Everything's More Fun In Pigtails!
2004-07-16 || Dy-No-Mite!

For some unknown reason, there are a lot of things about my childhood that I simply don�t remember. For the most part, I can remember certain events taking place, but I don�t actually remember anything else about them. Most of the details are gone. Some memories are actually just from pictures I�ve seen of me doing things. My mom will ask me about all kinds of things and the more I say I don�t remember them, the more I hope that this is a common thing. There are a few exceptions to this, however:

#1. I remember people, especially boys. I can get fuzzy on some girls that I didn�t know very well, but I remember all of the boys. I�ve always had that gift.

#2. I remember pop-culture related things. I can�t tell you anything about a birthday party I had in the 4th grade at a bowling alley, but I can tell you ALL about the short-lived sitcom Spencer with my old grade school boyfriend-of-the-month, Chad Lowe. You want to know about the original Zoom? I�m your girl. You want to know about Christmas when I was 9? No idea. However, I may be one of the few people who can reminisce with you about the Barba Papas. [Speaking of which, anyone else out there remember them? I even had the board game!]

I think I�ve figured one of the biggest keys to my early start with pop-culture knowledge - Dynamite Magazine. I was a faithful subscriber to that little gem. It was pretty much the late 70�s and early 80�s version of a mixture of People and Entertainment Weekly for kids, except it was monthly. And it was printed on this weird cardboardy paper and tried to be educational at times. But seriously, for all intents and purposes, it was DYNAMITE!! I didn�t fool around with trying to find shapes hidden in the tree bark in Highlights. That was strictly an activity for the waiting room at the dentist. And don�t even get me started on that foolish Ranger Rick business. No offense to those out there who liked the Ranger Rick, but really � I was much happier reading about Ricky Schroder than some random moose. In my world Ranger Rick was for nerds. Dynamite is where it was at. J.J. was right. He always is.

______________________________________

My friend Jerry and I have been noticing lately that many of our conversations involve things you just don�t hear every day:

PAM: So the Nun-Clown was telling me that�

JERRY: You know, I�m pretty sure most people aren�t used to hearing sentences starting with, �So the Nun-Clown was telling me.� Sadly, I am. Help me.

************

JERRY: Yeah, but you said the guy looks like Emo Philips.

PAM: Yeah, he looks like Emo Philips does now, with the short and spiky gray hair.

JERRY: And this is a good thing?

PAM: What? I happen to find Emo Philips very attractive.

JERRY: I�m guessing if you tallied up how many times that last statement of yours was uttered across the world today, you�d come up with one. �I happen to find Emo Philips very attractive?� What??!!

PAM: He IS! And he made me sit on his lap when I met him.

JERRY: Oh dear.

************

PAM: I was watching an old Party of Five the other night.

JERRY: (gagging) WHY?

PAM: Because Matthew Fox is HOT. Anyway, I forgot that Scott Grimes was an actual cast member on that show. I knew he was in it, but I didn�t realize he was in the credits and everything. How did that happen?

JERRY: Scott Grimes! Wow, that�s a blast from the past. How do you even remember him?

PAM: Oh, I remember all about Scott Grimes. He was in my Teen Beat. I think he may have dated Alyssa Milano for a little while.

JERRY: What? Scott Grimes dated her? Where is the justice in this world?

PAM: He may have also attempted to sing at some point. I�m not sure, though. I think I was too engrossed in the romance between Corey Haim and LaLa (Zappa) Sloatman at that point.

JERRY: But Scott Grimes!!!

PAM: You know, I think I'm going to start yelling that at random during my everyday activites. "Pam, can you pass the salt?" But Scott Grimes!!

************

JERRY: I�m telling you, name me one good syndicated sitcom. There are none.

PAM: Out of This World! Would you like to swing on a star�.

JERRY: Evie? NO!

PAM: I never went for that Small Wonder, but I liked Out of This World. Was It�s Your Move syndicated?

JERRY: It�s Your Move?! What are you going to say next, Marblehead Manor?

PAM: You know what show I kind of liked? It�s a Living.

JERRY: WHAT?! (gagging) That was horrible!

PAM: No way! It had ANN JILLIAN. How can something be bad if Ann Jillian is in it?

JERRY: ....

PAM: Ann Jillian!

JERRY: ....

PAM: Okay, okay, what was the one with the maid?

JERRY: We Got It Made?

PAM: Yeah! Oh wait, that kinda sucked, didn�t it?

JERRY: YES.

PAM: It�s no It�s Your Move.

JERRY: Would you stop with that already? See, I�m telling you, there are none.

PAM: Wait. How could I have missed this one?

JERRY: Do NOT say Rags to Riches.

PAM: Just the Ten of Us! Coach Lubbock!

JERRY: Oh, no. That one was okay the first season when it was on the network, but when it went syndicated it became really, really bad.

PAM: You know why?

JERRY: Horrible writing and acting?

PAM: Nope. No Ann Jillian.

JERRY: [sigh]

_______________________________________

Happy Friday and remember � have you hugged Ann Jillian today?


Non-Diaryland Link of the Day: The Fugly Blog. As if I didn't love Jessica and Heather enough. Go fug yourself - you won't be disappointed.

Comments? Sign the book!



before & after





2007-09-26 - Follow Me!
2006-09-30 - Site Move & Favorite Entries
2006-09-25 - Evil Easter Bunnies & Rock Climbing!
2006-09-22 - Shameful-Purchase Hiding & A New Dentist Plan
2006-09-19 - Birthday Picture/Video Diary & The Wheelmobile


Powered by blogtools.org


Copyright 2003-2006 by Sockgirlie. Stealing is wrong.


journal

info

contact

credits

linkytown