Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-06-15 || I'm Pam, Not Steve

M-O-R-T-I-F-I-E-D. Mortified.

Dear lovely designers at The Gap and the salesperson who sold me the shirt I wore today:

Why, bitches?

Sincerely,

Pam


This morning was going so well. I reluctantly dragged my ass out of bed (as usual) and had a little twinge of happiness for the summer because it means I get to wear some of my new clothes (yay!) that made me poor (nay!) that I had to buy because I gained weight (yay!) so most of my cute tops don't fit well anymore (nay!) because my boobs got bigger and need more room, sucka (YAY!). Or my whole upper-body got wider, but I'm going with the boobs. ANYway - I decided to wear my cute new striped polo shirt that I bought at The Gap this spring. When I bought it, I was going to buy a purple and lavender striped one, but the green one was calling to me more, so I picked that one up. In hindsight, not the best choice I've made recently. And I also blame myself for this whole debacle because the pop-culture filled half of my brain must have been closed off both when I bought the shirt and when I revisited it today, because I totally missed something. I spent the entire day being made fun of at work for my new shirt, and do you know why?

Apparently, I've just figured out Blue's Clues:

Gah! All I can say is thank GOD I didn't wear khaki pants with it. That would have been all I needed. But still, I can't believe I didn't even think about that when I bought the shirt. I could blame it on me not ever being around children, so how would I know such a thing, and really - he hasn't hosted the show in years, but I can't even say that because I love the children's TV. That's pretty much how I spent the bulk of my time during my hospital stays over the years. I remember my surgeon coming in to see me one morning and he stopped and looked at the TV and said, "Pam, Sesame Street?" In fairness, I was 19 at the time, but Mel Gibson was on! (Back when Mel Gibson wasn't all whatever he is now - crazy? No, that's not quite right. Cult-y? Nah. We'll just got with back when Mel was normal.) I'm not the biggest Blue's Clues fan, but I've seen it once or twice in passing. I haven't watched much lately, but a few years back I was into Oswald (I love his Daisy friend) and Kipper. Aww, Kipper with his little British accent! His pig friend was named Pig! Tiger was actually cuter, but don't tell Kipper that. Oh, and don't even get me started on Franklin! Years ago I used to record Teletubbies every day because it was so deliciously wacked out. And dirty! Okay, maybe just that one episode, but they kept going on and on about how one of the girl Teletubbies, Po, was really good at blowing her party blower. Seriously, the show went on for about a minute about her blowing skills. Then Tinky Winky demonstrated his skills with the party blower, only to have it unfurl into Dipsy's butt. No, REALLY. I made everyone that I could find watch it because I couldn't believe it. So yeah, I really should be scolding myself about missing the Blue's Clues thing when I bought the shirt, but those bastards at The Gap could have told me. Now I'm going to feel like a moron whenever I wear it. I'll just have to remember - no khakis with it! And now I've got that damn "I just figured out Blue's Clues!" song in my head. Kill me now.

_______________________________________

In other news, I was watching VH-1 Classic the other night and Winger's Headed For a Heartbreak came on. I may have involuntarily squealed. God, did I love me some Winger back in the day. Sure, there was the Kip factor, but I legitimately liked their songs. I even had a t-shirt before Stuart wore his on Beavis and Butt-head, but thankfully I had stopped wearing mine at that point or else that would have made me. But it was fun to see the video just to be reminded of these things:
1) I still like their songs, so I don't know what that says about me.
2) Kip Winger was a DAMN fine-looking man. I was talking to a guy friend recently who noticed that I had Seventeen in my music downloads and he even copped to the fact that Kip was a looker. I also remember having a picture of him in my gym locker that I shared with 2 other girls in 9th grade (we stole one of the giant lockers) that featured him naked and dripping wet, holding a small towel over his business.
3) That drummer was such a tool. He was always WAY too happy looking. There he is in the video, drumming away with this enormous grin while the other members of the band look pensive and solemn about their impending heartbreaks. Not that drummer, he was happy as a pig in shit. You can go here to watch the video and see for yourself. And while you're watching, check out that ass on Kip. Hells yeah.



Y'all, it has been raining here a LOT.

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown