Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-01-05 || I'd Like Jude Law To Get Inside MY Actor's Studio
Hey look, I'm out of bed!

So I lucked out the other day and did end up having about a 36-hour bug. I spent pretty much all day in bed Friday, fighting a fever and loving my jammies. Besides catching up on some reading, I also spent most of the day watching some random TV. Here's some of the things that I'm missing while stuck at work all day:

* Franklin - Hey, Noggin shows Franklin! I used to watch this show when I was in college. Hey, I like watching kiddie TV. Stop looking at me like that. Anyway, I used to love this little turtle bastard, especially when he took off his shell. But I was a little dismayed while watching it Friday, because I don't really remember him being so whiny. I was also mad when I had already seen the second episode. Bah. Stupid Franklin reruns.

* Inside the Actor's Studio - This was the crowning television achievement of my day. I usually don't watch this show (except for the Simpsons episode), but I saw that Jude Law was going to be on, so I clicked on over. Oh. My. God. I have never seen Mr. Law look so incredibly beautiful. And he was adorably charming as well. Awww. Also? He was breakdancing, people. Breakdancing. He moved WAY up on my celebrity boyfriend list with that show.

* Donna Summer concert on VH-1 Classic - Well, I only tuned in for No More Tears, but I enjoyed what I saw. Tina Arena filled in for La Streisand on the song and man, can that girl sing. The only thing that bothered me was the changing up of the parts. Lucy and I used to do that song at karaoke, so I know who should be singing what, and they were just singing each other's parts all over the place. But it still sounded good. I wish I had stuck around to see if there was any On the Radio action.

* Music Videos - Ah, MTV Hits and VH-1 MegaHits did not disappoint. Well, except for that damn Outkast 'Hey Ya' video. It was fine the first couple of times, but it is on EVERY second. Well, at least once an hour. Sometimes it was on both channels at the same time. I vowed that if it showed up on VH-1 Country I was just going to throw my cable box out the window.

* Josie and the Pussycats - Boomerang was having a block of cartoons from 1969 and I got to see Josie and the Pussycats go to Amsterdam! No drugs, no hookers - just lots of racial stereotyping. It was a little unsettling. Who knew Josie was so un-PC?

* The Ellen Degeneres Show - Well, this one doesn't really count because I realize I'm missing it when I'm at work. I really like it, so I tape it sometimes. That intern Jeff is SO my type.

* The Fantastic Four - Back to Boomerang and some more classic toons. I'm a huge Thing fan. I hadn't seen this show in years. I didn't realize that The Thing was the comic relief of the group. He's all snarky with the "That's a woman for ya'!" At one point he also announced, "It's clobberin' time!" And why does he have to wear those little bikini briefs if he's made out of stone? Does he really have rock genitalia that he needs to cover up? Anyway, the thing that struck me the most about watching this show again was the acting. It was horrendous. The line readings were so absolutely wooden and it was just so, so, poor. Which made it all the more entertaining to watch. Good stuff. By the way, did you know that you can just apply a spritz of some spray in a green bottle and have the ability to breathe underwater so you can go and save the sea people of Pacifica? Like I said, Soooo good.

After all of that, I packed it in and headed downstairs to crash on the couch for a while. I broke open my new DVD of The Ben Stiller Show and watched some of that. Cape Munster! I think I may be one of the five people who actually saw all of those episodes when they originally aired. Ahead of its time.

So now I know what kind of goodies I'm missing while I'm at work all day. Good thing they don't show that Jude Law Actor's Studio every day or I'd be home sick a LOT. Seriously, if you get a chance to catch a repeat of it, check it out. Your eyes will thank me. You too, guys. You may want to go gay after looking at that. Or at least watch Breakin' 2: Electric Boogaloo.


CD Pick of the Day: Lari White, Don't Fence Me In
Ah, I love me some Lari. You moviephiles may know her as the artist who sent the one unopened FedEx package in Cast Away, but to me she is a highly overshadowed country goddess. All of her albums are great, but this one is the epitome for me. Years later, I'm always excited to pop in the CD.

Comments? Sign the book!

before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown