Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-03-13 || CURSES!
My curse has followed me to work, but I�m one step ahead of it this time. Aha! Take that, cursey curse! Let me explain�. I wish I had a cool curse, like guys wanting to kiss me all the time, or that all jeans everywhere fit me, but no. My curse? My curse is that people walk in on me while I�m in the bathroom. With the door locked. All the time.

It�s a horrible curse to have. The first time that it happened to me I was in the dining hall bathroom in college. The second floor only had the one-person bathroom, which is cool, because it�s sort of like being in the Presidential Suite or something. The only problem with this luxurious bathroom was the placement of the toilet in proximity to the door. On the opposite wall. Looking back at the door, it turned into a sort of tunnel vision, where everything seems about 100 feet further away than it actually is. Imagine my surprise when I�m trying to pee and the securely locked door just opens right up. Like a deer caught in the headlights. I guess the only comforting thing is that it wasn�t a unisex bathroom, so it was a chick who walked in on me. But still. I don�t think I went into that bathroom again for a couple of months, but then I decided to face my fears - well, with one of my friends standing guard, of course.

Walk-in #2 occurred at the hospital, after a test. I was in my little Johnny � well �little� isn�t really a good word to describe it. One size fits all? Yeah, right. Why can�t they adopt a small/medium/large deal with hospital clothes? I can fit 3 of me in these things. Anyhoo, luckily I had the tent on, because it covered me up when the curse swooped in. The bathrooms in the building where I was are, to put it mildy, old. And gross. Well, a little better than most gas station restrooms, but only slightly. In any event, there was a small space where the door closed, so I could see the large metal latch attached firmly in place in the �locked� position. Does this matter? No. I watched in horror as that shiny puppy just slid right aside as some haggard looking old man attempted to violate my personal space. I think I shouted some angered nonsense about knocking, but I was too rattled to remember. Sure, happening once you can see. But the second occurrence signaled a curse was brewing. Oh dear.

The curse was solidified on walk-in #3, which occurred at my favorite local watering hole, TGIFriday�s. They have these little water closet bathrooms, and when I was younger, they were THE coolest things. They used to actually have the pull-chain above the toilet for flushing. It was very chic and European to a wide-eyed 10 year-old. Yes, so I was fascinated by plumbing when I was 10. Leave me alone. Anyway, the cool chains are gone now, but the little closets remain. And yes, they have locking doors. Does this matter? Of course not. Luckily, these little closets are small, and therefore you are much closer to the door. This came in handy when once again my peaceful whizzing was interrupted by the door handle just magically turning and opening up. I was able to slam my hand up against the door and let out some sort of a �someone is IN HERE� grumble that embarrassed the poor girl who tried to join the pee party. When it happened the fourth time at another bar not too long afterwards, I had the grumble and hand slam perfected. Now I�m always ready. And I checked and realized that not one of those 4 bathroom doors in Friday�s locks anymore. The tab turns, but the don�t lock. As soon as I started going there on a semi-frequent basis, someone must have gone in and broken all of the locks. That�s the only logical explanation, isn�t it? Right?

So now the other day I was in the bathroom in my new office, and the handicapped stall was the only one open. I went in and hung my purse on the door, (I LOVE those hooks!) and when I turned back around a few seconds later, I noticed the door starting to swing open. Locked? Yes. For me? No. Curses! But I beat it this time. HA! Nice try. So I think all of you should think of me when lamenting your own curse of say, people calling you �dawg.� At least people aren�t walking in on you in the bathroom. Wanna trade?



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown