Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-12-29 || P-P-P-Puttin' On The Hitsssssaaahh!

Hitsssssaaaaahhh!!!!

After exchanging comments today with purplecigar regarding Sheena Easton and Solid Gold, I started to think about how sad it was that I watched Solid Gold every week when I was younger. Then I started thinking that it wasn�t all that sad considering the fact that I used to watch Puttin� on the Hits all the time. Ah, good ol� Puttin� on the Hits. I hope everyone remembers this show and more importantly, Allen Fawcett. (For you kiddies out there who grew up with MTV�s Say What Karaoke, that show is the bastard stepchild to Puttin� on the Hits.) I did a lookyloo online today and ran across a beautiful thing: Allen Fawcett�s website, complete with clips from the show on it. Oh, the joy and the terror! Watch his host demo reel � relive the horror. It also answered the question that was nagging me all afternoon � what was the third category besides originality and lip-synching? Ah, it was appearance. "For originality...a 10! [YAAAHHH!] For appearance...a 10!! [YAAAAHH!!! WOO!] And, for lip-synching...a 9! [YAAAAHHHH!!!]" Ah, the memories.

And really, I don�t know why the show didn�t last too long with such amazing celebrity judges as�Wil Shriner. Oh my God, Wil Shriner. I haven�t thought of him in years! It seems like the show just took whatever D-List celebrity wasn�t appearing on The 25,000 Pyramid that week and put them to work. �Welcome special celebrity judge Shelley Taylor Morgan!� Who? Exactly. Oh, she had a recurring guest role on Hunter? My bad, then. If she�s not Fred Dryer or Stepfanie Kramer, I don�t care. Actually, even if she is Fred Dryer or Stepfanie Kramer, I still don�t care. But watch the show I did. There must have been absolutely nothing for me to do with my time or nothing else to watch on TV. That�s the only explanation I can come up with for me watching this show not once, but ALL the time. And I remember loving it! 12 year-old Pam, she is so The Sad. And I KNOW I can�t be alone in doing this: we even made a bunch of home videos of us doing our own Puttin� on the Hits show. Everyone did that, right? Right...? Oh, The Sad, you've gotten me again! I remember my brother playing Allen �The Bathroom� Fawcett in one of them. Oh, we were so clever! And in that one, I lip-synched to The Tide Is High, Tomorrow, and Metallica�s Disposable Heroes, among other things. Wow, even then my musical tastes ran the gamut. In that particular incarnation of the show, some of our stuffed animals represented the judges. And now I�m remembering them watching Solid Gold while we were taping and OH GOD I THINK I�VE JUST STEPPED THROUGH THE LOOKING GLASS. Send help for me! Oh, and Marilyn McCoo says hi. I also remember another Puttin� on the Hits video that started with a close-up of Lucy�s lips, surrounded by black fabric. She was doing the patented �Hitssssaaaaahhhh!� thing. Oh no, and another one where my friend and I were rolling around on chairs in my basement, lip-synching to that Samantha Fox classic, Touch Me. Man, I really need to burn those videos.

So why was I so fascinated by this show again? I�ll tell you what, it was no Make Me Laugh. Oh, how I miss that show! Get on the horn to Game Show Network � tell them instead of this Greed nonsense I want to see some Make Me Laugh! Toot sweet! If anyone doesn�t remember this show � and may I say you are missing out if you don�t � it�s pretty much what it says it was. Comedians would try to make audience members and celebrities laugh. I think contestants won things if they didn�t laugh, although I�m not sure. And I don�t remember what the celebrities had to do with it, but I DO remember the episode where people were trying to make Tiny Tim laugh. (Ah, I just found the concept here.) Anyway, Tiny Tim was like a statue � nothing was breaking this guy. He just looked pissed off. There was not a smirk, not a smile, not a titter until Howie Mandel finally came out. He tried his best and was down to the last 10 seconds when he pulled out the ol� Blow Up A Latex Glove On My Head Trick. Tiny Tim just burst into a fit of giggles like a little girl. And you know I love Tiny Tim, God rest his soul, but seriously � over the Glove Head? Really? Eh, some things I guess I will never understand. Like why I loved Puttin� on the Hits so much.

And why I secretly hope they�ll re-run it. HITTTSSSSSSSSSAAAAAHHHHHHH!!!!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown