Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2003-10-21 || "We Will Be Invincible!"
�You�re a heartbreaker, dream maker, love taker � don�t you mess around with me�.�

Hoo boy, the other drivers on the highway got quite the show this morning. I�m so psyched about having my wail back that I dug out my Pat Benatar�s Greatest Hits CD and sang my heart out all the way to work. It probably also didn�t help matters that it was eight in the morning and I was throwing back a can of coke. Combine tired AND wired and you have got yourselves a genuine freakshow, kiddies. All Fired Up? You bet your sweet ass. Also? I SO want to be a badass rocker chick like Pat Benatar. Well, in my warped, cruising-on-six-hours-sleep-because-I-stayed-up-glued-to-�I Love the 80�s Strikes Back�-even-though-I-was-taping-it-on-another-TV-and-I�m-all-hopped-up-on-coca-cola-classic, baby mind I already am. I think I still may be in that state a little now, no?

I do remember Ms. Benatar being the source of the first time that I felt old, though. It was back around 1996 or 1997. During college I worked in a gift/candy store that had the wonderful Adult Contemporary muzak going on. I swear I still unconsciously know all the words to every Joni Mitchell and Steely Dan song, but that�s a whole other street we�re not going down today. Anywho, I used to be in charge of all of these high school girls at night, and we had quite the fun time. (I must say, I can be a kickass person to have in charge. I am the originator of Dirty Talk night, where we came up with a certain word or phrase that you had to use in conversation throughout the night, especially in front of customers. It ruled as a great way to pass the time.) One night the big Benatar power ballad We Belong came on in the store and I was all excited, saying, �Ooh, Pat Benatar!� This, of course, was met with a bunch of blank stares from all of the teenyboppers. �WHO??� Ack! Thankfully, they did all know Hit Me With Your Best Shot, but were unaware of who sang it, or of any of her other songs. These girls had never seen the classic prostitute-boogie-down video for Love is a Battlefield, people. That�s just wrong. I then stuck the knife a little bit deeper into my chest when I said that I owned the 45 for a particular song. �The what? What�s that??� NOOOOOOOOO!!!! Old. OLD!!! And this was several years ago � OLD!!! All the while I�m also thinking that I had the 8-track of one of Pat Benatar�s albums, but I kept mum on that. I had to keep some sort of rep going. But lordy, kids who were 16 in 1996 didn�t know what 45s were. They knew when I explained it all, but still. They had never owned one. They had never gone to the local Ann & Hope store and shelled out $1.45 to get some Sheila E. The Glamorous Life and then bring it home and play that thing non-stop for days on end, hairbrush microphone firmly in hand. They had never had to put pennies on top of the needle so their 45 of Jenny (867-5309) didn�t skip anymore. [sigh] I was old.

There have been many more times since that night that I�ve felt prematurely old, but the first one still stings the hardest. But that�s okay. I saw Pat on The Ellen Degeneres Show last week and she was still rockin� it out at her age. Sure, she may have lost some of her vocal range, but she�s still out there all curled lip and tight pants, kicking ass. As long as she�s doing it, I�m still young and running with those damn shadows of the night, baby. Woo!

Celebrity Boyfriend of the Day: Aladdin
What�s that? I can�t use cartoon guys? Sure I can. What? That�s kinda sick? Oh, my bad. But come on, you gotta admit, that little cartoon minx was a hottie. Yeah, you know he was.

Comments? Sign my guestbook!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown