Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-06-04 || "Everywhere Around The World..."

Okay, it's been 3 days now, Diamond. GET OUT!!!!

An attempted taunting of my mother completely backfired on me the other night, and I am still paying for it. My father is a serial bad movie renter, and the other night was no exception. We usually wait with eager anticipation to see what he brings home. "You just spent 45 minutes at the video store and came home with THAT?" We still will never let him live down the rental of The Silent One, a movie that seemed to be about a mute man and his turtle. Anyway, the other night when I heard him come home, I giddily ran over to the table to see what movies he had chosen. I froze in horror at seeing the movie on the top of the pile. I stood there in disbelief for a minute until I was finally able to blurt out, "How many times..." before I trailed off and went back into shock and horror mode. I quickly snapped out of it and tore upstairs to where my mother was, shouting at her, "Flee! FLEE!! Go now!! FLEE!!!!!!" She groaningly asked what atrocity my father had brought home this time. When I told her, "The Jazz Singer," I was met with a cry of, "He's not watching THAT up HERE!!!" You see, when I was a wee one, my father watched that movie over and over and OVER again. I think he had taped it off of TV. He would watch it constantly. I still blame many things on my being subjected to that movie so much. ("Pam, you don't like mustard? How can you not like mustard?" "The Jazz Singer made me hate mustard!") My mother then echoed my sentiments by wailing, "HOW many times has he SEEN that??" Being in a festive mood that night, I decided to feed on her pain and proceeded to start dancing around her room, singing in my best rasp, "Everywhere around the world, they're coming to America...." During my spasmic dancing, I'd randomly throw my hands up in the air and shout, "TODAY!" Then I'd start in again, kicking my feet in the air, and singing my little head off.

And then it happened.

That DAMN song would NOT leave my head. I became possessed, and found myself dancing around my room an hour later, still singing loud and proud. Oh, they were coming to America. You know when? TODAY!!!! Eventually, I finally managed to get the song out of my head, but then I relayed the story to a friend the next night and yep, you guessed it - it got stuck in my head AGAIN. This time I think it brought a toothbrush. It would not leave. I don't want them to come from everywhere around the world anymore. I want them to stay where they are and leave my damn head the hell alone.

Now it is day 3, and I made the mistake earlier of mentioning the Jazz Singer story to my brother when he was mocking last night's Dad rental upon seeing the case for Euro Trip on the table. (My brother is similarly scarred from the Jazz Singer past) I tried to just tell him about our father renting the movie again without getting into the part about teasing my mother. But then the evil part of my subconscious kicked in, and I started to hear the melody creeping into my head. Da-DA-na-na-na-na-nah! And then it got turned up to eleven and now I am still cursing Neil Diamond as I sit here. It's a wonder that I'm not mistakenly typing "TODAY!" all the time, since that is all that I am hearing in my head. Get it out!!!

[shaking fist] DIAMOND!!!!!!


CD Pick of the Day: Anything but the Soundtrack to The Jazz Singer. Oh, and nothing that contains that Heartlight shit, either. Oh man, now THAT is in my head. Which is worse?? Let it shine for all the world to see.... AAAGGGHHH!!!!

TODAY!!!!!


Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown