Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-08-25 || Just Say No To Leg Warmers!
Why are fashion designers such bastards?

I am a big fan of the 80's. I'll be the first one to tell you that, but some of the fashion trends of the 80's certainly left a lot to be desired. Naturally, with any decade, fashion designers tend to try to bring back the worst trends that they can. I saw a few ads with leg warmers in them. Leg warmers. Ew. No. Just no. Then I went shopping the other day and saw these hideous sweater/shirt combinations where the v-neck sweater vest is attached to the ugliest print shirt ever made. It looked like someone had just projectile vomited on the fabric and said, "Hey, this will make a happening shirt." I just gasped when I saw it. Slim pants and jeans are trying to come back now that I finally got rid of all of mine that were hiding in drawers and I have settled comfortably into a life of boot cut pants. Jiminy Cricket. I'm bracing myself for the imminent return of parachute pants. Please, no. Kids today, rebel! Refuse! Just say no! No leg warmers! No jelly shoes! No arms full of rubber bracelets in every color! No Izod! No multi-layered slouch socks! NO!!! I swear, if I see a sweater dress, I'm going to cry. Seriously. I will just break down in the store and weep. The return of the sweater dress is one of the first signs that Armageddon is upon us.

Now, with any decade of bad fashion, there are always exceptions. Sneaker freak that I am, I'm very pleased with my new retro KangaROOS. Hot pink, lime green, and totally kick ass. I love them. I would possibly marry them if shoe love were legal. But alas, it is not. Maybe someday. [sigh] I remember putting quarters in the little zip pockets when I was younger. I thought I was the shit. Check me and my KangaROOS OUT! Hey, I was 8. Sadly, KangaROOS got lost in the shuffle when Reebok came out. Everyone had to have those Reeboks. I went through pair after pair of the velcro hi-tops because they were so well made that your toe would wear a hole right through the leather. It happened with every pair. I used to be all cool and put the velcro strips behind the tongue of the shoe. Awww yeah, you can't touch this, I am the Queen of Reeboks. Oh God.

Where was I even? Oh yes, the bad trends coming back. I'll allow the Roos, but one thing I have seen hints of that I simply can not handle is the flourescent colored clothes. Oh Lawdy Ten Forty, the Day-Glo everywhere. I was SO into the flourescent clothes when I was young. I had the neon orange sweatshirt with the bright pink socks, etc. Oh man. The flourescent fad led to my ownership of the ugliest skirt of all time. It is actually the ugliest piece of clothing I have ever seen in my life. And I owned it. And wore it. Fashion designers, clothing retailers, shoppers, if there is nothing else that will change your mind about these 80's clothes coming back, I think this one image will. I'm sorry, I have to do this for the children. I must save them. Feast your eyes upon my skirt - you must, for it is the only thing that will stop the madness!

Some images need no words. [shudder]

Celebrity Boyfriend of the Day: Stephen Dorff
The ultimate bad boy crush. I think that's why I love him. Total badass. The only thing that makes me drool more than his Deacon Frost in Blade is a blond Dorff in Cecil B. Demented. Pure yumminess.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown