Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-04-16 || Karaoke Violations
Oh man, next Monday cannot come soon enough. I saw some longer promos for Mr. Personality last night, and I was roaring. Oh, it looks so ridiculous. The men in the hot tub with those masks on? Oh yes.

I�m thinking about going to karaoke tonight. I went last week for the first time in a couple of months. Man, I do love me some karaoke. However, there was someone there committing some serious karaoke violations. I�m not talking about the ones that are detailed in the front of some of the songbooks, such as, �One song at a time,� �No yelling into the microphones,� etc. (Although I did see some good rules threatening all kinds of punishment one time) I�m talking about the unspoken rules of karaoke. One of the unspoken rules can go either way. I�m talking about singing the same song that someone has already done that night. If you�re going to suck it up, DON�T. However, if the previous singer has shamed the song forever, then you damn well get up there and show �em how it�s done. Then pretend you didn�t know that someone sang it before. The violation that I witnessed the other night was a different sort of beast. Now any karaoke participant knows that there are some songs you just don�t sing. Period. Now you may say, �Well, what about�.� No. Just no. Last week I witnessed the trilogy of terror in song choice. To add insult to injury, the girl was a horrible singer. I knew we were all in trouble when I heard the opening wails of I Will Always Love You. My first thought was just, �Why?� There are so many things wrong with singing that song that I don�t even know where to begin. The next time faux-Whitney took to the mic, I started saying �why??!!!� as soon as I heard the trills of the Titanic theme, My Heart Will Go On. Don�t even get me started. We all braced for the high notes during the bridge. I don�t even want to hear Celine pull that one out, let alone the wild wailer. I wanted to hand her a magnifying glass so she could find the key easier. Oh lordy. A short while later, the trilogy was complete. Wind Beneath My Wings. That�s all I need to say. Does anyone really need to hear that song EVER again in their life? It was horrific. Once again, I simply just ask, �WHY???!!!� What in the world makes this girl pick these songs? ARRRGGHHH!! I left before she could butcher anything else. I�m sure she probably had some other karaoke night groaners up her sleeve, such as Paradise By the Dashboard Light and American Pie. Again, no. Just no. I once witnessed someone singing Feelings. This woman actually took out a pen and filled out a slip to sing Feelings. It boggles the mind. Feelings, people. Just letting that digest. Maybe we should band together and form a karaoke-violation crew. Yes! Simon Cowell can be our leader. Don�t even get me started on wedding songs now�.



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown