Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-02-25 || Oscar Predictions!

Ah, Oscar time, my favorite time of year. I may have gotten a little tough on the best picture nominees in today's USA today, but it's tough love, baby. You know it's only for your own good, Oscars. I still love you.

Anyway, as I await Sunday's ceremony, here are my picks for the major categories. We'll see how I do - I'm normally MUCH better with picking the smaller categories. Just try to beat me in live-action short subject! Anyhoo, here we go:

Best Picture: I'm going with The Aviator here probably because I haven't seen Million Dollar Baby. I think it's between those two, but I'm giving the edge to The Aviator. [Note to Marty: It's too long!]

Best Actor: C'mon now. Do I even have to answer this? If Jamie Foxx doesn't win, expect riots. No, not like the one in my house the night Julia Roberts beat Ellen Burstyn for Requiem for a Dream - bigger than that. (And I love Julia and all, but Burstyn was robbed!)

Best Actress: Imelda Staunton. Hell, with all of the hype around Swank and Bening, I figured I'd go with this year's dark horse. Know this - I am notoriously bad at picking this particular category, so look for a Swank win.

Best Supporting Actor: Once again, because I have not seen Million Dollar Baby and Morgan Freeman's work in it, I went with Clive Owen. I actually hope I'm right, because Owen rocked that role.

Best Supporting Actress: Cate Blanchett. This category is probably the hardest one to call - it's a free-for-all! Blanchett may be hurt by those only wanting to give one autobiographical performance an award, so look for a possible sneak-in by Queen Amidala or Candyman Madsen.

Best Director: There are 2 things Oscar loves - Clint Eastwood and screwing Martin Scorsese. We'll see if they continue the habit this year and give it to Eastwood. I'm actually going with Scorsese here for the pity Oscar.

Best Animated Film: Shark Tale! Just kidding. I picked The Incredibles in a tight squeeze over Shrek 2.

Best Original Song: Believe, from The Polar Express. There's something to be said about performances factoring into the quality of the Best Song nominees. And while Minnie Driver and the Counting Crows may be fine singers, look for Groban to blow this one up.


So those are my main picks. I'm a little unsure on most of them, so I'm hoping my picks in the minor categories kill the others in the contest. Look for the recap on Monday and good luck to all!

********************

TV Show Pick of the Day: Survivor Palau.
Holy crap, do they have hot guys this year! Just when you thought Ibrehim was the hottest thing, here comes Bobby Jon. And just when you think it can't get ANY hotter than that?? Hello, Gregg. Let's hope this doesn't turn out like last season, when the cuties all go home first.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown