Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-03-06 || I want to be a Superhero! Like Wonder Woman!
So what do you want to be when you grow up?

Why do people ask that? I don't think I've ever had a good answer to that question, if I've ever even had an answer. I'm 28 years old and I still don't know what I want to be when I grow up. Shit. Does anyone?

I think when I was a teenager, I'd answer the question with "happy" or "in love." Way to be vague there, kiddo. Maybe it was just my stupid way of hiding that fact that I had no idea. Other people had ideas of what they thought I should be, but I never did. Mom? She wanted me to be a math teacher. The hours are nice, but even though I was born with the curse of being good at math, I don't really like it. And I can't teach it. I expect people to know too much. My guidance counselor? She wanted me to be a lawyer. Ha! And this is a woman who had actually met me and knew me a little. Ha! I think that all came about when we took those stupid tests in high school that were supposed to determine what kind of a career you would be interested in. The questions were so ridiculous and biased. I think mine came up doctor, lawyer, or actress. How do any of those relate? Of course, I was excited about the actress part, which my guidance counselor quickly pooh poohed. Why are they so evil? Side note to said guidance counselor - I was in 3 plays last year. Neener. In retrospect, I really should have treated the test as a joke and answered yes to all of the questions that would have given me the end result of scientist or mechanic, or some such area where I clearly don't excel. Then maybe she would have left me alone about it. And those ridiculous tests could totally be rigged. The questions were so obviously slanted. Now I'm kicking myself. I may have to go hunt down a Pepsi Challenge just to feel better. Do they still hold those? I am such a Coca-Cola girl. Pepsi? Yucksi. I liked to go to those when I was younger and keep picking coke, because any soft drink connoisseur can tell the difference. Besides, it's fun to piss off the Pepsi people.

Gee, ramble much? Where was I now? Oh yes, the age old question of what I want to be when I grow up. I really hope I can figure it out soon. Maybe I never will. I think it's possible that a lot of people out there still don't know, but they are out there just chugging along, hoping to find the answer. Maybe that's what I'll do. There are many things I know that I like to do, like the acting thing. But I don't need to do that as a career. I could probably never make that much money doing it. But I don't care, I like it. Just like my singing. So maybe I will just trudge on, see where the chips may fall. And maybe, just maybe my 13 year-old self had something there with the reply, "happy."

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown