Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2005-11-23 || 7 Things That Drive Us Crazy: The Internet/IM Edition

I really need to get myself to New York, because apparently, I am a Chelsea Girl. I don�t really know what that means, so I�ve got to go check this out for myself. My ex-boyfriend lived in New York City for a few months before we started dating, and he used to always tell me I was a Chelsea Girl, but could never really describe why. He said I just was. Fast forward a couple of years to last night, when I get a phone call from Lucy. She was on a date with a guy who whisked her away to NYC for the day to go shopping and see U2. In the middle of this whirlwind date, Lucy stopped to call me and announce, �Guess where I am? Chelsea! Um�.� I asked her if my ex was correct in saying that I was a Chelsea Girl, and she said, �Totally. I mean, it�s so weird. I was walking around just thinking of you and going, �This is Pam.� I HAD to call you because it�s so true.� When pressed, even Lucy couldn�t really explain why I was a Chelsea Girl, but I just am.

So�anyone who has been to New York know if this is a good thing? Hit up the comments and let me know if everyone is right about me. In the meantime, I�ll be off figuring out when I can take a day trip up to Chelsea myself�.

______________________________

Speaking of Lucy, she went on the most beautiful rant the other night about our disdain for the use of certain acronyms and non-word shortened words. I wish I could remember the whole thing, because it was supreme. I do believe it ended with her shouting, �It�s the English language! Use it properly, for God�s sake! Would it hurt you to add 3 more letters to a word??!!� This was all set off by her telling me that a guy who e-mailed her used the dreaded �lol,� thus setting off groans all around and an impromptu list of 7 Things That Drive Us Crazy: The E-mail/IM Edition: (I, of course, blame today�s youth. Bunch of bad grammar having, English-language abusing hooligans!)

1. lol - I know most people don�t have a problem with this, but for some reason, Lucy and I share a grand dislike of it. I never liked it to begin with, but in either case it just seems to be overused. We�ll take a �haha� over lol any day. It�s just kind of�I don�t know�twee.

2. hafta - Ugh. I may �hafta� smack someone. And seriously, �have to� is only one more letter. Is it that much effort to type?

3. prolly - This one ranks #1 on my personal �goes right up my ass� list when someone uses it. I�ve beaten people on the streets for less. Also? NOT A WORD.

4. rofl - Really? Did you pull your keyboard down on the floor with you so you could type while you roll? Liar. (This one also gets points for just being so damn stupid.)

5. kewl - If you�re not a tween (and even then), you should never be using this. But those are the only ones we forgive for it (while frowning mightily).

6. u - Again, how hard is it to type 2 more letters? Even Prince is all, �Yeah, that shit is kind of tired. Hey, remember when I wrote �Slave� on my cheek? Good times.�

7. natch - The Beast. This is the one that sent Lucy over the edge during her tirade. This �word� bothers both of us for 2 reasons: 1) We used to see it being used all the time in Teen Beat and The Big Bopper when we were younger and never knew what it meant, and when we found out years later, we felt like idiots. 2) Bleah. It goes up one side of us and down the other. In the words of Lucy, �How hard is it to use the whole word? It�s the English language, people! It�s not rocket science!� Also, I just immediately picture a cartoon of a snooty-snoot, complete with pipe, monocle, pocket watch and twirly mustache fnur fnuring it, all, �Natch. Ah hem hem hem fnur fnur.� Gross.

I know there are more violations like this out there, but these are the main ones that jumped out at us while we were having our diatribe. What drives you mad? Hit up the comments and vent � let�s see who hates �lmao� the most.


Random Description of Me of the Day: By Lucy, to some of her co-workers who were coming to meet us out: �Pam is really nice, but she�s got a dirty mouth.� Awesome.


before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown