Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-02-28 || Has Anyone Seen The Honey Smacks Frog?
Do kids today know who Grimace is? What about the Hamburglar? I don't think they do. I think we've lost all of our junk food heroes. That's a sad thing, because they were the best! Who has seen Toucan Sam in the last 10 years? Has he gone extinct? There was that whole gang from McDonald's. Each one of them even had their own "ride" on the McDonaldLand playground. Even Birdie and the Fry Guys. Let us not forget one of my favorites, The Kool Aid Guy. What was his name? "Oh yeah!" I know he shouted that but I'm thinking he had a name other than Kool Aid Guy. Maybe not. Maybe he's like the Comic Book Guy. If he has a name, tell me. I hope it's something like Steve. That would rule.

At least one or two of the old favorites are around, like my boy Ronald. He's been a little nerdy lately, though. Who are the jokers they are getting to play him in the commercials? Fire that casting director. Also fire the guy who came up with 'Mac Tonight' back in the day. (shudder) Sorry Mac, I'll always have a friend wearing big red shoes. Take your piano and get bent.

Kids also lost a great thing in Mr. Rogers this week. I don't care what anyone says, The Land of Make Believe was the bomb. So campy now, too. Man, I love it. And what is wrong with the new Zoom? Where are the red and blue striped shirts? That was the whole thing with the original show. Everyone wanted those shirts. I still do. I still buy them and call them my Zoom shirts. Do the kids at least still sing the 0-2-1-3-4 zip? I think so. I hope so. Still, Zoom is ruined for me. I hope none of my other favorite childhood shows are resurrected and decimated. Hands off The Electric Company! I wish I had Noggin so I could watch that. Too bad none of the networks show The Great Space Coaster reruns. That clowny ship was cool, but everyone knows that Gary Gnu was the whole show. He's the only character that anyone ever remembers from that. He is to The Great Space Coaster what The Bloodhound Gang was to 3-2-1 Contact. (Write that down for your SATs) I mean, come on. What kid wants to watch a show about science? Give us some Encyclopedia Brown-y kids thrown in and we'll talk. And to this day I'm still hurt and offended that the woman on Romper Room never saw me in her damn magic mirror. Oh, she'd see 'Maximillian' and 'Percival' and 'Flavia' but never 'Pam.' What the hell?

Man, I don't even know where I was anymore. Oh yes, lamenting the sad futures of the kids today who have no Willy Winkie to see on their local PBS station. (The best thing I may have ever seen on TV was a blooper of Willy swearing on the air. I don't remember what he said, but it was so great because it was in that high-pitched squeal. Awesome.) Is Davey and Goliath still on? And don't even get me started on Saturday morning cartoons, or rather the lack thereof. Saved By the Bell was the bastard that started it all. Screech is the evil one who took all of the cartoons away! Hours and hours and hours of glorious cartoons. Okay, I need to stop ranting now, for I fear that I would go on all night. And yes, I probably would. Hamburglar. (sniff) Send my love to the Kool Aid Man. (sniff) Ooooooh yeaaaaaaaaaah!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown