Replacing Christopher Robin??? That�s almost blasphemous. Maybe the collection of stuffed animals I had as a child (and still have some of now) is making me a bit biased, but I�m sorry, Winnie the Pooh is Christopher Robin�s toy. That is his bear, just like my torn-up, corpse-looking well-loved Winnie the Pooh doll is MY bear. Do the folks at Disney have no sense of history or the actual source? Ooh, and don�t even get me started if that girl deigns to call Pooh a �silly old bear.� Oh no she won�t! I was so enraged reading that in the paper today. Dude, Christopher Robin rules. He�s a nice boy with his nice little girl shoes who loves his stuffed little friends and who makes me cry every time I watch the end of the original Winnie the Pooh and Christmas, Too TV special because all he really wants for Christmas is to have his beloved toy back. How can there be Winnie the Pooh without his owner? And I saw the picture of that girl. Granted, I�d hate anyone (unless it was a cartoon version of me), but really � come on now. I know Christopher Robin, and she? Is no Christopher Robin. Disney and your �Christopher Robin is still out there in the woods, playing,� bullshit? No he isn�t, because he wouldn�t be playing without his damn toys! Idiots. You�re making me get all worked up over fictional characters, but damn it, it must be done. That shit is not right. Christopher Robin playing in the woods he helped create without his toys. Ugh. Consider yourself boycotted, jackasses.

****************************

Wow, that did get me all worked up. Sorry, but my love for The Christopher Robin runs deep and strong. In other, completely unrelated news, I FINALLY get it about Billy Bob Thornton. After seeing the Bad News Bears remake over the summer and The Ice Harvest last weekend, I now understand the sex appeal. I�ve always liked him as an actor, but now I finally get what all the fuss is about with women thinking he�s about 7 different kinds of fine. I can�t explain it, but there�s something there. I�m thinking the whole bad boy thing has a lot to do with it. And every time I think about the whole �women love bad boys� thing, I can�t help but think of that Cheers episode where Lilith brings Sam and Frasier to a talk show to demonstrate her points in her book about the bad boy phenomenon and she ends up comparing Frasier to a comfortable old shoe. And now I�m being reminded of the Cheers trivia game that we used to have, and that my brother always played as Lilith. Awesome.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown