Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-08-29 || Pam & Lucy Do The 2005 VMAs

2005 MTV Video Music Awards, y�all. I�ve got my girl Lucy in the house to be my co-commentator, which is always a good time. Making it even more fun for us this time around is the special guest appearance by my mom, who was watching on and off for the first two hours. None of us are big fans of the Diddy, but Lucy especially hates him, so this should be entertaining. Let�s get right to it, shall we?

Green Day opens the show:

PAM: Man, Billie Joe looks hot.

LUCY: I don�t usually find him attractive, but he looks pretty darn good tonight.

PAM: I want to do bad things to him. I�m loving the bangs.

LUCY: Ooh, pyrotechnics! �Flames�flames�on the side of my face....�

PAM: You know, I think they�re trying to lure us in with this performance. Damn MTV.

Host Diddy makes his entrance:

PAM: What is this �D-I-D-D-Y� nonsense? The American Music Awards did it so much better with the failed Lionel Richie comeback a few years ago. �It�s been a long time, but I�s gots to come HOME! L-I-O-N-E-L!!�

MOM: What does Diddy do? Does he sing?

PAM: No, he talks.

LUCY: He�s a producer mainly.

PAM: And he invented the remix.

LUCY: That�s right!

PAM: Like Al Gore invented the Internet.

MOM: Does he rap on the songs?

LUCY: No, he kind of just speaks.

MOM: Look at this big production he's got going. You have to do these kinds of things when you have no talent.

Beavis and Butt-head make a triumphant return advertising voting for the Viewer�s Choice Award:

PAM & LUCY: Yes!

All night long:

PAM: Who?

The Diddy Fashion Challenge Explanation:

LUCY: [groan]

PAM: Kill me now.

LUCY: He just gave away a $30,000 watch. What is he, like Oprah now? [in Oprah voice] �Hello!!!!� $100,000 to the Best Dressed male and female there tonight to give to charity? He is! He�s Rap Oprah.

PAM: Did he just tell us to Vote or Die? FOR BEST DRESSED? Sweet Jesus. Yes, that�s just as important as the Presidential election. Diddy sucks.

LUCY: Why is he still talking?

Grandmaster Flash shows up to remix some Notorious B.I.G. songs:

LUCY: Diddy is still exploiting Biggie.

MOM: Hey, all of his scattered children need that residual check money.

PAM: Go Mom!

Random Dance Showcase (krumping):

MOM: Why is everyone clapping? Is this good? Look at that girl�s fat stomach! She shouldn�t be wearing that short shirt like that. What is this???

MC Hammer performs:

PAM & LUCY: Woo!

LUCY: This is the best thing ever. Now this I would pay to see.

PAM: Wait, why is he still going? Do they know this is the 2005 VMA�s?

LUCY: That�s word we pray�.

PAM: Oh, if there�s no Pray in this medley, I�m out.

The Simpson sisters present an award:

MOM: [groan]

PAM: What the hell is Jessica wearing? ENOUGH with the shorts. We get it. Daisy Duke is OVER now.

LUCY: She looks like she just got roughed up in a fight before she came out and this is what�s left of her. [beat] I don�t think I like this show anymore.

All night long:

MOM: What is this, BET?

Jessica Alba introduces Shakira:

LUCY: Shaquita? She just called her Shaquita. This really is BET.

Missy Elliot presents an award:

PAM: Throw Diddy off the tour! Man, I miss Road to Stardom.

R. Kelly�s �performance�:

PAM & LUCY: [stunned silence]

LUCY: �He went up to the closeeeeet�.�

PAM: This is the greatest thing I�ve ever seen.

PAM & LUCY: �

LUCY: �He went up to the closet�.�

MOM: (just getting off phone) What is this??

PAM: I�m still processing it.

MOM: Isn�t he embarrassed to be doing this?

LUCY: This is a multi-part song. It�s a whole story.

PAM: He�s trapped in the closet.

MOM: So he�s not embarrassed by this?

The History of the Evolution of Diddy:

REMOTE CONTROL: [click]

The Killers save the show a little with a good performance:

PAM: I enjoy the eye makeup comeback.

LUCY: It�s a good thing.

PAM: Every guy should wear black eyeliner.

Best Rap Video:

PAM: Who?

LUCY: I know all of this from BET.

MOM: What?

LUCY: I only have basic cable, so the only 2 cable channels I get are The Discovery Channel and BET.

PAM: T.I.? Who?

Diddy �conducts� an orchestra to play along with a Notorious B.I.G. song:

PAM: What is this? I thought this was the VIDEO MUSIC Awards.

LUCY: Exploiting Biggie again. He�s not even conducting right. No one swoops when they conduct. I hate the Diddy.

MOM: Who wants to look at Biggie�s bare whatever in that video?

Johnny Knoxville presents with Common:

LUCY: Who is that with Knoxville?

PAM: I don�t know, but I�m very attracted to Johnny Knoxville.

MOM: You would be, he�s scummy looking.

PAM: Word. Oh, they just said that�s Common.

All the rest of the night:

PAM: Hey, that�s Common! I know this now!

Latin Music/Puerto Rican Medley/Celebration with Gasolina:

LUCY: [flees room] AHHHH!! I hate this song!!! They want more gasoline, okay? WE GET IT.

MOM: This show is a travesty, Pam.

Best Hip-Hop Video:

MOM: I want that guy with the whole long story about the closet to be on. �I�m in the closet�.�

LUCY: �He went up to the closeeeeeet�.�

Coldplay performs and we get a special guest appearance by my dad:

MOM: (to Dad) He�s married to Gwyneth Paltrow.

DAD: He looks weird.

PAM: One of the guitar players is cute�him!

LUCY: Ooh, he looks like Joseph Fiennes.

DAD: Who?

MOM: Never mind.

Joss Stone presents:

DAD: Who�s that?

PAM: Joss Stone.

DAD: Who?

MOM: Never mind.

Best Pop Video nominees, clip for Ashlee Simpson:

DAD: Oh, she�s awful. And she�s a beast!

Alicia Keys presents:

DAD: Now she�s pretty. She�s classy.

Kanye West and Jamie Foxx perform Gold Digger:

MOM & DAD cry uncle and depart.

Commercial bumper with VMA Highlights so far:

LUCY: If they show that Puerto Rican thing as a highlight, I�m going home. I�m Puerto Rican and can�t even get behind that!

2 hours and 22 minutes into show:

LUCY: You know, there�s not a lot of content in this show.

PAM: I think Diddy is going for �Worst Host Ever� honors. He may be worse than The Wayans.

LUCY: He totally is. At least they didn�t talk about themselves for fifteen minutes at a time. He�s insufferable.

Dane Cook comes out and does a short stand-up routine:

LUCY: Who is this?

PAM: His comedy album debuted in the Top 10. I�ve never even heard of him.

LUCY: He�s not really�funny.

PAM: Do they know that this is the VIDEO MUSIC Awards? Last I checked this was not anything to do with music or videos containing music. AAAGGGHHH! Why do we get sucked in every year?

LUCY: The VMAs are like a Shyamalan movie.

PAM: Yes!

All night long:

LUCY: This show is stupid.

Diddy announces the winners of Best Dressed for his Fashion Challenge:

PAM & LUCY: [groans]

LUCY: I feel like I�m at a Halloween party � �And the best costume is�.�

Mariah Carey performs:

LUCY: Oh Mariah, you�ve gone so astray.

PAM: Remember when I was in her fan club? Good times.

LUCY: She and Whitney just went downhill when they went to hip-hop. They�ve dumbed down their stuff. Whitney�s singing with Bobby, all, �My love is your love.� It�s just wrong.

PAM: They�re so much better than this. Oh Mariah. Let�s get some �Til the End of Time up in this place!

LUCY: I want to hear some If It�s Over!

PAM: Why are they diving in the pool? Is this the Honey video now?

LUCY: At this point, I�d take listening to Honey. My standards have been lowered.

PAM: This show is wearing us down. Are we just old or does this show really suck?

LUCY: No, it sucks.

PAM: Where are Beavis and Butt-head?

50 Cent performs:

PAM: I am so over this show right now. I want R. Kelly to come back � I want to know what happens after the guy answers when he calls home!

My Chemical Romance performs:

LUCY: Hey, that lead singer is kind of cute.

PAM: He looks like the lovechild of Billy Corgan and Jack White!

Bow Wow presents:

LUCY: Boy, puberty wasn�t too kind to Lil� Bow Wow.

PAM: I enjoy his jeweled Laverne �B� on his shirt, though.

Kelly Clarkson FINALLY closes the show:

PAM: We waited to see THIS?!

LUCY: I give up!

(the rain starts falling on Kelly as she screeches out the song horribly)

LUCY: Hey, this is the Karaoke Revolution rooftop come to life! (When you start singing badly on the rooftop, it starts to rain)

PAM: This sucks. The whole collective show.

Show ends:

PAM & LUCY: [fist shakes]


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown