Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2006-06-14 || Michelangelo's Got Nothing To Worry About With Me

Last weekend we had a Game Day where we played our new favorite board game, �Who? What? Where?� The premise is simple: each player is given 3 cards, a who, a what and a where that they then must make a drawing of. The who is always a famous person, the what is the activity they are doing, and the where is the location. The drawings are then passed around and the other players have to guess the who, what and where in each drawing and you get points for how many you guess right and how many others guessed correctly about your drawing. The tricky thing about the drawing is that you have to draw the person doing crazy things in odd places, so it�s a little bit harder to give clues as to who the famous person is. For example, I once had to draw Luciano Pavarotti hiding from assassins at Yankee stadium. Since I had to convey that he was hiding, I drew him crouched over, so I couldn�t have him standing at a microphone. Frito has come up with the best tactic for this, which is the use of the thought bubble. When he had to draw Bill Cosby playing tennis on the moon, he put a thought bubble above Bill Cosby�s head with a heart, a sweater and a pudding pop inside so we�d be able to figure out who he was. And of course, it worked for most people. But in some instances it doesn�t. In either case, the game is ridiculously fun. Especially when you have my brother playing, but we�ll get to that. Since I can�t properly explain how much fun this game is, I figured I�d let some of the drawings from Saturday help out, and in some cases, just speak for themelves.

The first thing to know when you play this game is that artistic talent isn�t paramount to how well you�ll do. Sure, it helps a whole hell of a lot, but it isn�t necessary. I suck at freehand drawing, but I can do enough to get my point across. For example, in one round, I had to draw Darth Vader playing badminton in a restroom:

It�s not a great drawing by any means (and Frito reminded me that Vader wears a cape, not a robe [d�oh!]), but it gets the point across. As long as you can get the point across, you�ll be fine. My brother didn�t learn this fact right away, but we�ll still get to him in a few. First, let�s take a look at how we all wish our pictures looked:

Yeeeeaaaah. Our friend Drew isn�t invited anymore. Ringer!!! I�m passing around that piss-poor Darth Vader and he whips out something like this in 5 minutes. (By the way, that�s Moses BBQing on Mt. Everest. I guessed Jesus because I thought the Ten Commandments were oven mitts.) Check out his Medusa:

Come on now. No fair!! But like I said, skill isn�t everything. Frito draws very well, but I was the only person that figured out that this was Gandhi:

I knew the second I looked at it, but everyone else missed it. I thought it was easy, but maybe I knew because Frito and I seem to have the same brain.

But sometimes the things you have to draw are just ridiculous. In these cases, talent does sometimes make a difference. Check out these two drawings and see if you can figure them out:

The first one is an example of talent helping when you get stuck with something hard to draw, which in this case was the location. This was done by Frito, and everyone pretty much got the Napoleon playing with dolls part, but only one or two of us figured out that it took place in Atlantis. Once again, this could also be the �shared brain� thing, but I got the Atlantis thing right away. It was the question mark that did it. But really, that�s a hard thing to draw.

And speaking of hard to draw, check out the second drawing, which is one of mine. I can�t believe people figured out the monastery part, because my monks ended up looking like people in hot dog costumes, but I think the bell helped. Most people also got Mickey Mouse (although Rachel guessed Minnie � but he�s wearing shorts, not a dress!) but no one got the activity. Most people were close, but no one got it exactly. This could speak to my lack of artistic ability, but really, how are you supposed to draw someone making an omelet? I tried the bubble with the eggs and cheese and bacon, but then I didn�t know what else is in omelet. (I should have drawn peppers, huh?) Who came up with the idea to put �making an omelet� on a card? I�m protesting!!

This is a good example of the patented Frito Thought Bubble. It took me a few minutes, but I finally realized that the person in question was George Foreman and not Mike Tyson, all thanks to him thinking about boxing and his tasty grill. Then there�s the activity � I would have never been able to draw this, but that Frito is a creative and crafty one and used his thought bubble to come up with a way to draw swing dancing. Sure, it took me a few minutes because the poodle skirt threw me off, but I eventually got it. (�Is this Grease? Are they doing the hand jive? But where�s Crater-Face? And why is she dreaming about a swing? Is that the Pamela Anderson-type of swing? No, that�s too dirty for this game. And where is Crater-Face? Oh, wait! Swing-dancing!� My mind is scary.)

The whole thinking-it-out thing is really the key to this game. You�ve got to be able to weed out your nonsense thoughts, because everyone wanted to write down �in a stomach� (and some did) as the location of this drawing:

But then you have to remind yourself that as crazy as some of the cards are, �in a stomach� is most likely not going to be a correct location, so when you put that aside, you can finally figure out that The 3 Musketeers are bungee jumping in Texas.

However, there are some instances where you just can�t weed out the nonsense or figure out the clues. These usually involve my brother�s drawings. I really don�t want to ever play this game without him, because his renderings are priceless.

He was doing so well here with Mr. T. That was easy! And I�ll give him a pass on the activity, because who is going to answer that he�s suffering from a bad cold? How do you draw that to get an answer other than sneezing? But the location � he�s supposed to be on a conveyer belt, but we all thought he was on the highway or on a bridge. Where is the cash register? The carton of milk next to him? One person did actually get it right, which is more than can be said for my brother�s second drawing:

Yeah, we all got zeroes on this. The person? Forget it. I thought whomever it was was doing cartwheels on the top of a mountain. Apparently, that�s the Titanic he is �doing gymnastics� on. And who is it? Mr. Rogers. How are we supposed to know that? The shoes next to him. WHAT??!! I laughed for about ten minutes after that. I love my brother. But seriously, the shoes? Where�s the cardigan? Mr. McFeeley? King Friday? Nah, you know what? I wouldn�t change a thing � that�s what makes the game fun. So grab some friends and play � you won�t regret it! (And if you want to borrow my brother for the day, let me know!)


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown