Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-03-16 || Mommy, What Are LPs? What's A Whore?

Why I�m happy to be going back to my old office on Monday, Reason #84: For the last week or so, the main bathroom at work has smelled like a nasty ocean or something. When I mentioned this to my boss, she said, �Oh, that happens once or twice a year. The sewage kind of backs up and makes it all moldy and smelly in here.� NICE. I�ve now taken to walking up the two flights of stairs to the bathroom upstairs because every time I go in the main one, all I can think of is an old Spider-man record that my brother had when we were little. Do you remember these records? It was an LP that came with a fold-out cover that was a comic strip to go along with the record. This particular one had Spider-man going down into the drippy sewers to find The Iguana. I�m telling you, the foley artists on these records were geniuses. I had a Wonder Woman record that took place on a beach and I can still remember the running-on-the-sand sound just like it was yesterday. (They somehow must have drugged Wonder Woman or something and Jimmy got a hold of her truth lasso and was threatening to use it against her. Oh, the drama!)

God, I miss the days of records. I�d be so excited to bring my allowance to the store to buy my favorite song of the moment. I can�t tell you how many times I must have played and re-played Sheila E.�s A Love Bizarre. Oh, and the K-Tel records! [Oh my God, I just discovered the awesome K-Tel website. The only ones I remember having were the Full Tilt and Dimensions albums. (�Playin� with the Queen of Hearts, knowing it ain�t really smart�.� Ah, good times.)] For those youngin�s out there, K-Tel was the granddaddy of the whole Now That�s What I Call� CDs (that you can easily just make yourself these days. Seriously, why are these consistently in the top 10?). I remember being so upset when I got jelly on my Full Tilt album. Luckily, it was on a spot on the record for a song I didn�t listen to. As long as it wasn�t touching Hit Me With Your Best Shot, I was good to go. And The Tide Is High - I thought that was the greatest song ever made when I was younger. Well, that and the Charlene masterpiece, I�ve Never Been To Me. Yes, I know. But for some reason, I remember that being the first 45 that my dad bought for me and I would listen to it over and over, for years and years. I�m not sure why this didn�t concern my parents more now that I�m older and realize that I was singing along to a song about being a whore and having abortions. I actually used to sing the words, �I�ve spent my life exploring the subtle whoring that comes to much to be free,� having no idea what I was singing about. Sweet Jesus. That was QUITE the eye-opening day when I popped that one on the ol� turntable when I was older and playing some of my records for old time�s sake. I was listening to it in horror. I used to even do the spoken part all huskily - 8 years old, going on and on all about, �And that same man you fought with this morning, the one you�re going to make love to tonight � that�s true, that�s love�.� And I said it like I meant it, like I LIVED it. And now that I�m really thinking about it, I remember asking a DJ to play that song at an elementary school father-daughter dance because I liked it so much. You know, the next time my mother turns to me and asks, �Where do you come from?� (as she is so apt to do), I�m think I�m going to have a little bit more of an answer for her. Man, and now that Charlene song is stuck in my head. "Hey lady, you lady, cursing at your life...." Young girls today and their Raffi and their Wiggles and their (GAG) Kidz Bop � pfft! I had Charlene and Blondie and Olivia (Sing it with 9 year-old me, "There's nothing left to talk about, 'less it's horizonatlly..."), and it RULED.

I think I need to go home and fire up the ol� turntable tonight. �I�m not the kind of girl who gives up just like that, oh no�.�


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown