Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-08-25 || High School Me = Scary

Just a quick one tonight as I am still in major Play mode, with the performance being Saturday night and lots to do, oh lots to do! But...I can always find time to humiliate myself even if only for a brief moment. Shall we?

I stopped at the mall on my way home from work tonight to buy this crazy-awesome bustier at Victoria's Secret. Oh wait - sorry, I think I'm supposed to call it a "merrywidow." What the hell is that?? I've never heard of such a thing. Anyway, I went to get my crazy-awesome bustier that I have absolutely no use for and nowhere to wear it, (but did I mention the crazy-awesome part??) and while passing through another store, I noticed a guy working there who looked very familiar to me. After about a minute I realized that he was a guy I was friends with in high school. We didn't pal around outside of school, but we were friends in school for a few years. The funny thing about it was that he saw me walk through the store twice and had no idea who I was. I couldn't stop today because I was on my way to meet my mom to go shopping for desserts for the play, but I'll have to go back in next week and talk to him and see how long it takes him to figure out who I am. But this is the part that bugged me - people usually remember me, and I was friends with this guy. This also happened years ago at my 5 year-reunion - some people who I was buddy-buddy with in classes had no idea who I was until I started talking. They'd remember me immediately if someone asked if they knew me, but they don't recognize me. Today's incident made me wonder again if I really look that different than I did in high school. I didn't think so, but a lot of people seem to, so I did the only natural thing to do in this situation: pull out my yearbook to investigate. Oh good Lord, my senior picture is...it's...oy. And, since I am all about the shame up in here, I am going to share the horror with y'all. First of all, here is me, literally, today:

Now, let's take a little trip back in time. Fire up the Delorean. God help me if I ever become famous, because this will show up on one of those high school yearbook quizzes:

NOW - I have to point out that this picture was taken the summer before my senior year, so it was 1991. Yes, I had a perm. Horrifyingly, I had a perm for about 8 years. But perms were okay back then. So were pouffy bangs. Looking at this makes me want to cry. Happily, I think I actually do look much different than I did in high school. Judging by this precious artifact, that is a GOOD thing.

And if I haven't been shamed enough today, while flipping through my yearbook from the year before, I came across this gem:

#1. I have no idea who wrote that caption. #2. Why would they put a picture in the yearbook of someone clearly wearing Squirmy Face? #3. I have no recollection of ever owning or wearing a mock turtleneck, but clearly I am mistaken. #4. Note to self - don't look in old yearbooks again.

I guess this is good that I've changed since high school, and hopefully for the better. I did graduate 13 years ago, even if I still feel (and act) 15 half the time. But I think this glance down memory lane has taught me this one lesson: it's better to act 15 than to look like it again, because seriously, a PERM?

_______________________________________

I can't be the only one sick enough to post my scary-ass high school yearbook picture (be thankful I didn't scan any prom pictures) - let's see yours! Post away and drop a link in the comments! Get scanning everybody!


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown