Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-05-07 || 50 Most Predictable People
People Magazine, why hast thou forsaken me?

Every year, I used to look forward to People Magazine's 50 Most Beautiful People issue. I would spend hours poring through it, ravenous. Now? It kinda sucks. How predictable and mainstream can you get? This year's is the worst. I don't know why I'm such a glutton for punishment, but there I was again on Friday, looking forward to seeing this year's list. I even try not to read spoiler articles so that every page can be a surprise. So what the hell happened? Remember when they used to have interesting people in there? Now the whole list is just pretty much phoned in, with the exception of about 4 people that we've never heard of. Yes, we get it that Halle Berry and Zeta-Jones are pretty. We get it every year. Julia, Nicole, Aniston, Lopez, Affleck, etc. We know. Why can't they just have a hall of fame page with all of the usual suspects so we can get on with it without them taking up valuable list space? That would be the ideal solution. And the pictures this year are just as weak. Spend some time finding a quality picture, please. Years ago I used to hang some of the pictures around various places. I had a nice Jared Leto up for about 2 years. I can also still remember the sweet shot of Kelly Slater from way back when. Ah, those were the days when you wanted to find out who these beautiful people were. Interesting people. Surprising people. Hot people.

Let's just get right to this year's list and one or two things I'm thankful for. Thank you for finally giving Tom Cruise and Mel Gibson the year off. We know you think they're beautiful. You've told us so for the past 1200 years. Thank you for moving on. And thank you for throwing us at least one bone with the Ashton Kutcher. I'll also give props to the Latifah and Tina Fey. But man, that does NOT make up for the rest. Britney? Meh. Eva Amurri? Blech. Ryan Seacrest??? That picture makes him look like a 50 year-old hag. And the freakin' Olsen Twins???? I can't even go on.

I think it's the poor selection of men this year that really irked me. Leonardo? Eh, he's okay. He's no Paul Walker, Jared Leto, Johnny Depp, Jude Law, Brandon Boyd, Taye Diggs, Gavin Rossdale, or Rob Estes. Okay, that last one was a stretch, but he's still hot. Adrien Brody is in the wrong section, guys. The folks at People also must not watch much of the WB. Katie Holmes is the lone representative. Wherefore art thou Tom Welling and Michael Rosenbaum? I know, I know, I'm all about the men. Okay, then - where's Lauren Graham? Amanda Peet? Anyone? Gah.

I think I'm just disappointed in the lack of originality and half-assedness of the issue. I expect more from this one issue, and the past couple of years have just sucked. Listen to me, people over at the magazine - HALL OF FAME. Just throw all the usuals on it and get on with it. We want fresh meat! We want shirtless surfer boys! We want quality pictures! We want new blood! Did I mention we want shirtless surfer boys? That one's important. Thank you.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown