Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-08-07 || Nun Clowns, djbs, Drunks, & The Greatest Video Debate

My God, the last few days have been busy, but so much fun. If I got into everything, this would be 8 pages long, so I�ll just offer up some of the highlights. Shall we?

Thursday:

Drum roll, please.... Ladies and Gentlemen, FINALLY after almost 3 years of being online/phone pals, I met my buddy Eric, aka The MotherF�ing Nun Clown.

That has been a looong time coming, my friends. The weird part about it was how normal it was, like we see each other every day. It was kind of like we�ve hung out a million times before and this was just another instance. Yet we were in New York City. And he hadn�t slept in 24 hours. But it was so nice to finally, finally meet up. I�m hoping we can do it again soon.

The whole reason we were finally able to get together comes from Eric being in town with his boyfriend to attend a wedding. The boys had a little bit of time in the city before heading to Long Island that night, so I went up for the day and we had lunch together. Did I mention how excited I was to FINALLY meet his boyfriend after years as well? For he is my all-time favorite recapper and the man responsible for bringing Karaoke Revolution into my life, the one and only djb. (Or Dan, as I�ve grown accustomed to calling him from talking to Eric. Still, he�ll always be djb to me.)

(Sorry, Dan � I posted it. You look cute!)

Anyway, so I met up with the boys and Dan�s lovely friend Miranda and her husband in Brooklyn and we headed to lunch. (I rode On the 6 to get there, just like J. Lo! But don�t be fooled by the rocks that I�ve got, people.) Halfway through our lunch, we realized that we were eating in the diner where the final scene in The Devil Wears Prada was shot, so that was a nice bonus to the day. After that, we took a stroll and headed down to Union Square to try to find coffee for the boys. However, due to the heat, every Starbucks was closed due to power outages. So, with Eric ready to fall asleep at any minute, we said our goodbyes and I headed off to find my mom and her friend and hit Times Square to do some shopping. (Right after I left the boys I had my random celebrity sighting of Ric Ocasek.) We hit the important stores: The MTV Store, The Hershey Store, and Toys R' Us, where I was able to get up-close and personal with the former holder of Brandon Routh's crotch:



We then passed by the TRL studios, where I hopped into the throng of screaming teens and gave a wave to the camera above before heading out after having a fun and full day in the city.

Thanks to djb and Eric for squeezing in some time to hang out (and for staying awake, Eric), I had a blast! Let�s do it again soon � and Dan, I�m holding you to that Islands in the Stream duet.


Since I had Friday off, I headed up to Massachusetts after getting home on Thursday to go to karaoke with Harry, where a good time was had by all. I�ve never seen such an expansive song list. And - I got to meet the legendary Round Mound of Sound (as seen on Curtain Call). Awesome. I even had the bartender ask me to sing a song. She came up to me and said, �Can you do any Benatar?� Can I do any Benatar??!! Does Dave Matthews make me want to maim babies? Hell to the yes, lady. She requested Heartbreaker, so I did that one. We�re going again this week where I think I will break out the Bjork (It�s Oh So Quiet), even though I know none of the patrons will know who the hell that is. I can�t wait to see the looks on their faces when I hit the, �Wow! Bam!� part. I�ll try to get video.

Friday:

Harry came over during the day for our early going-away party for him. He leaves on Saturday, so that was pretty much the only time we�d be together without other people around. We drank mimosas, fought video game ninjas, and just laughed and laughed. Thankfully, no one broke out into Summer Nights. I will miss that boy, though.

Friday night I went to Frito�s for a Riding The Bus With My Sister party. He just picked up the DVD and I was the only one in the group who hadn�t seen it. Oh lord, is it bad � but so good. Rosie O�Donnell is ridiculously horrible in it. We followed it up with a viewing of my second favorite episode of Strangers With Candy, �Who Wants Cake?� Friday seems to be my laughing day as I spent most of it doing that, especially when Frito came running out of the bathroom with his shorts around his ankles right after the pizza arrived, causing me to fall to the floor in a fit of giggles, almost dropping the pizzas on my way down. All in all, a fantastic day, and all I have to say are these two things: �This is going to by my MySpace picture� and �Do you want some deviled eggs, Jesse?�

Saturday:

This weekend was the annual radio station contest that I participated in the last 2 years where they hide 95 bottles in the sand at the beach that correspond to 95 prizes. 95 people win shovels and you dig in the hot summer sun for 30 minutes. You can win as many prizes as you can find, which means some people do all that digging and end up with nothing. This year I hadn�t won a shovel going in, so I had to try to win one the day of the dig. How did I get one? A donut-eating contest, eating donuts that were tied to a pole. You couldn�t use your hands, and if you took a bite and it fell into the sand, you could either choose to forfeit or eat it out of the sand. One girl actually ate almost the whole thing out of the sand. I think I was the only person to keep it from falling to the ground (skills!) but ended up coming in 3rd. I still got a shovel out of the deal, so it was all good. My brother came with me and he got a shovel after participating in a ridiculously hard contest where they had to try to untie a knotted t-shirt that was frozen solid. It took the winner 25 minutes to untie it. Anyway, so we got out shovels, we dug, and I am happy to report that I broke the streak this year. The last 2 years I walked out of there with a mountain bike that I didn�t want either time. No bike for me this year! I ended up finding 2 bottles in the sand, so I ended up with 2 prizes, a $100 gift card to Blockbuster Video and a party for 10 people at a local indoor rock climbing gym that was worth $500. I can�t wait to gather up a crew for that. Sadly, my brother was one of the many who came up empty-handed after digging for a half an hour, but he had fun anyway. Next year I want the $1000 cash prize.

Sunday:

Sunday night Lucy and I headed up to see Harry�s band play in an outdoor gazebo and ended up having one of the greatest people-watching nights in a long time. I told Lucy that I was looking at a group of young girls (10-11ish) to try to figure out which one I would have been at that age. She said she was trying to figure out which one would get pregnant first. That just started us on a path that went nowhere good.

�That one right there won�t get laid until her mid-to-late 20�s.�
�Yeah, but she�s going to get out of this town. Let�s go tell her that. You�re getting out!�
�I just like that she�s wearing Vans. Maybe that would have been me.�
�She�s getting out!�
�You see that one in the pink? She�s going to get pregnant first because she looks all innocent but then you can tell she wants to be cool.�
�She wants to be like that one in the gray hoodie and short shorts, who, by the way, will be the first to give a blow job.�
�Oh, totally.�
�We�re horrible.�
�Yes, we are�but look at that one. She�s going to be the filthiest one because she�s trying to be hot and sexy, but she�s not cute enough so she�s going to overcompensate with sexual favors.�
�Oh, without a doubt. See those two boys? Which one will be in jail first? I say the one on the right for stealing a car.�
�Yeah. Oh, wait � we�ve got a late entry with this one flying up here with no shirt on, swinging a stick around. What is he, 8? He�s headed for juvey.�

All horrible, but all true.

It was shortly after our amateur psychic readings that a drunk man stumbled up to the bench we were sitting on and plopped himself down next to me. The smell of booze was emanating from every single one of his pores. He spent the next few minutes alternating between complaining about the band and saying how he could have done better to then cheering them on and asking for more. After a few minutes, he turned to me and bluntly stated, �I�d like to ask you to dance.� Now first of all, we were in an outdoor park and the only person dancing was an awesome older woman who was getting her groove on right in front of the gazebo. Other than that, there were just people scattered in various lawn chairs and on benches. Second of all, see above re: drunk. Thirdly � wait, do I even need a third? In any event, I politely declined, but he asked again. Panicked, I lied and pointed and said that Harry was my boyfriend. Not to be deterred, The Drunk said, �So?� I answered that he probably wouldn�t like it if he looked down and saw me dancing with a guy. A few minutes later, The Drunk started mumbling again and this time he used the age-old phrase �cutting a rug.� He was looking at me, saying, �This would be a good song to cut a rug to. Whaddya say?� When I didn�t look over for fear of mostly laughing in his face, he announced, �You probably don�t even know what that means!� and then folded his hands across his chest in a huff and actually POUTED for two minutes. He just sat there, pouting because I wouldn�t cut a rug with him. Lucy, (who, by the way, I couldn�t look at this whole time because we would have both lost it) tried to re-enact the pout as best she could:

During the next song, The Drunk complained that the band was playing it too slow, but then told me that it would be a good song to waltz to. Then he asked, �Do you know how to waltz?� I said no, to which he responded, �Do you want to learn?� I just said, �No thank you, I don�t like to dance,� all while making a point not to look at him. FINALLY, he took the hint (after one more remark about cutting a rug) and hopped on his bike and rode away.

I just turned to Lucy and said, �You see? Once again, this is why my brother calls me a Weirdo/Loser Magnet.� [sigh]


Comment Debate of the Day: The debate from my last entry (What is the most perfect/greatest rap song ever?) was so much fun that I�m going to do another one. (If you didn�t get in on the first one, get on over there and put in your two cents.) Today�s topic is The Greatest Music Video of All Time, excluding Thriller. This time, I�m going with a Top 2. My personal #1, which I have been searching for online FOREVER has finally surfaced. All I have to say is, God bless YouTube. My pick? Public Enemy�s 911 is a Joke. If you�ve never seen it, you can watch it here. Even if you have seen it, watch it again just to see Flavor Flav eating lettuce and the guy with the broken neck. Love it.

My second pick is a video that only my brother, my mom and I remember. But seriously, when MTV started, this video was on all the time. If you remember it, let me know, because I may have to hump your leg. It�s Landcape�s Norman Bates, and you can watch it here.

Honorable mentions to Fatboy Slim�s Weapon of Choice, Golden Earring�s Twilight Zone, Huey Lewis and The News, If This Is It, George Michael�s Freedom �90 and 2 Live Crew�s Pop That Coochie. Okay, maybe not that last one. Got your favorites? Hit up the comments!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown