Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-12-13 || The Codeine, The Card & The Tree

God bless codeine.

I'm still in recovery mode here and in a lot more pain than I thought I would be, so I'll just update a little and then fill the rest of this entry with pictures so I can go back and crash on the couch. I made it in to work half of the day today and left when my codeine started to wear off. Have I mentioned how much I love the person who came up with codeine? Because I do. Very much. I'm only taking a small dosage of it so I won't get the drowsiness, but it's helping. I also finally lifted the gauze and checked out the surgery site on my body. I just reread that and it sounds like I'm Frankenstein's monster or something. But seriously, I should have left the gauze alone. Remember that thing that was on Mikhail Gorbachev's head? Well, I have a bruise on me that looks kinda like that, only about four times the size. Yeah. You know what that is? HOT. My mom saw it and offered up the encouraging, "OW! That will probably take about 2 or 3 months to clear up." Great. Thankfully it's not bathing suit season so I can keep it hidden, but still. HOT. Also? I *heart* codeine.

It's sad that my scary-ass bruise seems to be the highlight of the last few days. Well, that and The Card [tm]. You see, back in college I briefly dated a guy who was a graphic design major. This was about eight or nine years ago. A few years back, he sent me a Christmas card he made that had a picture of him standing in a surfing pose on the back of a motorcycle, wearing a Santa hat and Santa boxers. I think he was also hauling a case of beer on the bike. It was a little out of nowhere as we only talked about twice a year, but it was funny and I had a good laugh over showing it to my friends. Well, it's been a few years now and every year I get a card and every year he's wearing less and less clothes in the picture. I would LOVE to know how many people he sends these to. My father hounds me every December asking almost daily, "Did you get Ed's card yet?" Well, he was thrilled when I received an envelope with a WARNING on it the other day. This year, The Card did not disappoint:

That's certainly more than I ever saw of him when we dated. I have to say, though, The Card always puts a smile on my face. You just have to laugh at his insanity.

And to clear that image from your head, I'll share some pictures of my Christmas trees. In addition to the main tree in the living room, I also put up a tree in my bedroom and a mini-tree in the spare room. I used to collect the Hallmark Winnie-the-Pooh ornaments, so those all go on the mini-tree now:

I set the tree up for my beloved Old Pooh Bear:

Yes, that used to be an actual Winnie-the-Pooh. What? He's been loved!! Isn't he AWESOME??!!

Fine, to clear yet another picture from your mind, here are some pictures of my tree in my room. It's only 4 1/2 feet tall, but it takes me about 4 hours to put up because I am so neurotic about everything being just so. I'm quite happy with my new Jack Skellington ornament this year:

And now, finally it's beginning to feel like Christmas around here. I'm off to the couch, but if you happen to see Santa, tell him to leave me some codeine in my stocking!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown