Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-02-23 || I Honestly Love You

I have a secret.

I love Olivia Newton-John. I know my love for her may be made fun of by many and thought taboo by others, but I don�t care � ONJ rocks my world. Any girl who grew up wanting to be a roller-skating muse like I did probably shares my love, even if most choose to hide it. But I sing it out loud and proud. I don�t care if it�s not �hip� or whatever terms you whippersnappers use these days � I�m going to love her anyway. Those who aren�t in my age range may never understand, as they haven�t spent their younger days wanting to float a letter sadly in a puddle and thinking that the most romantic thing a guy could do for me was to take me roller skating in an empty soundstage full of floating umbrellas and fountains. But for me, ONJ has always been there, making me want to turn into a semi-whore in tight black pants to get a guy that I want. (Actually, I always preferred Xanadu Olivia.)

In any case, I was reminded that not everyone shares my love while shopping the other day. The music in the store changed songs and started up the familiar strains of awesomeness that I hadn�t heard in a long time. I started rocking out to myself a little and then looked up to see my mother looking at me, horrified. I didn�t even notice that I was lip-synching along with the song until I saw the look on my mother�s face.

MOM: What are you singing? How do you know all of the words? What is this?

PAM: (stunned silence)

MOM: It sounds like Olivia Newton-John. It also sounds old. How do you know this?

PAM: Mom! It�s A Little More Love, don�t you remember this??

MOM: (feigning interest) Vaguely.

PAM: It�s OLIVIA!!!

MOM: Meh.

PAM: �It gets me nowhere�� C�mon Mom, this song RULES!!

MOM: Is this from that Xanadu?

PAM: NO! Don�t you know your Olivia?!!!?!!!

OTHER SHOPPERS: (???)


It was no use. Mom didn�t know. The shoppers didn�t understand. Only I remember how I wore out my Best of Olivia Newton-John cassette tape back in the day. Magic, Xanadu, Make a Move On Me, Hopelessly Devoted To You, Suddenly, A Little More Love, You�re The One That I Want AND Physical ALL on one album? If that�s not pure beauty, I don�t know what is. Put aside some of the meh early material and pay no attention to the later years � it�s the late 70�s and early 80�s Olivia that it�s all about. Listen to the Xanadu Soundtrack!!!! LISTEN TO IT!!!

Sorry, I get a little wild about the ONJ sometimes. You don�t have to listen to it. I know most people don�t understand. It�s okay. But for that small percentage of you that do (Heather, I�m looking at you), do it just once for me � open your arms out wide and sing it out loud, �AAAAAHHHHHH�.Have to believe we are magic�.�

Now where are my roller skates?



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown