Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-01-09 || Randomness & Good-Byes

Get ready - I fear I'm going to be all over the place tonight. Is your seatbelt buckled? Oh, wait. Forget it. It's not the exciting kind of being all over the place. That's someone else's life. Dammit.

Where to begin my rambling? Well, I'll begin the same place Shelly did. USA Today defined us yesterday. I'm a quirkyalone! Woo!

-What does quirkyalone mean?
Noun. A person who enjoys being single (but is not opposed to being in a relationship) and generally prefers to be alone rather than dating for the sake of being in a couple. With unique traits and an optimistic spirit; a sensibility that transcends relationship status. Also adjective: Of, relating to, or embodying quirkyalones.

Damn straight.

_______________________________________

I'm getting all excited to see Big Fish tomorrow. All a movie has to say are the words 'Directed by Tim Burton' and I am SO there.

_______________________________________

I hadn't been in quite some time, so Lucy and I hit "our" bar tonight. It's nice to have your favorite bartender miss you. Awww. We also spent the night staring in awe at one of the most impossibly good-looking men that I have ever seen. (Wedding ring, of course) We spent a better part of the evening randomly blurting out things like, "That guy is so hot. Holy crap is he hot." "He's so hot you have to spell it with two 't's." "Have you seen that guy? HOT. I can't even look at him. How is someone that good looking?" "That girl with him? Yeah, she gets to see him naked." "Lucky bitch." Seriously, though - this guy was probably the second best looking guy I have ever seen. Ever. I'm still thinking about how hot he was with disbelief. Damn. Day-am! So the sight of him sure made the night more pleasurable. We also saw Adrien Zmed if he had been cryogenically frozen in 1982 and released today. It was uncanny. Lucy kept singing that he was "Goin' prowlin'...."

After the bar, I got to come home and watch my sweet little Ed. I really want one - an Ed. [sigh]

So all in all, a good night: the second hottest man in the world, my boyfriend Tom Cavanagh, and an Adrien Zmed clone. I'll take that.

_______________________________________

Speaking of TV boyfriends, I have a new one now. Kisses to Jason from The Apprentice. He forced me to develop a new disease last night. It's sort of like Tourette's, except that every time he comes on screen I involuntarily shout out, "Cutie!" Jason? A-dorable. He can come and be my apprentice, if you know what I mean...and I think you do.

_______________________________________

Finally, today was my last day at my current job and it was pretty sad leaving there. This is the first time for me where I'm leaving a job that I don't mind going to every day. Sure, it was a no-brainer job that bored me a lot, but I loved the people I worked with, the place, and the whole atmosphere. In the eleven months that I've worked there, I have only dreaded going to work one time, but that doesn't really count because the great love of my life had broken up with me and I just wanted to curl up in a ball on my floor. But I went and was cheered up by my pals. It's like a family in that office, and that's hard to find. (And working with people whose average age was about 20 years older than me, I was the 'kid' who everyone looked out for.) But as is life, things change. I'm being promoted to a job that garners more respect, is more challenging, is a lot closer to home, and I'm jumping up eleven pay grades. (Ch-ching!) I had to take it. Hopefully after my 6 month probation I can work my way back to the office I've left, but now in my new fancy-dancy position. In the meantime, aside from everything I mentioned above, here are some of the things I'll miss most:

- The Finance Company Next Door - Or as I like to call it, boys galore! The home of so many fake boyfriends and one big crush. Who will I have to shake my fist and scowl at now that there's no more G McG? It also lent itself to such tales as the fake plant debacle, the one-armed man stories, and the infamous Top Ten List.

- Lunch Time Card Games - My daily dose of trash talking, Team Evil, and a much-needed break from my desk. I hear people don't play cards at the new office. Yet....

- Inappropriate Lunches With The Office Park Hottie - 'Nuff said on that one. (I'll also miss the phony phone calls!)

- Tedrick - Aww, my second brother. There's a scene in the movie Singles where Bridget Fonda and Campbell Scott decide that in another life they were probably scathing lovers, but in this one, they're just good friends. That's me and the Tedrick, although I believe 'scathing lovers' might be a little bit of a stretch. Being that he is like my second brother, I have trouble picturing him that way. In any event, I was lucky to have found someone with such a great and complementary sense of humor. I'll miss our desk sharing days, when we would blast odd music and hand the telephone over to my stuffed monkey when rambling callers became a nuisance. Also, the building perimeter walks, and the girl in the jeep. Like the scarecrow, I'll miss Ted most.


CD Pick of the Day: This Mystery, Nichole Nordeman
It was hard to pick which of Nichole's albums I like more, but I'm going to go with her sophomore CD. Lush and touching songs all over the place.
Highlight: Why still makes me misty every time I hear it. I was honored to sing it at church last year.

Comments? Sign the book!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown