Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-04-19 || The Anthem of the Single Chick and the Open Road
Sometimes being a single twenty-something girl is just pretty damn cool. (A lot of times it's not, but I'll save you the 67 page diary entry about that) You can stop reading right now if you think this is going to turn into some torrid diary version of Sex and the City. I'm talking about something else entirely. I took a drive tonight.

Ah, the liberating single chick weekend night drive. Ain't nothing like it. There are different versions of the drive, but they're all just as satisfying. Most of them are very effective in clearing your head. The sad version of the drive entails cruising around with usually a destination of pretty much nowhere, listening to sad songs and possibly having spontaneous crying jags. You can also picture yourself in a mournful country song, crying on the shoulder of the road or holding on to nothing but the wheel. Once in a while these sad drives can lead you to a drive by an old love's home, and this is allowed as long as you keep your ass on driving. No stopping. However, this isn't what the drive is about. The drive is very freeing, and even the sad ones can make you feel good and stronger. Never underestimate the power of a good drive.

Another variance of the drive is the all-powerful,Xena the Warrior Princess, I-am-woman-hear-me-roar drive. This kind of drive is made even better when accompanied by the specially made "You Ain't All That" mix CD full of "psshht, fool!" anthems. Or angry gangsta rap. Whatever is accessible. Those are always fun drives because they usually involve speed and lots of car singing.

There are several other versions of the drive as well, but tonight I just took the standard, generic single-chick Saturday night drive. And it was awesome. I cranked up the tunes, popped the moonroof, mussed up my hair, and just went. I had a destination tonight, but that's not always necessary. Sometimes you just go where the wheel takes you. Tonight, however, I went to Burger King. Saturday night Burger King and I didn't even feel pathetic. No way. Instead, I felt good. I felt free. I can go to freakin' Burger King and wolf down some whoppery goodness and I don't have a care in the world. Give me some tunes and the open road and I am happy. My head is clear, my belly is full, and the world better watch out. No one to answer to, nowhere to be, and having the time of my life. I came home refreshed and renewed. (I may have had to hit the Maalox after my fast food indulgences, but hey, it was worth it. I never said early twenty-something.) Now I'm going to settle in with a DVD that no one else wants to see but me and enjoy my little ass off. I went out with friends last night, I've got the fam tomorrow - tonight I am SO glad to be hanging out with me. Just like the drive, I need some me time every once in a while. And I'm going to enjoy every single freaking minute of it. Now where's the chocolate?

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown