Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-12-10 || Semi-Lucid Seinfeld

Quick update: I am home, and doing well. Thank you to all of the well-wishers out there! The surgery went well, but I ended up having to stay overnight and most of the next day, so I'm still a little beat and sore today. But I figured I'd check in and say hello and let you know things are okay. Oh, and leave you with a quick story from my experience.

It's nice to know that I can still rely on my pop culture knowledge in moments of half-consciousness. When I went in to get changed before my surgery, they handed me a johnny unlike any that I have experienced before. Apparently, they now make johnnies for people with heart monitors, so the front has a little pocket on one side that the monitor sits in with a slit for it to hook up to your chest. Then there is velcro to close up the little pocket. Well, mine had no velcro. Just a slit that was positioned so that my nipple kept popping out and saying hello. It was ridiculous. I had to keep pulling up the top of the johnny to keep the slit higher than nippypants. Hey, what can I say? They're perky and like to make friends. Stupid johnny. Ooh, and now this reminds me of the song I started making up in my head while I was in the pre-op holding room. It's to the tune of Poe's Angry Johnny:

Johnny, stupid Johnny
This is (this is)
The hospital of hell

If you want to see my boob
You've come to the right place
Just come and take a closer look
It's right in front of your face

It's saying hey, it's saying hey
I want to burn you,
I want to throw you...away
Johnny, stupid johnny

You get the point. ANYway, so I woke up in the recovery room in what was probably a less-than semi-lucid state and looked down to find myself in a much nicer johnny with no side "pocket." When the nurse came to check on me and ask how I was doing, I immediately launched into a story about how happy I was because I didn't have the same johnny on and what was that pocket for anyway, breastfeeding? and now my nipple wasn't showing like Elaine's Christmas card so no one would call me "Nip." I believe I ended my spiel with, "Here's your Christmas card! hehehehee!" Then I promptly fell back to sleep. When I woke up again a little while later, I said to the nurse, "Did I make a Seinfeld joke when I woke up earlier?" She said that I did and then I just started laughing again and saying, "Here's your Christmas card."

Semi-lucid ramblings - ain't nothing like 'em.

More soon - now I'm off to restville. Thanks again to everyone who sent well wishes! You guys rock!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown